SteelSound 5H V2

Test Setup and Notes

How We Tested:

As this is the first Headset to pass through Overclock3D.net, the review structure will be somewhat unfarmiliar to regular readers. Due to the nature of audio equipment, it is very hard to perform any form of benchmarking without highly accurate and expensive devices, therefore the review will be solely my opinion on the headset, and will be structured to clearly compare and contrast both good and bad points..

The SteelSound 5H were tested on the following test system:

CPU: Intel C2D E4300 @ 3400mhz
Motherboard: ASUS P5B Deluxe
RAM: Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2 2GB
GPU: Leadtek 7800GTX
Hard drive: 200GB Barracuda
PSU: 580W Hiper Type-R

For fairness we tested the Headset with the following three Sound Cards:

Auzentech X-Mystique Gold 5.1
Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS Edition

To test the sound I used the following games:

Quake 4
Counterstrike: Source

I also listened to some music on the headset using Windows Media Player 10 and Foobar2000, making sure I adjusted the headset and sound card outputs to try to get the best sound quality possible.

Furthermore I used the headset in place of my usual in-ear earphones with my Creative Zen Micro, a Sony NW-A3000 and my HiFi system, mainly to ensure that the computer setup was performing properly.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-02-2007, 11:05:40

llwyd
Looking for a portable and comfy headset for LANing and prolonged gaming? Check out the 5H V2 headset Here

05-02-2007, 11:21:53

Ham
rofl

'Llwyd Jones'

Good job none the less.

05-02-2007, 11:30:55

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
rofl

'Llwyd Jones'

Good job none the less.
Mefinks Jim got Llwyd's name wrong

05-02-2007, 11:45:48

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Mefinks Jim got Llwyd's name wrong
I got it close tho. In my defence tho, I did get it right when AMD asked for it today

05-02-2007, 11:55:01

mrapoc
Nice review Im happy with my medusas

05-02-2007, 12:03:24

limqareb
yeah the medusas bass is fantastic and the 5.1 is just great , before i had the medusa i had some cheap stereo but it was a great improvement , yeah the medusas are a bit heavy but i dont mine them

05-02-2007, 12:36:06

mrapoc
Try leaning to one side = ow

17-02-2007, 20:09:16

Crono
haha apoc .. ive worn mine to death the microphone is bust and it looks like an android due to all the metal rivited to em to keep it together .. looking out for new set atm

19-02-2007, 21:58:24

Crono
good review .. helped me decide .. didnt choose to get them in the end though
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.