Steelseries Steelsound 4H Gaming Headset

Microphone

Microphone

I thought it would be best to take a more detailed look at the microphone on the 4H headset, as since it is aimed at gamers this is a key factor. As mentioned previously the microphone is built into the left ear cup and retracts to the side of your cheek. It seems to be built to a high quality, but lets see how it sounds.

After testing the microphone online in both Teamspeak2 and Vent, the response was good from my teammate. He could certainly understand me well enough even with a high compression codec.

To give you an idea of how well the microphone performs, I have recorded this sound bite in Audacity.



MP3 File

WAV File

As you can tell, the quality really is quite impressive and is up there with more expensive headsets. Another thing you will notice is that there is almost no difference between the high and low settings that I could detect. Whether others can notice, I'm not sure but either setting sounds great to me anyway.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-02-2007, 05:48:34

FarFarAway
Review by Dav0s himself.

Dave took a look at the 4H Headset to see if it was worth 30 of your money

What did he think?

Read on...

21-02-2007, 07:40:54

llwyd
good work dave, very thorough review

21-02-2007, 07:43:56

Ty07allstar
Very nice review!

21-02-2007, 08:26:06

Toxcity
Nice reveiw, but as soon as I saw "LAcking bass" I died!

21-02-2007, 08:50:02

Dav0s
thanks people

21-02-2007, 12:01:09

chudley
Nice timimng as I am looking for a new headset, found your review very helpful. may have to ask in a different thread, dont want to hijack this one.

21-02-2007, 12:03:12

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='chudley'
Nice timimng as I am looking for a new headset, found your review very helpful. may have to ask in a different thread, dont want to hijack this one.
Wouldn't bother really lol, the general consensus is that for gameplay you want Speedlink Medusas and for sound quality / music something like Sennheisers

21-02-2007, 12:09:26

chudley
Cheers got sennheisers already and using them for gaming too (no mic) just read the 5H review and got the jist about medusas. Cheers now know what i am looking for
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.