Aerocool Strike-X Air Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 Aerocool Strike-X Air Review  

 

Introduction

We've looked at quite a few Aerocool items here at OC3D and can say that we have noticed something of a theme developing with regards to their styling.  Lets just say that they're not exactly subtle.  Now that's not a criticism, it's merely a statement of fact, and I would hazard a guess, a direct result of a marketing strategy.  Let me explain.  With the most avid users and therefor buyers of all things PC and gaming being men between 18-25 it stands to reason that along with those that prefer sleek black understated cases, a good proportion of this demographic will like the aggressive bold styling that is the hall mark of Aerocool products, and in particular the "Strike" range.  Oh yes, this case comes as part of range, and I don't mean just the other cases in the Strike range, you can also get PSUs, Mice, fan controllers and before long even speakers.

So lets look a bit more closely at the Strike-X Air.  Having established it's an open frame design it's probably best you understand just how big this case is.  It's not tall as most cases are being only 340mm in height, but what it lacks in height it makes up for in other areas.  With a width accross the front of 612mm and a depth of 535mm you'd best be sure you've got room on your desk for it.  For the rest of the vital statistics lets turn our attention to the technical specification.

 

Technical Specification

Material: SECC 0.7mm Steel

Motherboard: Micro ATX, ATX, XL-ATX

Dimensions: 340mm (H), 613mm (W), 535mm (D)

Drive Bays: 3x5.25" (Exposed), 3x3.5"HDD or 2.5"SSD

Expansion bays: 10

Max GPU Length 330mm

Max CPU Cooler height 230mm

Ftont I/O:  1xUSB3, 3xUSB2, 2HD Audio

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-07-2012, 05:19:03

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...073850337l.jpg

With it's bold and aggressive styling, the open frame design of Aerocool's Strike-X Air is aimed not just at gamers, but at those who like maximum access to their hardware.


Continue Reading

23-07-2012, 14:50:25

Danzle
Hey, can i get a Corsair H100 or a Phanteks PH TC14PE whit a closed cover? Or can a H100 be installed?

24-07-2012, 00:24:25

airdeano
thanks GDUB... when TTL introduced it at the show, it was a different something, just couldnt
wrap my head around it. but now, that you've shed a light on it, (or as well as you could be
cause of how large it was) it is different in a different way.

it doesn't look portible for a LAN case. it supports water cooling (grommets in the bulkhead) but
where to mount a radiator(s)? again, great review. told me what i need to know and how my
open benches are important without worrying about the top blowing off! LOL...

airdeano

24-07-2012, 07:56:07

G-Dubs
@ Danzle. If you read the review you'll see I do mention that there is 230mm of space with the lid in the horizontal position so yes the 171mm tall phantek wil fit. With the lid fully closed however I doubt it. H100 wise, there are mounting holes on the bar that runs above the PCI rear I?O area for attaching a rad, however if you went for a 120.2 like the H100 you're going to have to think hard about where your PCI cables exit etc so's you don't go and obstruct them with the rad.

@ Airdeano. Please see above re rad mounting holes and page 2 para5 of the review.

20-11-2012, 00:03:17

theteebox
Almost PERFECT! Except for this one : it might slower you SATA III 6Gbit/s transfer rate. also don't know either it using SATA Revision 3.1 or not.. wasting on my SSD

20-11-2012, 06:20:41

SnW
I decited to go for this one (in regards to my Folding/Bench table thread),
seems to have all the things i need and pretty cheap as well,

Thanks for the review Gary Wain (bit late)

Greetings, Ray......

20-11-2012, 06:44:31

theteebox
Quote:
Originally Posted by theteebox View Post
Almost PERFECT! Except for this one : it might slower you SATA III 6Gbit/s transfer rate. also don't know either it using SATA Revision 3.1 or not.. wasting on my SSD
or.. just swap the data files

16-09-2013, 16:22:39

theteebox
what do you mean by that?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.