A+ Case El Diablo ATX Case

Test Setup

Testing

So, with all that cooling hardware, how did El Diablo perform?

The test system specification was as follows:

Motherboard - Asus P5K3
CPU - Intel E4300
Graphics - 8800GTS
HDDs - 2x Hitachi 80GB SATA2 configured in RAID0
PSU - Nexus 500W modular

My main aim during the test was to ascertain just how effective El Diablo's cooling is.

Note, all componentry was cooled by the stock cooling solution/s.

Idle tests involved taking 5 temperature readings over a period of 10 minutes, the system was at zero load during these measurements, temperatures were measured using Asus' onboard probes using the Asus Probe software.

Load tests were carried out with two instances of Prime95 running, again, 5 readings were taken over a period of 10 minutes, the first of the 5 readings was taken after the system had run Prime95 for 30 minutes.

Results

Note - ambient temp. was measured at 26 Degrees C.


 

There's no doubt in my mind that the substantial cooling solution provided by the 200mm and 280mm has contributed to a cool running test setup.

On the basis of thermal performance alone, given the relatively high ambient temps. this case is a good performer.

Now let's move onto the conclusion.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-11-2007, 15:11:12

Mullet
If you like your case to have a presence, take a look here because this case has it in spades!

17-11-2007, 15:22:35

Ham
Nice job dude. Looks like a solid case.

Just if they'd made it out of alu!

Gratz on the 1st review too

17-11-2007, 15:41:52

ionicle
not a case i'd personally go for

but good job on reviewing it, made a good read

17-11-2007, 16:13:05

Brooksie
Case is quite ugly, good if your a fan freak though

17-11-2007, 18:42:39

Mullet
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Nice job dude. Looks like a solid case.

Just if they'd made it out of alu!

Gratz on the 1st review too
Aye, tis a nice bit of kit....all boils down to what you like in the loks dept. really...

17-11-2007, 19:44:10

PV5150
What a stellar effort on your first review mate. You covered all of the main features/cons and provided good images to reinforce them. Well done ...keep up the great work.

The case actually looks interesting, and those larger fans seem to keep things well cooled. I'm a sucker for an aluminium case, but the steel used here is reflected in the price.

18-11-2007, 04:35:20

Mullet
Thanks for the feedback Peevles.

For the price the case has plenty to offer in terms of cooling features.

18-11-2007, 09:26:27

llwyd
Good work mate, very nice first review there

Im still pretty undecided on the looks side of the case though

24-11-2007, 06:02:42

Mandible
My current short list for buying a case is either the el diablo or the NZXT blackline in blue. Any preferences people?

Oh, and im afraid you didnt note that the door is on the left, major irritation, and by the looks, only open 90 degrees.

24-11-2007, 10:40:16

Mullet
Lo matey...hope you enjoyed reading the review

Yes, the door opens up to 180 degrees...I think the image which depicts the case with the door open shows that the hinge is on the left-hand side...

Tough decision tbh as I've not seen a NZXT case in the flesh....I hope the review helps you to make your mind up either way.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.