Akasa Revo Thermaldynamic CPU Cooler

A closer look

Close and up personal

Well the Akasa Revo strikes me as a pretty damn neat looking cooler. Very industrially designed with a cool silver finish, the Revo is definately a cool addition to a case with a window.

akasa revo

akasa revo fan side

The other thing that strikes you is that the cooler feels very well built. Constructed in aluminium with a blue and clear fan, everything feels very solid and built to last. The fan shroud isn't tacky and again feels well put together and all the joints are well done.

akasa revo side

Taking a look closer in we see the pipes and the base of the unit.

akasa revo

akasa revo base

Here we can also see the mechanism that afixes the cooler to the socket adapter. The grooves in the black plastic part are where the "arms" for the socket adapters slot in.

akasa revo detail rad

akasa revo cooler rad

The Radiator on the cooler is well made and looks exactly like the radiators in watercooling systems (and cars for that matter). An interesting choice rather than the fins normally seen on air coolers.

akasa revo base

akasa revo base

The case again shows how well made the cooler is.

akasa revo base flat

akasa revo base with screw

Similarly to the Asus Triton, the Revo's base still has marks from machining on it, but again is pretty flat with only a very small imperfection at the very edge on one side (when tested for flatness with a drop of water and some glass). This would not affect the cooling performance in any way in my opinion, as it is not in a place that would make contact with the CPU.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2007, 14:50:02

FarFarAway
We take a look at Akasa's new cooler: the "Revo". With some new technology on show and promise of good performance, let's see how it does.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...225229734s.jpg

Check the review here

12-10-2007, 15:41:32

Brooksie
Looks sexy 30 bit OTT though, since you can get a Freezer pro for about 15 and that does just fine.

12-10-2007, 15:52:52

Mr. Smith
For 40 I would NOT buy that cooler, 120 ultra ftw!

12-10-2007, 15:53:41

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Looks sexy 30 bit OTT though, since you can get a Freezer pro for about 15 and that does just fine.
Indeed, though the price is as below, $40

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For 40 I would NOT buy that cooler, 120 ultra ftw!
Just what I thought, but it is new technology and R&D costs 's

12-10-2007, 16:01:33

Rastalovich
Ah well.

It has to be said, I started reading the review (excellent again btw) with a pretty optimistic slant - especially with the idea of the tech involved.

To be fair, it looks an equiv cooler of a stock Intel (give or take minimal temps), but quieter. That in mind, the price is OTT imo.

Agree with the conclusion tbh. (however personally disappointed a bit)

16-10-2007, 16:48:06

FarFarAway
Please note that I have now added a note from Adrian Young, Akasa's marketing director

18-11-2007, 13:44:02

maverik-sg1
What would be OC3D A-List of air coolers and other such products?

Do you have an A-List? If Not would be a worthy addition me thinks.

18-11-2007, 13:45:57

FarFarAway
Hmm might be an idea actually mate. I might see what I can do about gettign some "top10's" from what we've done

18-11-2007, 14:05:09

mrapoc
omg why hadnt i thought of that lol

would be helpful to have a table - with a sort function (sort value for money, performance and looks (or whatever the scoring goes by) also sort by overall score)

ace idea!

19-11-2007, 00:32:07

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='maverik-sg1'
What would be OC3D A-List of air coolers and other such products?

Do you have an A-List? If Not would be a worthy addition me thinks.
That is a very good idea and one that I have been meaning to get actioned for a while now. However, once I get through this backlog of reviews I'll get started on it.

07-04-2008, 11:52:47

dil999
Hi. New to the forums. Just purchased one of these and was getting similar performance to the stock cooler. I did a google (next time I'll do it before I buy) and found you guys.

I tried adding a 4000rpm fan to improve things, but I just dropped the temp by a further 1 degree. Very disappointing product for the price.

I am now in the market for a new cooler, this time I'll do some research.

07-04-2008, 14:03:33

FarFarAway
Agreed it's costly for the price, although I did get better performance than the stock cooler

Awesome mounting system though in fairness

07-04-2008, 16:21:33

dil999
And exceptionally light. Should be easy enough to remove
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.