bequiet Dark Rock 3 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

bequiet Dark Rock 3 Review


Having recently looked at both the top of the range Dark Rock Pro 3 with its TDP of 250W, and the demure, svelte 160W TDP rated Shadow Rock Slim we thought we'd cast our critical eye to a bequiet cooler from the middle of the pack.  Rated at 190W TDP, on paper at least, the Dark Rock 3 falls closer to the Shadow Rock Slim than it does to the near Noctua beating Pro 3.  But as we know, numbers, although important don't always tell the whole story.  That said, it does appear to have the teeth to bring it higher up the charts than its TDP would suggest.  Best we take a look at the spec sheet to see if this cooler will be a Dark horse or a plummeting rock.


Technical Specification


 97 x 137 x 160mm (LxWxH)


 Total weight (kg)



 Intel  LGA 775 / 1150 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / 2011 LGA1150 ready
 AMD 754 / 939 / 940 / AM2(+) / AM3 (+) / FM1 / FM2 (+)

 Number of fins




 Fin material




 Base material







 Fan 1x135mm Silent Wings
 Speed @ 100%  


 Air flow @ 12V

 67.8 cfm

 Air pressure @ 12V  

 2.1 mm H2O  

 Overall noise level @ 50/75/100%  

 8.4 / 13.6 / 21.1

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-06-2014, 05:45:26


Completing the recent trio of bequiet Coolers we now take a look at the piggy in the middle, the Dark Rock3

Continue Reading

25-06-2014, 16:33:56

Is it just me or are those fins on the baseplate mounted the wrong way? If they turned them 90 degrees, the fan would have more influence on those.

Anyway, it is a nice looking cooler!

26-06-2014, 01:35:47

Love the look of the Be quiet Dark Rock 3 but wish they would sort out the poor mounting system :P

26-06-2014, 02:35:13

temps don't look right on the 4.4 test.
pro3 has 67.7c with delta of 47.1c and rock3 67.3c with delta 47.3c but both have an ambient of 20c??????.
Am i missing something as that math dos not seem correct or is the rock3 actually outperforming its big bro?

26-06-2014, 12:07:26

Sorry for moaning but would it be possible to upload those charts in .PNG?

Surprisingly good results!

26-06-2014, 12:36:17

Very nice offering from Be Quiet! Quality review Gary.
Pros: Colour, nicely lapped base, fins have nice spacing, multi socket brackets, 6x heat pipes.
Cons: Only 1x set of fan mounts leaving out push pull option.

27-06-2014, 15:08:36

If the majority of us have aesthetic concerns we are going to mount it firing thru the roof to have the logo right way up; unless it's obstructed?

Wraithguard, they include a second clip for a second fan. Given that you only lower the temps a couple of degrees, I would probably use a fan from the spares box, not buy one specifically, though.

Nice review. That's another part checked off for the Nephew.

17-07-2014, 14:16:42

Its a lovely looking cooler, actually thinking about buying one but if (or when) I get one I'd mill down the contact block to expose the copper heatpipes. Despite it being lapped smooth I reckon you'd probably get a degree or two better temps with exposed heat pipes.
Also you get only 1x extra fan mounting brackets because the cooler comes with a fan already mounted to it, so push pull is an option

22-08-2014, 15:27:40

i have this cooler but havent used it yet but looks great and it's quiet from the review.

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.