SteelSeries Siberia V2

External Packaging

SteelSeries  Siberia V2

External Packaging

SteelSeries have followed their standard packaging arrangement for the Siberia V2 with a combination of charcoal grey, light grey and orange. It works very well on all their other products and works equally well here. The front of the box contains a few of the highlighted features along with the standard clear panel to enable a good look at the headset prior to purchase.

The top of the box shows how many gaming clans are using the SteelSeries with probably the largest set of logos we've seen on a gaming peripheral.

SteelSeries Siberia V2     SteelSeries Siberia V2  

Flipping the packaging over it's clear SteelSeries haven't wasted a single inch of the packaging space. Absolutely nowhere on the box is there an unused space. The rear has the marketing blurb in multiple languages and a small technical specifications panel. 

Even the base of the box is used to provide information about SteelSeries generally.

SteelSeries Siberia V2     SteelSeries Siberia V2  

Everything is very clearly laid out throughout the packaging, but I'd definitely like to see at least some breathing room given. It's all so busy that you start to almost tune out. I understand the need to provide swathes of information in multiple languages, but a bit of nothing wouldn't hurt either.

Opening the box and taking the Siberia V2 out we can see them in a vacuum formed holder like so many headsets. A nice touch is that these are in a dark grey similar to that found on the box which helps highlight the white colouring of the headset, and also the coating is slightly furry which feels much nicer than the standard clear plastic found on so many others.

SteelSeries Siberia V2     SteelSeries Siberia V2  

The Siberia V2

It's nice to take a product out without being inundated with needless frippery, especially for a headset that needs very little description. We don't want a 40 page manual and three different CDs. Plug and go.

SteelSeries Siberia V2     SteelSeries Siberia V2

Having taken the headset out of the inner package it's time for a closer look at the much heralded features.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-03-2010, 06:17:05

tinytomlogan
The Steelseries Siberia was a great headset, but will the V2 be able to beat it?

Continue Reading

23-03-2010, 11:57:41

Steve-O-
I wish you guys had a review of the Razor Carcharias. I would like to see how these two compared to each other. The Cars also have an open-back design and I think they sound amazing. The difference between my friends Creative Fatal1ty headset and mine were night and day.

So since you don't have a review for them could you tell me how they compare? Or have you not used the Carcharias yet? Thanks!

23-03-2010, 13:13:30

VonBlade
We haven't got any on hand, nor have we tested any. Our reviews usually point out if there is an existing product that is vastly better or similar.

However, as the Carcharias are almost identical in design to the Megaladons, I think for music the Siberia V2 are better.

Neither are bad at all. The Siberia V2 are very very good.

23-03-2010, 13:20:33

Steve-O-
Cool, thanks for the response. Looks like my Carcharias aren't going anywhere anytime soon. I also like the fact that mine have the braided cord and not the generic plastic/rubber cord. I do like the Steelseries mic set-up better though.

23-03-2010, 14:34:52

delusion77
I love my Siberia V2s <3. But you guys made a mistake - they are closed back design, the Sv1s were open back. check out http://goo.gl/POVB. Its right there on the website and on the box!:0

23-03-2010, 15:46:13

VonBlade
"Closed type" is different to "closed back".

Closed type refers to ones that surround the ears. Please compare the Ozone Strato we recently reviewed to the Siberia.

Thanks anyway.

23-03-2010, 18:38:50

delusion77
ok... do you mean the fact that your ear fits inside the cup? i wouldnt think this would be a mediocre thing as it leads to very high comfort. thanks for clarifying that closed type isnt closed back anyway - it was confusing.

23-03-2010, 18:43:36

VonBlade
Ok. Closed type = ear inside the cup. Not a mediocre because it's comfy.

Closed back = no mesh on the outside of the headphone. Like with the Zowie or SteelSeries Neckband we've previously reviewed. Closed back is a "tighter" sound and leaks less noise. Open back allows some of the audio to spill out of the headphones giving a airier and nicer sound, but meaning people around you can hear if the volume is loud.

Hope that's cleared things up.

23-03-2010, 18:56:52

delusion77
Yes ok i understand what both mean now. But in the review it stated, under conclusion "Mediocre - Open back design". The steelseries siberia v2 has a closed back, and fits all around the ears aka closed type. I'm sorry if I sound like a fool right now :P just trying to clarify

23-03-2010, 19:47:28

Steve-O-
It doesn't have a closed back, just like VonBlade said. It is a meshed back, which is considered an open-back design.

23-03-2010, 20:19:26

delusion77
can some1 delete this post for me

24-03-2010, 18:02:10

delusion77
Alright ok I understand completely now. Closed type, open back. I was under the impression that it was closed back and closed type as I saw it on 2 other reviews. I guess they were confused like me to the difference of closed back and type as stated by the manufacture. I also assumed the mesh was just for show - but I now see no where on the SS site do they mention its closed back. sorry for being so thick :$
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.