AquaXtreme MP-05 Pro Water Block

Conclusion

Conclusion

Currently retailing for £32 over at Extreme Prometeia, the AquaXtreme MP-05 block just goes to show that great performance need not come with a high price tag. Managing to beat the Swiftech Apogee block by 3°C under load, the MP-05 could very well be capable of beating one of the most highly regarded blocks on the market - the Swiftech Storm.

Unfortunately the MP-05 does have its fair share of negative points - the largest being our finding of copper and plastic shavings inside the block. This could possibly be shrugged off as a block that slipped through the quality control net, but AquaXtreme should really take more care to ensure that all blocks leaving their factory are free from any foreign objects that could cause damage to a water cooling system. I would strongly suggest inspecting your MP-05 after purchase.

With better packaging and stricter quality checks the MP-05 would have easily nabbed out "Editors Choice" award. I really hope AquaXtreme can resolve these minor issues and make the MP-05 the best block on the market where price vs performance is concerned.


Pro's
+ Excellent performance.
+ Great looks.
+ Low cost compared to other high-end blocks.
+ Universal mounting bracket.

Con's
- Poor packaging could easily damage block.
- Shavings of plastic and copper found inside block.
- Dirty finish on inside of block base.


Recommended

Thanks to Extreme Prometeia for providing this block for review.

Discuss this review in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-09-2006, 06:01:58

JN
"Looking for the ultimate water block but on a budget? Today we take a look at the AquaXtreme MP-05 to see if it fits the bill!"

Linky

19-09-2006, 06:08:29

FragTek
Nice block but I can't believe that they didn't clean it out before shipping it to you, that's a good way to screw up an expensive pump getting nasty debris in it.

19-09-2006, 06:35:17

FarFarAway
Looks a very nice block, shame about the shortcoming of the packaging and care taken during manufacturer

19-09-2006, 07:32:32

Ham
Sorry if its in there & i missed it but what do these retail at?

19-09-2006, 07:42:15

ai_01
awesome review as usual, that would suck h/e if u didnt open the block

19-09-2006, 08:06:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Sorry if its in there & i missed it but what do these retail at?
Thx for pointing that out - added to conclusion

19-09-2006, 08:47:16

specialtech
great review, yet again!!! well done

Shame about the negative points, we can actually get hold of these but sadly the bad points are putting me off

19-09-2006, 17:08:47

NickS
I love mine. Mine came slightly dirty as well but a few hrs in vinegar solved that . Great review XMS.

19-09-2006, 17:12:21

JN
Yeah, I used Arcticlean to sort mine out - but vinegar would probably have been better.

In a way it's good to know that i'm not the only person to have a dirty MP-05 block - so now it can't be shrugged off as an isolated incident.

19-09-2006, 18:11:20

FarFarAway
While the block is a good performer: they will have to improve their quality testing. I am totally unimpressed with manufacturers who let QT slip and there is simply no excuse. I don't think I would recommend people to buy this over a Swiftech Storm - as I know Swiftech's QT is at a very high standard.

19-09-2006, 18:29:18

SuB
nice review, didn't know the core2's put out that much heat! lol

Shame about the manufacturing fall downs though.

19-09-2006, 19:03:07

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
nice review, didn't know the core2's put out that much heat! lol

Shame about the manufacturing fall downs though.
They do @ 3.8GHz @ 1.65v

20-09-2006, 02:21:15

JN
Yeah they can be hot buggers when you start pumping the voltage thru. I think the IHS on mine is slightly concave anyway - time to lap

26-01-2007, 02:25:15

FrOzE
Hi...

Wanna ask wat addictive was used in the setup..?

The red addictive.

26-01-2007, 04:10:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FrOzE'
Hi...

Wanna ask wat addictive was used in the setup..?

The red addictive.
Hiya,

That is actually UV Red tubing available from dangerden.com (and lots of stores that stock Danger Den products).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.