SteelSound 5H V2

Introduction

Introduction

Steelseries are a company that has, for a long time, been producing some of the highest quality gaming equipment available. From mousepads to keyboards, clothing to audio, steelseries have products covering them all.

Today I will be looking at one of SteelSound's (steelseries' audio division) latest gaming headsets, the SteelSound 5H V2. This headset, as the name suggests is an improvement on an already relatively successful model.

Some images taken from the SteelSeries website:

steelsound 5H

Improvements:

These headphones have recently undergone some development by SteelSeries:

"The new headset features improved microphone quality, a longer microphone cord, bigger (and more comfortable) ear cushions, additional frame pressure and numerous other technical design improvements."

I am interested to see how these affect our testing.

Specification:

Headphones:

Frequency response
16 - 28.000 Hz Impedance
40 Ohm SPL@ 1kHz, 1 Vrms
110 dB Cable length
1 + 2 = 3 meters (10 feet) Connectors
3.5 mm Microphone
Frequency response
75 - 16.000 Hz Pick up pattern
Uni-directional Sensitivity
-38dB Impedance
2k Ohm

The specs look good on paper but how do they translate?
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-02-2007, 11:05:40

llwyd
Looking for a portable and comfy headset for LANing and prolonged gaming? Check out the 5H V2 headset Here

05-02-2007, 11:21:53

Ham
rofl

'Llwyd Jones'

Good job none the less.

05-02-2007, 11:30:55

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
rofl

'Llwyd Jones'

Good job none the less.
Mefinks Jim got Llwyd's name wrong

05-02-2007, 11:45:48

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Mefinks Jim got Llwyd's name wrong
I got it close tho. In my defence tho, I did get it right when AMD asked for it today

05-02-2007, 11:55:01

mrapoc
Nice review Im happy with my medusas

05-02-2007, 12:03:24

limqareb
yeah the medusas bass is fantastic and the 5.1 is just great , before i had the medusa i had some cheap stereo but it was a great improvement , yeah the medusas are a bit heavy but i dont mine them

05-02-2007, 12:36:06

mrapoc
Try leaning to one side = ow

17-02-2007, 20:09:16

Crono
haha apoc .. ive worn mine to death the microphone is bust and it looks like an android due to all the metal rivited to em to keep it together .. looking out for new set atm

19-02-2007, 21:58:24

Crono
good review .. helped me decide .. didnt choose to get them in the end though
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.