A.C Ryan Blackfire 4 UV Led 120mm Fan

Looks Cont

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 14/03/2005
Author: James Napier (XMS)
Hardware Acquired: KustomPC's


Looks cont.

I thought it was about time i modded out my Silverstone TJ05 case, and as i had previously planned to add water cooling to it, now was a good time to add a radiator and some fans. Funnily enough i had some AC Ryan mesh fan filters in my pile of computer gear, so i decided to pop them on my case too.

Click to enlarge Click to enlarge

Now lets turn the lights off, power the fans up and see whats in store!

Click to enlarge

Ah, it looks like we may have a bit of a problem here. Despite both of the fans being the same model, there is a destinct difference between the LED colours. The one on the left looks...well...pink.

My initial thoughts were that this may be down to the fans being hooked directly to my fan controller, and maybe one was recieving less power than the other, but after reconnecting both directly to a molex, it was clear that there was indeed a manufacturing issue here.

I have arranged for another couple of fans to be sent as i am curious to see if they have similar problems, however it would be nice to hear if AC Ryan have any explaination for this problem.

EDIT: The replacement fans have arrived, and i am pleased to say that they are the same colour - however, they are actually the same colour as the fan i previously described as being 'pink', which is a great shame.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-03-2006, 08:24:10

JN
This topic is for the discussion of the above review.

You can read the review here.

15-03-2006, 08:27:58

llwyd
on page 4 it says 'looks cont' instead of 'looks count' nice review tho

15-03-2006, 08:31:29

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
on page 4 it says 'looks cont' instead of 'looks count' nice review tho
Umm, he's kind of sayin "Looks Continued" man... Cont. is short for continued

15-03-2006, 08:31:43

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
on page 4 it says 'looks cont' instead of 'looks count' nice review tho
Thats what it's supposed to be

Looks Cont. = Looks Continued

15-03-2006, 08:32:49

llwyd
hahahahahahahahahaha, go me! i should have read the lot properly, could someone delete that post it makes me look stupid

15-03-2006, 08:34:42

WC Annihilus
Jus edit it out yourself... though there isn't any real point in general of getting rid of it. It was a perfectly valid point that just happened to be wrong

15-03-2006, 09:00:02

PV5150
loved the review mate, extremely non-biased AC Ryan make some sweet aftermarket gear, and these fans are an example of this. The fact that they have pre-sleeved the cables is testament to their targetting those of us who love the case 'bling'. Good one

15-03-2006, 09:13:42

WC Annihilus
Reminds me, no one else has gotten mad yet that Jim never mentioned he got his new case yesterday! rofl. He's making a case mod case at some point though but still! rofl

15-03-2006, 09:25:17

Ham
Good job jim. I never thought anyone could write that much about a fan....

15-03-2006, 09:35:36

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Good job jim. I never thought anyone could write that much about a fan....
Hehe thanks. Thats the kind of review manufacturers are looking for. No matter if the item is big or small, expensive or cheap, they want lots of pics and lots of text

15-03-2006, 09:47:24

FarFarAway
Nice work jim

Can't wait for you to get the cash to get the phase

Don't worry about things like babies and stuff

14-04-2006, 07:14:12

JN
This review has been updated. Please feel free to comment on the revisions made to the conclusion page here: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=27&page=6

14-04-2006, 07:22:02

WC Annihilus
Ooh man that sucks You switch the stock fans back in then I suppose?

14-04-2006, 07:23:48

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Ooh man that sucks You switch the stock fans back in then I suppose?
For the moment. I'll be reviewing some 'bling' fans from Thermaltake soon to see if they are any better. As always, i'll let you know how it goes

14-04-2006, 07:26:10

WC Annihilus
Good stuff Thunderblades, UV fans, or their new i-Flashes? I think I'm FINALLY going to do my BT review this spring break (need to redo as I realized I didn't take enough good pictures for an official review). Then maybe I can request some heatsinks or something for review

14-04-2006, 07:42:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Good stuff Thunderblades, UV fans, or their new i-Flashes? I think I'm FINALLY going to do my BT review this spring break (need to redo as I realized I didn't take enough good pictures for an official review). Then maybe I can request some heatsinks or something for review
I've got a set of Thunderblades which are really good, but i'll be reviewing their newer i-flash range.

14-04-2006, 07:46:36

WC Annihilus
Good stuff, looking forward to it BTW, how are the thunderblades? Most people say they don't perform anywhere near factory specs (ie: louder and don't push as much air). (PS, how come I pretty much never see you on MSN now?)

14-04-2006, 15:29:28

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Good stuff, looking forward to it BTW, how are the thunderblades? Most people say they don't perform anywhere near factory specs (ie: louder and don't push as much air). (PS, how come I pretty much never see you on MSN now?)
I would say that they push about the same as the Blackfire's which were rated 77cfm. As for noise, i have no idea. My rig is far too noisy with 2x125cfm fans in there.

As for MSN, i only come on at the moment when i'm not snowed under with work/kids/oc3d

14-04-2006, 16:03:58

WC Annihilus
Just run the fans off of a crap PSU (4 and 6 pin trick or w/e it is). You should try to get a hold of these fans for review. They are pretty much considered the absolute favorite over at XS for watercooling. Most people feel that they perform MUCH better than factory specifications and I'm interested in actual experience As for MSN, I suppose our time difference doesn't help (you guys are 8 hours ahead )

BTW, what's the url to get into the reviewer log in so I don't have to bug someone when I finally write my review this coming week? You can just pm it if you don't want it posted.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.