A+ Case Monolize ATX Full Tower Case

Test Setup and Installation

Test Setup

Before I move on to the installation lets see what I put into the case.

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6700 @ 3.33Ghz
Motherboard: XFX 650i Ultra
GFX Card: Sapphire X1600Pro with Arctic Cooling Accelero X2
RAM: 2gb Mushkin XP2-6400 4-4-4-12
HDD: OS - 160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II
Power: Zippy 500w
Cooling: Scythe Infinity

I have used the Silverstone TJ09 to compare results with.

Idle temperatures were taken after 30 minutes of "rest" time on the PC.

Load temperature for the CPU was Dual Folding@Home after 30 minutes.

Load Temperatures on the GPU were taken after 30 minutes of RTHDRIBL.


This should be a nice test of the cases thermal properties.

Installation

Installation was a simple and pretty quick process. I have performed a small amount of cable tidying but in fairness the case does a lot for you with a nice range of cubby-holes in which to route and hide those ugly spare cables. Here's the result:

cable tidying

As you can see the case gives a nice clean install even with the little effort I put into it.The only problem I encountered was that I put the PSU in before the motherboard which meant I had restricted access to get the fan on the cooler.

gfx card holder

gfx card holder 2

Another feature of the case was the clip to hold in the graphics card. This does make installation of graphics cards easier and I tried a few of the ones I have to test this without any problems. However, I am not convinced that the clip would not wear down with use, and could become loose. Ease of use here is a 10/10 but I personally would still like screws or thumbscrews, mainly as I swap out GPU's all of the time and some of them cost rather a lot!

Minor gripes aside the case was incredibly easy to install into and the features like the drive bar clips and the PCI slot clip, as well as the ample cable-routing options made it a pleasure to work in. I also have to say that there was not one sharp surface or edge in the case and I was pleasently surprised that my fingers didn't have the usual plethora of cuts that you usually get from cheaper cases.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-09-2007, 15:46:50

FarFarAway
Check out one of the latest from A+Case and NanoPoint

click

11-09-2007, 16:18:12

Toxcity
Very well written review, Kemp.. As always!

Looks as though it is a nice case.

Loving the Monster fans!

11-09-2007, 16:31:40

Rastalovich
Meh, not a case for me. Not on the external looks either.

But I`m over 35, so I have an excuse.

In all seriousness tho, the internals of the case closely resemble the Thermaltake XaserII I have laying empty next to me. The lower drive area has been rotated and rejigged, but even looking at the front - it has the same pinching insertion things u stick to u`r devices. (the XaserII comes with a temp and fan control that fits into the top 5.25 bay, which I removed cos I never got it working >.< )

Those pci blank plate things are a pita without the top piece thing, good to see the inclusion of that to the spec.

Looks like a copy to me. Pretty darn heavy solid metally case ?

11-09-2007, 17:25:44

Aqua-Pc's
Would you like some case with your fans

12-09-2007, 08:09:12

mrapoc
Would you class it as heavy? If adding front and rear fans brought cpu coolingness up to scratch I would deffo consider this as a tj05 replacement

12-09-2007, 13:11:06

FarFarAway
Yes it is heavy

13-09-2007, 07:39:29

badsykes
Hey Kempez.. THANK you very much for the review.I tried in the last months to find a review or an opinion on this case and i couldn't found one until now.. THX..i have stupid question:

Can a 61Kg boy raise that case with this rig inserted:

A64 x2 4000+ oced to 3ghz (the 3ghz freq add some kilos i think )

Dfi CFX 3200 M2/g

2gb ram

2900xt

Terratec aureon 7.1 space

Dvd rw plextor px 740a

benq cd rom

PSU 430w Thermaltake purepower

With my current cheap case is pretty heavy also..

I am aking this because i am pretty skiny at 61Kg and 1.72m height

13-09-2007, 08:55:11

Mr. Smith
LOL! Badsykes - you win the prize for the craziest question asked about a review!

I guess this would all depend on your strength to weight ratio!

I can't imagine a full rig in that case will weigh more than 20-25kg max! More like 20kg max... Whats the most you can lift lol

13-09-2007, 14:06:52

FarFarAway
I reckon you'd be ok, just

13-09-2007, 15:01:17

Brooksie
Haha badskyes best question ever

Get some weights and workout then you'll be able to lift it with one hand! (Wouldn't suggest it though )

13-09-2007, 16:33:34

darkorb
if i were you, maybe a new PSU would be at the top of my list

13-09-2007, 16:40:32

badsykes
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
if i were you, maybe a new PSU would be at the top of my list
darkorb: The most boring answer No offence..

Thx guys..and Mr. Smith give me the reward ... a 2900xt waterblock will be VERY nice... ahhahaa

PS: i discovered all the Q3d Logos also

15-10-2007, 15:45:05

crankfrank
Hi all, can anyone tell me if a ASUS A8N-SLI Premium will fit this case?

Thanks, Craig.

15-10-2007, 15:47:51

FarFarAway
It's an ATX case, so I see no reason why not

15-10-2007, 15:49:38

crankfrank
Thanks bud

11-12-2007, 09:40:56

yibyibyib
Nice review but there's no mention of the noise the fans on this sucker kicks out.

I suppose its pretty quiet having nice large fans plus you can change the speed.

How would you rate the noisiness? Maybe compared to a case with 120mm fans.

Thanks

11-12-2007, 17:40:18

FarFarAway
Did I not? Damn soz I thought I did, my bad.

Fans aren't actually too bad. They're slow spinning but air tends to rush through the vents a bit

I'll add to the review

11-12-2007, 18:06:48

yibyibyib
Thanks for the quick response.

Think I'll treat myself as they're on offer at specialtech.co.uk.

28-01-2008, 14:55:00

james13009
I have brought the case, and tried to mount my motherboard today but can not because there are no raised platforms on which to mount the board. In other words, if the board is mounted its just going to short it self out, all is explained in this picture in the review. How do i get round this. I've got loads of bits all over the floor and feel i am missing something

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...203226681l.jpg

James

28-01-2008, 15:10:30

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='james13009'
I have brought the case, and tried to mount my motherboard today but can not because there are no raised platforms on which to mount the board. In other words, if the board is mounted its just going to short it self out, all is explained in this picture in the review. How do i get round this. I've got loads of bits all over the floor and feel i am missing somethingJames
There should be some brass standoffs that first screw into the case and keep the mobo raised. Make sure to put them where the holes in the mobo are so they dont cause a short.

http://www.amazon.com/Motherboard-Screwnut-Standoff-50-PCS/dp/B00008VF6K

28-01-2008, 16:04:30

Brooksie
Yeah there should be some in that white box, mine did with my case

28-01-2008, 16:22:48

FarFarAway
There's some standoffs in the white container, along with a whole load of screws and drive rails
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.