Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

Installation

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

Installation

Regular readers will recall a couple of weeks ago I tested and installed a VGA cooler and needed two pages to explain it. The fact we have one here might give a clue to the simplicity of the task.

With the board cleaned up from the reference heatsink, a strip of thermal paste is applied to the VRMs.

The VRM heatsink itself needs to have three spacers placed over the screw holes, and these are self-adhesive which is another nice touch.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review  

With the heatsink placed over the voltage regulation modules, three screws are then tightened and the VRM heatsink is in place.

It is worth noting that these three screws are 2.5mm rather than the 3mm screws that attach the main cooler, so you wont get them confused even if you tip all the screws out into one pile. Little things like that make a big difference.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review  

The GDDR heatsinks are two single strips rather than a multitude of individual ones. These have a similar sticky thermal pad to that we saw on the VRMs above. Unlike the MK-13 we tested these are actually sticky enough to remain in place.

Once they are installed the main part of the Accelero Xtreme is placed onto the chip, the whole thing turned over and four 3mm screws used to keep it in place.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review  

That's it. It couldn't be simpler. In fact removing the old cooler took longer than installing the new one including taking photographs as I went along.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

As you can see, with it all installed it's a tri-slot solution.

The whole Accelero Xtreme is designed so well that the VRM heatsink and RAM heatsinks form a holistic part of the product, joining nicely with the main body of the cooler.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review#

With it all in place, it's time to see how well it cools and give it a score.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-09-2010, 08:51:20

tinytomlogan
Arctic Cooling have long been a popular choice for modifying your graphics card cooling. Today we're looking at their 5870 model.

Continue Reading

20-09-2010, 09:21:48

F-alienware
*Applause*

Finally.. Finally they have sorted out their stick down solution.

It's expensive but by crikey it's worth it. Excellent results as before, but before you had the constant 'crap your pants' feeling that the sinks were going to fall off.

Orsum !

(Ta for the review as ever )

20-09-2010, 09:24:12

AMDFTW
epic cooler that is

20-09-2010, 13:31:26

silenthill
what if I put this cooler on one of my 480? of coerce it wouldn't fit, but I can be creative

20-09-2010, 13:31:36

mayhem
Well done artic. Im glad to see there getting top of there game.

Excellent review.

that will go onto my wish list

20-09-2010, 13:42:29

SiN
I love Arctic Cooling's VGA line-up, it is one of the best, aftermarket cooling options on the market!

And, as always, the review is great!

And, silenthill, I believe you are looking for this.

20-09-2010, 15:12:22

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

what if I put this cooler on one of my 480? of coerce it wouldn't fit, but I can be creative
there is one for the 480 already same kinda set up

20-09-2010, 16:12:21

silenthill
Thanks guys, looking in to it but the thing is Iíll have to buy two

20-09-2010, 16:19:08

Diablo
Great review, looks like AC have finally sorted the RAM heatsinks problem. Not a bad price compared to WCing either.

20-09-2010, 16:29:44

Delusion77
Wow! Amazing results on this beast! I think this + Dh14 proves that watercooling is no longer needed.

20-09-2010, 16:33:16

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delusion77 View Post

Wow! Amazing results on this beast! I think this + Dh14 proves that watercooling is no longer needed.
Ones ambient temps go up its better to have WC IMHO so i kinda disagree

but I do get your drift

20-09-2010, 16:35:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Ones ambient temps go up its better to have WC IMHO so i kinda disagree

but I do get your drift
Im starting to think otherwise. Ive always been a water freak, but tbh air is getting to the point its quieter!

20-09-2010, 19:04:29

Diablo
With water, once you have the initial investment, it will last longer, and probably be as quiet, and definitely get better temps. These air kits can't get the temperatures on the VRMs to be nearly as low as a decent water block. Also with water there is more space in the expansion ports (a water block takes 1.5 slots, this air cooler is three). Kinda limits crossfire or SLI on many boards.

21-09-2010, 11:17:46

Delusion77
well ok, watercooling still has its advantages, but its much more expensive and for the average enthusiast. AIR is just making more sense.

And its true what you say about crossfire, but again if you look at if for the average enthusiast (not extreme), tri and quad xfire/sli are much more expensive and cant be justified when on a budget.

my current build has a watercooled cpu - and i used to have a 4870x2 in the loop aswell. My gpu just stopped working and i didnt have enough cash to afford a replacement gpu and re plumb it back into the loop. Im also looking at AMD's bulldozer as a future cpu upgrade, and might end up selling my current pc, and rebuilding completely cooled by air.

21-09-2010, 15:02:54

lasher
Think I might acquire one of these after payday!

Looks a dammed good solution and as mentioned justifying the water route becomes harder with these alternatives.

Would be nice to have a backplate solution for the exposed part of the card, usually fully visible in a windowed pc, just to keep it tidy.

19-06-2011, 08:56:50

fillthevoid
Does this cooler fit non-reference cards?

19-06-2011, 09:03:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by fillthevoid View Post

Does this cooler fit non-reference cards?
Its designed for reference. you may need to modify or fabricate parts for non ref.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.