Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

What's In the Box?

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

What's in the box?

The packaging is absolutely an exercise in minimalism. A very sturdy plastic tray-style box keeps everything well protected whilst also minimising waste as much as possible.

Once the two side flaps are flipped open (MUCH easier than those awful blister pack style ones) we find everything we would expect to see.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review  

It's difficult to view the Accelero Xtreme without comparing it to the Prolimatech MK-13 I recently reviewed. Here we have two RAM heatsinks instead of about 30, and the two different screw types are kept separate to reduce installation woes.

The heatsink itself is primarily functional, but actually manages to still look good nonetheless. It's a design that's been around a while now and it's good to see Arctic Cooling employing the adage "if it ain't broke, don't fix it".

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review  

The fan design is one of the more modern ones that uses lots of little fins rather than four or five huge ones. This has a large bearing upon the noise output and so hopefully should ensure the cooler is quiet.

83 fins and 5 big heatpipes are provided to give enormous heat absorption capacity.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review  

Speaking of the heatpipes, how gorgeous is this? A total work of art. The build-quality is exceptional and the amount of copper belies how light it actually is. It also comes with the excellent Arctic Cooling MX2 paste pre-applied for even swifter installation.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review     Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-09-2010, 08:51:20

tinytomlogan
Arctic Cooling have long been a popular choice for modifying your graphics card cooling. Today we're looking at their 5870 model.

Continue Reading

20-09-2010, 09:21:48

F-alienware
*Applause*

Finally.. Finally they have sorted out their stick down solution.

It's expensive but by crikey it's worth it. Excellent results as before, but before you had the constant 'crap your pants' feeling that the sinks were going to fall off.

Orsum !

(Ta for the review as ever )

20-09-2010, 09:24:12

AMDFTW
epic cooler that is

20-09-2010, 13:31:26

silenthill
what if I put this cooler on one of my 480? of coerce it wouldn't fit, but I can be creative

20-09-2010, 13:31:36

mayhem
Well done artic. Im glad to see there getting top of there game.

Excellent review.

that will go onto my wish list

20-09-2010, 13:42:29

SiN
I love Arctic Cooling's VGA line-up, it is one of the best, aftermarket cooling options on the market!

And, as always, the review is great!

And, silenthill, I believe you are looking for this.

20-09-2010, 15:12:22

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

what if I put this cooler on one of my 480? of coerce it wouldn't fit, but I can be creative
there is one for the 480 already same kinda set up

20-09-2010, 16:12:21

silenthill
Thanks guys, looking in to it but the thing is Iíll have to buy two

20-09-2010, 16:19:08

Diablo
Great review, looks like AC have finally sorted the RAM heatsinks problem. Not a bad price compared to WCing either.

20-09-2010, 16:29:44

Delusion77
Wow! Amazing results on this beast! I think this + Dh14 proves that watercooling is no longer needed.

20-09-2010, 16:33:16

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delusion77 View Post

Wow! Amazing results on this beast! I think this + Dh14 proves that watercooling is no longer needed.
Ones ambient temps go up its better to have WC IMHO so i kinda disagree

but I do get your drift

20-09-2010, 16:35:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Ones ambient temps go up its better to have WC IMHO so i kinda disagree

but I do get your drift
Im starting to think otherwise. Ive always been a water freak, but tbh air is getting to the point its quieter!

20-09-2010, 19:04:29

Diablo
With water, once you have the initial investment, it will last longer, and probably be as quiet, and definitely get better temps. These air kits can't get the temperatures on the VRMs to be nearly as low as a decent water block. Also with water there is more space in the expansion ports (a water block takes 1.5 slots, this air cooler is three). Kinda limits crossfire or SLI on many boards.

21-09-2010, 11:17:46

Delusion77
well ok, watercooling still has its advantages, but its much more expensive and for the average enthusiast. AIR is just making more sense.

And its true what you say about crossfire, but again if you look at if for the average enthusiast (not extreme), tri and quad xfire/sli are much more expensive and cant be justified when on a budget.

my current build has a watercooled cpu - and i used to have a 4870x2 in the loop aswell. My gpu just stopped working and i didnt have enough cash to afford a replacement gpu and re plumb it back into the loop. Im also looking at AMD's bulldozer as a future cpu upgrade, and might end up selling my current pc, and rebuilding completely cooled by air.

21-09-2010, 15:02:54

lasher
Think I might acquire one of these after payday!

Looks a dammed good solution and as mentioned justifying the water route becomes harder with these alternatives.

Would be nice to have a backplate solution for the exposed part of the card, usually fully visible in a windowed pc, just to keep it tidy.

19-06-2011, 08:56:50

fillthevoid
Does this cooler fit non-reference cards?

19-06-2011, 09:03:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by fillthevoid View Post

Does this cooler fit non-reference cards?
Its designed for reference. you may need to modify or fabricate parts for non ref.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.