Alphacool NexXxos X2 Bold Highflow water block

Conclusion

Conclusion

The Alphacool NexXxos X2 Bold HIGHFLOW waterblock is a beautifully crafted piece of hardware and has certainly earned a place of pride in any high-end water-cooled rig. The quality finish and German engineered design features certainly help this waterblock to stand out  amongst the plethora of CPU waterblocks currently available on the market.

If you are looking for the best performing waterblock currently available, then the Alphacool NexXxos X2 Bold isn't quite the waterblock for you. But if you want a great looking all-round workhorse that is going to handle the heat-load of an overclocked processor more than admirably, then you could do well to look at the Alphacool NexXxos X2 Bold waterblock.

The move by Alphacool to not include a universal adaptor may pose a problem for those who regularly upgrade their system depending on the better performing platform at that time. This is further reinforced by the fact that AMD's Phenom processors are just around the corner and if you decided to purchase this waterblock now based on an Intel socket 775 based system, then you would need to re-purchase it again further down the track. Alphacool would be wise to look at investing in a universal attachment for their new range of CPU waterblocks.

Personally, I think the price is a little on the dear side of town, as it comes in slightly above the D-TEK FuZion. Dedicated Alphacool fans may overlook this.

SpecialTech

The Alphacool NexXxos X2 Bold HIGHFLOW waterblock is available from SpecialTech for £ 40.99 , inc VAT 17.5%. By purchasing from one of our recommended retailers you can be sure that you will have a great experience and exceptional after-sales service.

The Good

Great Looks
Quality Build
Very respectable cooling performance for Quad-core
Relatively small footprint

The Mediocre

• Barbs not included
• Price
• No universal mounting

The Bad

• Nothing to report

Recommended award

Overclock3D.net would like to thank SpecialTech for providing the product for review, and Chris from Alphacool for his assistance.

# Addendum: (5/11/2007)
In the light of the price difference between the D-TEK FuZion and the Alphacool NexXxos X2 Bold HIGHFLOW waterblock, Alphacool have adjusted their UK pricing to a very competitive £35.99 inc VAT 17.5%.

Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-11-2007, 08:18:40

PV5150
Alphacool is back, and to help celebrate we've reviewed their new NexXxos X2 Bold HIGHFLOW waterblock.

Take a peak

02-11-2007, 09:42:19

WC Annihilus
Just to mention, last two pages still have default titles

02-11-2007, 12:22:31

AydST
Great review

In response to this Alphacool have adjusted their UK pricing and while PV's review was correct at the time of print, the new revised price is 35.99 inc VAT.

02-11-2007, 16:20:58

sbrehm72255
I've always liked Alphacool products, but they are all so damned expensive over here in the US.

02-11-2007, 18:13:21

AydST
there is a reason and it is my eternal argument with Alphacool (sorry Chris)

While 'other' manufacturers have their products made in the far east, Alphacool, who are a German company, have their products made in Germany. As we all know, especially with me being a quallified engineer, if you want a quality produced product...look to Germany. Sadly this does get reflected in the price as there are no sweat shops in Germany but all in all with Alphacool you wil be getting a quality crafted product.

After all Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Lamorghini etc.. can't be wrong....

02-11-2007, 18:52:49

sbrehm72255
LOL......true to a point, I lived and worked in Germany for Mercedes for a long period of time before moving back to the US...........

The US government is the other reason all European products cost so much (import duties, shipping and the like).

02-11-2007, 22:58:45

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Just to mention, last two pages still have default titles
Fixed, thanks WC

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AydST'
Great review

In response to this Alphacool have adjusted their UK pricing and while PV's review was correct at the time of print, the new revised price is 35.99 inc VAT.
Thanks Ayd, I'll make an addendum to the review to reflect the price drop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AydST'
there is a reason and it is my eternal argument with Alphacool (sorry Chris)

While 'other' manufacturers have their products made in the far east, Alphacool, who are a German company, have their products made in Germany. As we all know, especially with me being a quallified engineer, if you want a quality produced product...look to Germany. Sadly this does get reflected in the price as there are no sweat shops in Germany but all in all with Alphacool you wil be getting a quality crafted product.

After all Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Lamorghini etc.. can't be wrong....
Agreed, if you want a quality manufactured item then there is going to be some price difference. I included it as a sticking point merely because the better performing D-TEK FuZion was cheaper, and if Alphacool are looking to regain lost ground then this is an area that they will need to address (which they have to their credit). However, I think that 'dyed in the wool' Alphacool fans may overlook the price difference regardless...

Thanks all for the feedback, tis muchly appreciated
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.