AquaXtreme MP-05 Pro Water Block

A Closer Look

A Closer Look

It seems that recently water block manufacturers have been spending just as much time on improving the looks of their blocks as they have improving the performance. Let's take a look at the MP-05 to see what it has in store for us...

AquaXtreme MP-05 Block AquaXtreme MP-05 Block

The MP-05 block utilises a Nickel plated universal mounting plate very much reminiscent of the Storm or Apogee water blocks by Swiftech. This type of mounting hardware not only looks great but also ensures excellent compatibility with many types of motherboard. The only downside is that you will need to remove your motherboard in order to mount the block.

The surface of the mounting plate did have some minor imperfections around a few of the mounting holes, but nothing that would be noticeable from a distance.

AquaXtreme MP-05 Base AquaXtreme MP-05 Base

Despite the lack of protection during transit, the base of the block was in perfect condition. Using a sheet of glass and water I was able to determine that surface of the base was very flat with no imperfections.

From the pictures above you can see that the base has been lapped to a semi-reflective finish. There is an ongoing debate whether lapping to a mirror finish actually produces any noticeable increase in performance, but in my opinion the finish above should be more than good enough to get optimal results.

AquaXtreme MP-05 Base AquaXtreme MP-05 Accellerator Plate

On disassembling the block, I was rather disappointed to see shavings of copper lurking between the pin array on the base. Also, the insertion of the barbs seemed to cause small strips of delrin to fall inside the block. This is quite worrying as particles of plastic and copper could cause damage to some water pumps.

As you can see above, the internal base of the block was rather dirty and managed to turn one of my cleaning cloths a dark shade of brown. I strongly suggest disassembling the MP-05 and giving it a thorough clean before placing it in your water loop.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-09-2006, 06:01:58

JN
"Looking for the ultimate water block but on a budget? Today we take a look at the AquaXtreme MP-05 to see if it fits the bill!"

Linky

19-09-2006, 06:08:29

FragTek
Nice block but I can't believe that they didn't clean it out before shipping it to you, that's a good way to screw up an expensive pump getting nasty debris in it.

19-09-2006, 06:35:17

FarFarAway
Looks a very nice block, shame about the shortcoming of the packaging and care taken during manufacturer

19-09-2006, 07:32:32

Ham
Sorry if its in there & i missed it but what do these retail at?

19-09-2006, 07:42:15

ai_01
awesome review as usual, that would suck h/e if u didnt open the block

19-09-2006, 08:06:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Sorry if its in there & i missed it but what do these retail at?
Thx for pointing that out - added to conclusion

19-09-2006, 08:47:16

specialtech
great review, yet again!!! well done

Shame about the negative points, we can actually get hold of these but sadly the bad points are putting me off

19-09-2006, 17:08:47

NickS
I love mine. Mine came slightly dirty as well but a few hrs in vinegar solved that . Great review XMS.

19-09-2006, 17:12:21

JN
Yeah, I used Arcticlean to sort mine out - but vinegar would probably have been better.

In a way it's good to know that i'm not the only person to have a dirty MP-05 block - so now it can't be shrugged off as an isolated incident.

19-09-2006, 18:11:20

FarFarAway
While the block is a good performer: they will have to improve their quality testing. I am totally unimpressed with manufacturers who let QT slip and there is simply no excuse. I don't think I would recommend people to buy this over a Swiftech Storm - as I know Swiftech's QT is at a very high standard.

19-09-2006, 18:29:18

SuB
nice review, didn't know the core2's put out that much heat! lol

Shame about the manufacturing fall downs though.

19-09-2006, 19:03:07

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
nice review, didn't know the core2's put out that much heat! lol

Shame about the manufacturing fall downs though.
They do @ 3.8GHz @ 1.65v

20-09-2006, 02:21:15

JN
Yeah they can be hot buggers when you start pumping the voltage thru. I think the IHS on mine is slightly concave anyway - time to lap

26-01-2007, 02:25:15

FrOzE
Hi...

Wanna ask wat addictive was used in the setup..?

The red addictive.

26-01-2007, 04:10:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FrOzE'
Hi...

Wanna ask wat addictive was used in the setup..?

The red addictive.
Hiya,

That is actually UV Red tubing available from dangerden.com (and lots of stores that stock Danger Den products).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.