AeroCool X-Predator Evil

Up Close, Front I/O, fan controller and side panels

    AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange


Up Close:  Front I/O, fan controller and side panels

Moving now to the front of the case and the front I/O and fan control unit.  The front panel is angled at about 30 degrees from the horizontal allowing for ease of use from in front or above.  The fascia gives the impression of Brushed anodised Aluminium or steel, but is in fact an adhesive plastic veneer.  Centrally located at the top of the panel is the power button, with fan control knobs located symmetrically on the lateral aspects half way down the panel.  Each controller is able to control 3 fans giving a total of 6 and although this could be increased with the use of splitters and adapters it'd be worth keeping an eye on the 10W rating of each of the controllers. In the middle of the panel we find the main I/O section, a generous 3 USB2 ports, accompanied by a single USB3 port are joined by an E-SATA and the usual mic and phono jack sockets able to support AC97 + HD audio.  The XPREDATOR Logo graces the bottom of the controller fascia, with the whole unit being lit up in an Orange glow by two strips down each side of the fascia when the PC is powered up.

 AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange     AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange  

Both side panels are removable by means of thumb screws, the right hand panel giving access to the area behind the motherboard tray where there is ample room for cable management.  Although more would have been appreciated, AeroCool have thoughtfully preformed 3 cable tie anchor points into the steel to help keep those unruly cables under control.  The right hand side panel (rear of motherboard side) is plain with no fan mounts or ventilation holes, whereas the left side panel is rather more feature packed.  70-80% of the side panel is taken up with a Grey tinted window.  The window is roughly square but with a rebate cut into it to mimic the lines of the front Orange mesh section.  Rather than being rebated behind the panel the window is actually surface mounted on the outside surface of the panel by means of plastic rivets.  The window has four areas of slitted ventilation slots and although no fans are included mounting holes are present allowing for the mounting of ether 4 x 120mm, 4 x 140mm fans.  Don't like lots of small fans?  No problem, you can also fit 1 x 180mm or even 1 x 200mm fans on the window panel.

 AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange      AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange 

  AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange     AeroCool X-Predator Evil Black/Orange   

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-10-2011, 09:33:40

tinytomlogan


Here we take a look at the X-Predator "Evil Black" edition. A Huge Beast of a case from AeroCool.

Continue Reading

31-10-2011, 10:00:24

SieB
I don't like the look of the toolless fittings on the optical bays and the side panel doesn't look good either with those fan grills on it. Besides that though it looks like a decent case.

31-10-2011, 10:11:36

badtaylorx
this thing would look pisser with some of those cougar fans in it!!!

31-10-2011, 10:46:51

daniSAUR
The only thing I like with the case is that funky air-vent at the top.

Not to my taste really.

31-10-2011, 11:27:04

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniSAUR View Post

The only thing I like with the case is that funky air-vent at the top.

Not to my taste really.
I agree with you. I've seen that air-vent thing before on a scratch build by someone on another forum.

31-10-2011, 11:59:03

| raVen |
I hate this orange!BTW case looks too aggressive for me, side panel window should be plain without fan mounts.

31-10-2011, 13:12:45

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael89 View Post

I hate this orange!BTW case looks too aggressive for me, side panel window should be plain without fan mounts.
I think the white version with the black accents would look the dog's danglie's as Tom would say .

31-10-2011, 13:16:32

| raVen |
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

I think the white version with the black accents would look the dog's danglie's as Tom would say .
Or Black with green accents

31-10-2011, 13:45:09

Ghosthud1
i would buy it solely on the looks.

31-10-2011, 14:12:40

Ravious
Its a good looking case but it isn't something I would have my components in.

31-10-2011, 14:18:31

murphy7801
I think the words ugly and uninspired come to mind.

31-10-2011, 17:06:15

Alicarve
i quite like the look of this case, good review btw

gary a new reviewer?

31-10-2011, 21:56:57

Zeals
Not exactly my cup of tea and despite being it's size, I don't think it will support any of those thick XSPC RX radiators on the top, but correct me if I am wrong.

Also what's with the sudden re-emergence of the word plethora?

01-11-2011, 06:48:51

VengeanceUK
see, i actually quite like the look of it,

and with all the orange accents would have been a good base for tinytoms's begal project lol

01-11-2011, 15:45:02

Master&Puppet
Wow, bit like marmite this case!

I think it looks absolutely awesome, it's right up my street looks wise.

11-11-2011, 03:35:02

lolplox
can it fit a black ice gtx280? with maybe push/pull config? or is that too thick?

12-11-2011, 08:26:57

Skeksix
I have recently seen this case in the flesh during my quest to find a case ready for my lazy style of water cooling and I must say as cases go it is pretty nice. Orange is not really my thing but it was really pleasant to see a company mixing thinks up a bit rather than painting everything a single colour.

14-11-2011, 11:15:43

DiggyDiggyHole
Is it me, or does this look like a bigger version of the Alienware Area 51? Now, if only those fan vents where set to a motor and a thermal sensor, now that would be amazing. Also a motorized door on the front, then they could just put Alienware's case to absolute shame.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.