Akasa Revo Thermaldynamic CPU Cooler

Installation

Installation

Installation was a test that the Akasa Revo passed with a gold star. The installation method tells you to attach the adaptor for the socket type you are using the cooler for. You then unclip the thick industrial-looking clips from the adaptor and slide the cooler into place.

Once this is done you simply ensure the clips are in place on the guide rails on the coolers base and clip them under the adaptors retention mechanism.

Sounds easy? It quite literally is. It was so quick I even forgot to take a picture during the process!

akasa revo in place

Clearance wasn't a problem here, as you can see.

akasa revo base installed

The base fits and feels very snug in place.

akasa revo branding

Some nice branding on the top of the shroud.

akasda revo installed

There were no clearance issues at all on the motherboard itself which is always a total bonus.

akasa revo installed

And I'm spent, time for a cup of tea. Zero to installed in well under five minutes.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2007, 14:50:02

FarFarAway
We take a look at Akasa's new cooler: the "Revo". With some new technology on show and promise of good performance, let's see how it does.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...225229734s.jpg

Check the review here

12-10-2007, 15:41:32

Brooksie
Looks sexy 30 bit OTT though, since you can get a Freezer pro for about 15 and that does just fine.

12-10-2007, 15:52:52

Mr. Smith
For 40 I would NOT buy that cooler, 120 ultra ftw!

12-10-2007, 15:53:41

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Looks sexy 30 bit OTT though, since you can get a Freezer pro for about 15 and that does just fine.
Indeed, though the price is as below, $40

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For 40 I would NOT buy that cooler, 120 ultra ftw!
Just what I thought, but it is new technology and R&D costs 's

12-10-2007, 16:01:33

Rastalovich
Ah well.

It has to be said, I started reading the review (excellent again btw) with a pretty optimistic slant - especially with the idea of the tech involved.

To be fair, it looks an equiv cooler of a stock Intel (give or take minimal temps), but quieter. That in mind, the price is OTT imo.

Agree with the conclusion tbh. (however personally disappointed a bit)

16-10-2007, 16:48:06

FarFarAway
Please note that I have now added a note from Adrian Young, Akasa's marketing director

18-11-2007, 13:44:02

maverik-sg1
What would be OC3D A-List of air coolers and other such products?

Do you have an A-List? If Not would be a worthy addition me thinks.

18-11-2007, 13:45:57

FarFarAway
Hmm might be an idea actually mate. I might see what I can do about gettign some "top10's" from what we've done

18-11-2007, 14:05:09

mrapoc
omg why hadnt i thought of that lol

would be helpful to have a table - with a sort function (sort value for money, performance and looks (or whatever the scoring goes by) also sort by overall score)

ace idea!

19-11-2007, 00:32:07

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='maverik-sg1'
What would be OC3D A-List of air coolers and other such products?

Do you have an A-List? If Not would be a worthy addition me thinks.
That is a very good idea and one that I have been meaning to get actioned for a while now. However, once I get through this backlog of reviews I'll get started on it.

07-04-2008, 11:52:47

dil999
Hi. New to the forums. Just purchased one of these and was getting similar performance to the stock cooler. I did a google (next time I'll do it before I buy) and found you guys.

I tried adding a 4000rpm fan to improve things, but I just dropped the temp by a further 1 degree. Very disappointing product for the price.

I am now in the market for a new cooler, this time I'll do some research.

07-04-2008, 14:03:33

FarFarAway
Agreed it's costly for the price, although I did get better performance than the stock cooler

Awesome mounting system though in fairness

07-04-2008, 16:21:33

dil999
And exceptionally light. Should be easy enough to remove
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.