A.C Ryan Blackfire 4 UV Led 120mm Fan

Conclusion

Conclusion

I like these fans a lot. They combine not only great performance and low noise but superb looks too. It is slightly worrying that our of 4 fans i tested, 2 appeared to have problems (colour mismatch & ticking noise). I really hope that these are isolated cases, and AC Ryan have taken neccesary steps to ensure that the LED colours are the same on all fans.

If i had not encountered the above issues with these fans, they would have recieved the OC3D Gold Award. Maybe AC Ryan can shed some light (no pun intended) on the issue, and possibly provide us with a new batch of fans for testing.

UPDATE: Further to this review, 3 of the 4 fans tested have failed in under 2 weeks. 2 fans develeloped noisy bearings, and the other fan actually caused the test machine to power off whenever the fan was plugged in. The 4th fan also appears to be developing a fault (possibly seizing up).

Therefore, i have no choice but to reduce their score to 0, and recommend that you steer clear of these fans until the reliability and visual consistency issues are worked out.


Pro's

- Best looking fans i've ever seen.
- High cfm with low noise
- Ability to run fan & LED's from seperate power source.
- Sleeved cables


Con's

- Ticking noise from one of the fans
- LED colour mismatch
- 3 out of 4 fans failed within 2 weeks
- 4th fan appears to be developing a fault

OC3D Reviewed

Discuss this review at our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-03-2006, 08:24:10

JN
This topic is for the discussion of the above review.

You can read the review here.

15-03-2006, 08:27:58

llwyd
on page 4 it says 'looks cont' instead of 'looks count' nice review tho

15-03-2006, 08:31:29

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
on page 4 it says 'looks cont' instead of 'looks count' nice review tho
Umm, he's kind of sayin "Looks Continued" man... Cont. is short for continued

15-03-2006, 08:31:43

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
on page 4 it says 'looks cont' instead of 'looks count' nice review tho
Thats what it's supposed to be

Looks Cont. = Looks Continued

15-03-2006, 08:32:49

llwyd
hahahahahahahahahaha, go me! i should have read the lot properly, could someone delete that post it makes me look stupid

15-03-2006, 08:34:42

WC Annihilus
Jus edit it out yourself... though there isn't any real point in general of getting rid of it. It was a perfectly valid point that just happened to be wrong

15-03-2006, 09:00:02

PV5150
loved the review mate, extremely non-biased AC Ryan make some sweet aftermarket gear, and these fans are an example of this. The fact that they have pre-sleeved the cables is testament to their targetting those of us who love the case 'bling'. Good one

15-03-2006, 09:13:42

WC Annihilus
Reminds me, no one else has gotten mad yet that Jim never mentioned he got his new case yesterday! rofl. He's making a case mod case at some point though but still! rofl

15-03-2006, 09:25:17

Ham
Good job jim. I never thought anyone could write that much about a fan....

15-03-2006, 09:35:36

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Good job jim. I never thought anyone could write that much about a fan....
Hehe thanks. Thats the kind of review manufacturers are looking for. No matter if the item is big or small, expensive or cheap, they want lots of pics and lots of text

15-03-2006, 09:47:24

FarFarAway
Nice work jim

Can't wait for you to get the cash to get the phase

Don't worry about things like babies and stuff

14-04-2006, 07:14:12

JN
This review has been updated. Please feel free to comment on the revisions made to the conclusion page here: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=27&page=6

14-04-2006, 07:22:02

WC Annihilus
Ooh man that sucks You switch the stock fans back in then I suppose?

14-04-2006, 07:23:48

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Ooh man that sucks You switch the stock fans back in then I suppose?
For the moment. I'll be reviewing some 'bling' fans from Thermaltake soon to see if they are any better. As always, i'll let you know how it goes

14-04-2006, 07:26:10

WC Annihilus
Good stuff Thunderblades, UV fans, or their new i-Flashes? I think I'm FINALLY going to do my BT review this spring break (need to redo as I realized I didn't take enough good pictures for an official review). Then maybe I can request some heatsinks or something for review

14-04-2006, 07:42:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Good stuff Thunderblades, UV fans, or their new i-Flashes? I think I'm FINALLY going to do my BT review this spring break (need to redo as I realized I didn't take enough good pictures for an official review). Then maybe I can request some heatsinks or something for review
I've got a set of Thunderblades which are really good, but i'll be reviewing their newer i-flash range.

14-04-2006, 07:46:36

WC Annihilus
Good stuff, looking forward to it BTW, how are the thunderblades? Most people say they don't perform anywhere near factory specs (ie: louder and don't push as much air). (PS, how come I pretty much never see you on MSN now?)

14-04-2006, 15:29:28

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Good stuff, looking forward to it BTW, how are the thunderblades? Most people say they don't perform anywhere near factory specs (ie: louder and don't push as much air). (PS, how come I pretty much never see you on MSN now?)
I would say that they push about the same as the Blackfire's which were rated 77cfm. As for noise, i have no idea. My rig is far too noisy with 2x125cfm fans in there.

As for MSN, i only come on at the moment when i'm not snowed under with work/kids/oc3d

14-04-2006, 16:03:58

WC Annihilus
Just run the fans off of a crap PSU (4 and 6 pin trick or w/e it is). You should try to get a hold of these fans for review. They are pretty much considered the absolute favorite over at XS for watercooling. Most people feel that they perform MUCH better than factory specifications and I'm interested in actual experience As for MSN, I suppose our time difference doesn't help (you guys are 8 hours ahead )

BTW, what's the url to get into the reviewer log in so I don't have to bug someone when I finally write my review this coming week? You can just pm it if you don't want it posted.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.