Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

Introduction

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870 Review

Introduction

Now the 5 series of graphics cards from ATI have been around for a long while there are plenty on the market that come with specialist coolers and lots of fancy little bits and bobs to differentiate them from the rest of the pack.

XFX, Sapphire and HiS to name but three all offer a card that comes with a bespoke cooler that claim to make their model cooler and quieter than the reference design.

It's all well and good because all want cooler to either allow a greater overclocking headroom or less head dumped into your system, and quieter is something we all aspire to. Often though these non-reference designs are compromised by the need to look good and have enough spare room available for the manufacturer branding.

What if you've already got a graphics card though and just want it to be cooler and quieter without having to fork out for an entirely new card?

Enter Arctic Cooling and their Accelero Xtreme range. A lot of third-party vendors use a re-badged Arctic Cooling solution thanks to their multi-award winning performance. Anyone who owned one of the extremely desirable Asus 4870X2 Tri-Fan models had an Accelero Xtreme.

Today we're going to see if their Accelero Xtreme 5870 model can really make a difference to the temperatures of our card and get remotely close to Arctic Coolings low-noise claims.

Technical Data

Far and away the biggest eye-opener in the specifications for the Accelero are Arctic Coolings claims for both the noise and temperature performance of their cooler. We're used to manufacturers making lofty claims, but can this really be almost silent and extremely cool? Those two things rarely make for comfortable bedfellows as the need for silence always means less cooling performance, and vice versa.

Dimensions290 x 104 x 56 mm (L W H)
Fan3 x 92mm
Fan Speed900 to 2000 RPM (PWM)
Fan Noise0.5 Sone @100% compared to 5.2 Sone for ref @ 100%
Air Flow81 CFM @ 2000 RPM
Max Cooling Capacity250 W
Bearing TypeFluid Dynamic Bearing
Weight632g
Cooling Performance36 °C cooler than reference @ 100% fans
Warranty6 Years

 

Let's get a look at the cooler in detail and go through the installation procedure.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-09-2010, 08:51:20

tinytomlogan
Arctic Cooling have long been a popular choice for modifying your graphics card cooling. Today we're looking at their 5870 model.

Continue Reading

20-09-2010, 09:21:48

F-alienware
*Applause*

Finally.. Finally they have sorted out their stick down solution.

It's expensive but by crikey it's worth it. Excellent results as before, but before you had the constant 'crap your pants' feeling that the sinks were going to fall off.

Orsum !

(Ta for the review as ever )

20-09-2010, 09:24:12

AMDFTW
epic cooler that is

20-09-2010, 13:31:26

silenthill
what if I put this cooler on one of my 480? of coerce it wouldn't fit, but I can be creative

20-09-2010, 13:31:36

mayhem
Well done artic. Im glad to see there getting top of there game.

Excellent review.

that will go onto my wish list

20-09-2010, 13:42:29

SiN
I love Arctic Cooling's VGA line-up, it is one of the best, aftermarket cooling options on the market!

And, as always, the review is great!

And, silenthill, I believe you are looking for this.

20-09-2010, 15:12:22

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

what if I put this cooler on one of my 480? of coerce it wouldn't fit, but I can be creative
there is one for the 480 already same kinda set up

20-09-2010, 16:12:21

silenthill
Thanks guys, looking in to it but the thing is Iíll have to buy two

20-09-2010, 16:19:08

Diablo
Great review, looks like AC have finally sorted the RAM heatsinks problem. Not a bad price compared to WCing either.

20-09-2010, 16:29:44

Delusion77
Wow! Amazing results on this beast! I think this + Dh14 proves that watercooling is no longer needed.

20-09-2010, 16:33:16

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delusion77 View Post

Wow! Amazing results on this beast! I think this + Dh14 proves that watercooling is no longer needed.
Ones ambient temps go up its better to have WC IMHO so i kinda disagree

but I do get your drift

20-09-2010, 16:35:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Ones ambient temps go up its better to have WC IMHO so i kinda disagree

but I do get your drift
Im starting to think otherwise. Ive always been a water freak, but tbh air is getting to the point its quieter!

20-09-2010, 19:04:29

Diablo
With water, once you have the initial investment, it will last longer, and probably be as quiet, and definitely get better temps. These air kits can't get the temperatures on the VRMs to be nearly as low as a decent water block. Also with water there is more space in the expansion ports (a water block takes 1.5 slots, this air cooler is three). Kinda limits crossfire or SLI on many boards.

21-09-2010, 11:17:46

Delusion77
well ok, watercooling still has its advantages, but its much more expensive and for the average enthusiast. AIR is just making more sense.

And its true what you say about crossfire, but again if you look at if for the average enthusiast (not extreme), tri and quad xfire/sli are much more expensive and cant be justified when on a budget.

my current build has a watercooled cpu - and i used to have a 4870x2 in the loop aswell. My gpu just stopped working and i didnt have enough cash to afford a replacement gpu and re plumb it back into the loop. Im also looking at AMD's bulldozer as a future cpu upgrade, and might end up selling my current pc, and rebuilding completely cooled by air.

21-09-2010, 15:02:54

lasher
Think I might acquire one of these after payday!

Looks a dammed good solution and as mentioned justifying the water route becomes harder with these alternatives.

Would be nice to have a backplate solution for the exposed part of the card, usually fully visible in a windowed pc, just to keep it tidy.

19-06-2011, 08:56:50

fillthevoid
Does this cooler fit non-reference cards?

19-06-2011, 09:03:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by fillthevoid View Post

Does this cooler fit non-reference cards?
Its designed for reference. you may need to modify or fabricate parts for non ref.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.