SteelSeries Siberia V2

Introduction

SteelSeries Siberia V2

Introduction

Headsets are a complex thing. The addition of a microphone usually means a vast increase in price over a standard set of headphones, and in some ways the fact they are for the PC/Gaming brigade also means they cost more than a similar pair.

Sometimes this is a cause for great frustration when you're reviewing a product that is merely average, because it becomes even worse in light of the ridiculous price tags.

As online gaming becomes more popular and people start to meet up for LAN gaming sessions then a headset is something that is an unavoidable expense. They are also thankfully useful as a VOIP device if you don't wish to splurge out on a dedicated phone.

So with their uses as a all-around pair of headphones, but also with VOIP and Teamspeak applications, the demands on a headset are many and it takes someone special to be able to adapt all these various uses into a single product.

Thankfully SteelSeries made their name with exceptional headsets and of these the Siberia proved very popular. Today I take a look at the updated Siberia, unsurprisingly called the Siberia V2.

SteelSeries Siberia V2

Before we take a look at the technical specifications, let's have a look at what has been updated on the new Siberia V2 headset :

  1. 1. It sports an “invisible" retractable microphone system that pulls out from the left ear-cup.
  • 2. Increased 50mm speakers will amplify the bass and volume as well as improve the frequency response to 10-28,000 Hz.
  • 3. New closed ear-cup design which features thick leather padded cushions built from sound dampening foam to increase outside noise isolation.

4. The primary cord is shorter in length for optimized use with portable gear and comes with an additional extra cord for use with stationary computers.

It's lovely to see a genuine list of improvements. Sometimes manufacturers can be guilty of "refreshing" a product purely to reinvigorate sales even if nothing has really changed. Not so here with all the updates being meaningful.

Technical Specifications

As always our technical specifications are taken directly from the manufacturers website to ensure they are as upto-date and accurate as possible.

Headphones

- Frequency response: 10 - 28.000 Hz
- Impedance: 32 Ohm
- SPL@1kHz, 1Vrms: 112 dB
- Cable length: 1,0 m + 2,0 m = 3,0 m / 9,84 ft.
- Jack: 3,5 mm

Microphone

- Frequency response: 50 - 16.000 Hz
- Pick up pattern: Uni-directional
- Sensitivity: -38 dB

So SteelSeries have genuinely given us an updated product. Let's get a close look.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-03-2010, 06:17:05

tinytomlogan
The Steelseries Siberia was a great headset, but will the V2 be able to beat it?

Continue Reading

23-03-2010, 11:57:41

Steve-O-
I wish you guys had a review of the Razor Carcharias. I would like to see how these two compared to each other. The Cars also have an open-back design and I think they sound amazing. The difference between my friends Creative Fatal1ty headset and mine were night and day.

So since you don't have a review for them could you tell me how they compare? Or have you not used the Carcharias yet? Thanks!

23-03-2010, 13:13:30

VonBlade
We haven't got any on hand, nor have we tested any. Our reviews usually point out if there is an existing product that is vastly better or similar.

However, as the Carcharias are almost identical in design to the Megaladons, I think for music the Siberia V2 are better.

Neither are bad at all. The Siberia V2 are very very good.

23-03-2010, 13:20:33

Steve-O-
Cool, thanks for the response. Looks like my Carcharias aren't going anywhere anytime soon. I also like the fact that mine have the braided cord and not the generic plastic/rubber cord. I do like the Steelseries mic set-up better though.

23-03-2010, 14:34:52

delusion77
I love my Siberia V2s <3. But you guys made a mistake - they are closed back design, the Sv1s were open back. check out http://goo.gl/POVB. Its right there on the website and on the box!:0

23-03-2010, 15:46:13

VonBlade
"Closed type" is different to "closed back".

Closed type refers to ones that surround the ears. Please compare the Ozone Strato we recently reviewed to the Siberia.

Thanks anyway.

23-03-2010, 18:38:50

delusion77
ok... do you mean the fact that your ear fits inside the cup? i wouldnt think this would be a mediocre thing as it leads to very high comfort. thanks for clarifying that closed type isnt closed back anyway - it was confusing.

23-03-2010, 18:43:36

VonBlade
Ok. Closed type = ear inside the cup. Not a mediocre because it's comfy.

Closed back = no mesh on the outside of the headphone. Like with the Zowie or SteelSeries Neckband we've previously reviewed. Closed back is a "tighter" sound and leaks less noise. Open back allows some of the audio to spill out of the headphones giving a airier and nicer sound, but meaning people around you can hear if the volume is loud.

Hope that's cleared things up.

23-03-2010, 18:56:52

delusion77
Yes ok i understand what both mean now. But in the review it stated, under conclusion "Mediocre - Open back design". The steelseries siberia v2 has a closed back, and fits all around the ears aka closed type. I'm sorry if I sound like a fool right now :P just trying to clarify

23-03-2010, 19:47:28

Steve-O-
It doesn't have a closed back, just like VonBlade said. It is a meshed back, which is considered an open-back design.

23-03-2010, 20:19:26

delusion77
can some1 delete this post for me

24-03-2010, 18:02:10

delusion77
Alright ok I understand completely now. Closed type, open back. I was under the impression that it was closed back and closed type as I saw it on 2 other reviews. I guess they were confused like me to the difference of closed back and type as stated by the manufacture. I also assumed the mesh was just for show - but I now see no where on the SS site do they mention its closed back. sorry for being so thick :$
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.