A+ Case Monolize ATX Full Tower Case

Test Results

Test Results

Here's what happened up against a Silverstone TJ09S with only stock fans left in:

testing

The only place that the Monolize let itself down was in CPU temperature where it trailed the Silverstone by some distance. I have a feeling this is due to the non-standard side-through air passage in the Monolize. The rest of the temperature scores show a pretty competitive cooling solution from the Monolize case.

If you're looking to get this case and want a cool CPU I would suggest adding a front and rear fan for better airflow as that is what the ATX standard intended.

Still overall a pretty decent performance from the Monolize.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-09-2007, 15:46:50

FarFarAway
Check out one of the latest from A+Case and NanoPoint

click

11-09-2007, 16:18:12

Toxcity
Very well written review, Kemp.. As always!

Looks as though it is a nice case.

Loving the Monster fans!

11-09-2007, 16:31:40

Rastalovich
Meh, not a case for me. Not on the external looks either.

But I`m over 35, so I have an excuse.

In all seriousness tho, the internals of the case closely resemble the Thermaltake XaserII I have laying empty next to me. The lower drive area has been rotated and rejigged, but even looking at the front - it has the same pinching insertion things u stick to u`r devices. (the XaserII comes with a temp and fan control that fits into the top 5.25 bay, which I removed cos I never got it working >.< )

Those pci blank plate things are a pita without the top piece thing, good to see the inclusion of that to the spec.

Looks like a copy to me. Pretty darn heavy solid metally case ?

11-09-2007, 17:25:44

Aqua-Pc's
Would you like some case with your fans

12-09-2007, 08:09:12

mrapoc
Would you class it as heavy? If adding front and rear fans brought cpu coolingness up to scratch I would deffo consider this as a tj05 replacement

12-09-2007, 13:11:06

FarFarAway
Yes it is heavy

13-09-2007, 07:39:29

badsykes
Hey Kempez.. THANK you very much for the review.I tried in the last months to find a review or an opinion on this case and i couldn't found one until now.. THX..i have stupid question:

Can a 61Kg boy raise that case with this rig inserted:

A64 x2 4000+ oced to 3ghz (the 3ghz freq add some kilos i think )

Dfi CFX 3200 M2/g

2gb ram

2900xt

Terratec aureon 7.1 space

Dvd rw plextor px 740a

benq cd rom

PSU 430w Thermaltake purepower

With my current cheap case is pretty heavy also..

I am aking this because i am pretty skiny at 61Kg and 1.72m height

13-09-2007, 08:55:11

Mr. Smith
LOL! Badsykes - you win the prize for the craziest question asked about a review!

I guess this would all depend on your strength to weight ratio!

I can't imagine a full rig in that case will weigh more than 20-25kg max! More like 20kg max... Whats the most you can lift lol

13-09-2007, 14:06:52

FarFarAway
I reckon you'd be ok, just

13-09-2007, 15:01:17

Brooksie
Haha badskyes best question ever

Get some weights and workout then you'll be able to lift it with one hand! (Wouldn't suggest it though )

13-09-2007, 16:33:34

darkorb
if i were you, maybe a new PSU would be at the top of my list

13-09-2007, 16:40:32

badsykes
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
if i were you, maybe a new PSU would be at the top of my list
darkorb: The most boring answer No offence..

Thx guys..and Mr. Smith give me the reward ... a 2900xt waterblock will be VERY nice... ahhahaa

PS: i discovered all the Q3d Logos also

15-10-2007, 15:45:05

crankfrank
Hi all, can anyone tell me if a ASUS A8N-SLI Premium will fit this case?

Thanks, Craig.

15-10-2007, 15:47:51

FarFarAway
It's an ATX case, so I see no reason why not

15-10-2007, 15:49:38

crankfrank
Thanks bud

11-12-2007, 09:40:56

yibyibyib
Nice review but there's no mention of the noise the fans on this sucker kicks out.

I suppose its pretty quiet having nice large fans plus you can change the speed.

How would you rate the noisiness? Maybe compared to a case with 120mm fans.

Thanks

11-12-2007, 17:40:18

FarFarAway
Did I not? Damn soz I thought I did, my bad.

Fans aren't actually too bad. They're slow spinning but air tends to rush through the vents a bit

I'll add to the review

11-12-2007, 18:06:48

yibyibyib
Thanks for the quick response.

Think I'll treat myself as they're on offer at specialtech.co.uk.

28-01-2008, 14:55:00

james13009
I have brought the case, and tried to mount my motherboard today but can not because there are no raised platforms on which to mount the board. In other words, if the board is mounted its just going to short it self out, all is explained in this picture in the review. How do i get round this. I've got loads of bits all over the floor and feel i am missing something

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...203226681l.jpg

James

28-01-2008, 15:10:30

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='james13009'
I have brought the case, and tried to mount my motherboard today but can not because there are no raised platforms on which to mount the board. In other words, if the board is mounted its just going to short it self out, all is explained in this picture in the review. How do i get round this. I've got loads of bits all over the floor and feel i am missing somethingJames
There should be some brass standoffs that first screw into the case and keep the mobo raised. Make sure to put them where the holes in the mobo are so they dont cause a short.

http://www.amazon.com/Motherboard-Screwnut-Standoff-50-PCS/dp/B00008VF6K

28-01-2008, 16:04:30

Brooksie
Yeah there should be some in that white box, mine did with my case

28-01-2008, 16:22:48

FarFarAway
There's some standoffs in the white container, along with a whole load of screws and drive rails
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.