Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review

Roccat Kave Features

Roccat Kave 5.1   Headset Review

Roccat Kave Features

Firstly Roccat have taken into account the fact that not everyone wants to compromise their sound quality when taking their headsets to LAN parties or similar. Without needing to remove anything or flip any switched the earpieces fold inwards to compress the size of the headset to transportable dimensions.

The cans themselves are exceptionally well padded and covered in high grade leather. A mark of the quality that pervades throughout them is the high-class stitching. Effort put into these little details is very reassuring.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

The headband is also very thick with a quality Roccat logo embossed into it. You can also see one of the three 40mm speakers that produce the surround.

No plastic here. The sizing band is made of very sturdy metal and has a very smooth action allowing for precise size control that wont slip at all once in place.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

The microphone is both very flexible and also nice and thin. We've seen a lot of microphones that were so large they were almost distracting. However it still provides excellent quality both across Skype and other VOIP applications, as well as in game communications.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

As you can see, even vertically it holds its shape without issue. For when you need to transport them, or should you just wish to separate the microphone for some reason, it comes off easily thanks to it's RF style jack.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review

Attention to detail extends even to the jack plugs. Have you seen such well looked-after jack plugs before? The sleeving is, although plastic, also very high quality and the plug covering is as good as we've come across.

Roccat call this a "Tip N Control", whereas it's a volume control and so much more. The Ring controls the volume of the entire headset, similar to any other volume you've come across. The centre of the ring is a large mute button. Very handy indeed as anyone who's struggled to quickly hit a tiny mute switch will attest.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

If you want to make sure your discussion about what's for dinner isn't broadcast to the world then there is also a nice large Mic Mute button that, well, mutes your microphone. This is also easy to hit in a hurry, or in the dark. Kudos needs to go to Roccat for covering every little thing so well. When the microphone is muted the little clear ring near the end you can see above glows blue so you can tell at a glance why your team-mates aren't following your orders.

Finally if you lift the flap, the Tip part one assumes, you uncover a multitude of sliders that allow you to adjust the volumes of the Centre, Front, Rear and Sub channels respectively. This is an absolute boon and makes fast changes to the sound quality a cinch. Below that is the toggle that swaps between the game and movie modes respectively.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review

In design terms it's as solid and user-friendly as almost anything we've seen. Let's find out if the sound matches up.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-05-2010, 06:00:05

tinytomlogan
We've liked a lot of Roccat stuff recently, how does their surround sound headset, the Kave, fair?

Continue Reading

25-05-2010, 07:11:36

AMDFTW
nive review,they seem nice

25-05-2010, 07:42:58

WelshD1K
Just went to order one but my bank card has expired!!! noooooooooo oh well have to wait a few days

25-05-2010, 17:32:39

suenstar
Excellent review there.

Had my pair for about two months now and can't say I've ever been so happy with a headset. These things are much higher quality than my Sennheiser PC-350 headset. The sound quality is miles apart, even more amazing considering they costed about 70% of the PC-350 cost at the time.

The only draw back for me is that I find the ear cups to feel a little warm on the ear on extended use (7+ hour sessions)... but those sessions aren't a frequent thing for me.

26-05-2010, 12:01:11

AMDFTW
are these the same? these say Kave Solid?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Roccat-Kave-Gaming-Headset

26-05-2010, 14:14:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
are these the same? these say Kave Solid?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Roccat-Kave-Gaming-Headset
Headband is solid fella. Cans are the same, band isnt. look rank if you ask me.

26-05-2010, 15:14:33

VonBlade
Dunno what you're seeing there Tom. Those are the exact ones we had to review.

26-05-2010, 16:06:12

AMDFTW
thats what i thought the band padding looks split on both but one says solid and one does not

26-05-2010, 16:32:43

VonBlade
The Scan pics are just shown with the band in the retracted position. If you're not sure compare the product code to the Roccat code. They're identical.

26-05-2010, 17:20:25

Steve-O-
They look pretty legit. Too bad I bought a headset recently. Not to say I'm not happy with them though.

26-05-2010, 17:55:39

steve30x
I need a good surround headset because I just moved house and my computer is in my bedroom (the only place where I have room for it) which is right next to my neighbours bedroom. Being a considerate neighbour I dont want to be a nuisance so this headset looks like what I am looking for.

Three things I need to know though. (1) How do they compare sound wise to the Logitech G35? (2) How comfortable would they be for glasses wearers (I have to wear glasses) for a few hours? I have Technics headset (Brilliant sound BTW) and after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt because the earpads press against my ears. (3) where can I order this headset from Ireland?

27-05-2010, 06:07:38

suenstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
I need a good surround headset because I just moved house and my computer is in my bedroom (the only place where I have room for it) which is right next to my neighbours bedroom. Being a considerate neighbour I dont want to be a nuisance so this headset looks like what I am looking for.

Three things I need to know though.

(1) How do they compare sound wise to the Logitech G35?
Personally I find the sound quality to be a fair degree higher in the Kave headset. Though I would say that it mainly due to the jacks being plugged into a high quality soundcard, rather than the USB emulated sound that the G35 uses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
(2) How comfortable would they be for glasses wearers (I have to wear glasses) for a few hours? I have Technics headset (Brilliant sound BTW) and after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt because the earpads press against my ears.
Just sat with mine on with some sunglasses for an hour to test this out.

I really couldn't feel any pressure on the glasses from the headset, it sits quite lightly over the ears so you don't really get much of a problem with extra pressure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
(3) where can I order this headset from Ireland?
I'm not sure of any specific shops in Ireland as I live in the UK, but online shops like ebuyer, overclockers and scan ship to Ireland (I believe it costs a bit more than normal though).

27-05-2010, 06:17:31

steve30x
Thank you for the reply. I found the headset on a website that I think delivers to Ireland. I tried looking at ebuyer but I couldnt find the proper website> I will have a look on overclockers though. I forgot about that website. I dont mind the extra charge for delivery.

27-05-2010, 08:45:48

VonBlade
Just to continue the glasses thing. As befits a proper hardware nerd, I wear glasses and have done for years.

So all my comfort tests are done "with glasses on".

29-06-2010, 15:29:42

Junglerog
I just got got this headset and apparently I have difficulties to get volume control and mute button to work with Crosshair IV motherboard and its on board sound card. Any1 with noticed same problem by chance? Any solutions?

Apparently its a problem with windows 7... any1 had same sort of troubles?

Nvm, system reinstall solved everything.

Well I just tested it on my wife's netbook with XP on it and everything seems to work well. I tried to reinstall my X-fi drivers, searched solutions on line and I cannot find anything. I can mute/unmute microphone, the equalizer works, just volume control and mute button doesn't. Any help highly appreciated.

30-06-2010, 03:37:03

steve30x
So you posted four times instead of updating your first post with updates?

01-07-2010, 03:52:31

Junglerog
And what's wrong with that? With this retarded system I need 15 posts to even get access to my personal info even though i 've been registered here for about 6 months. 11 posts in 6 months doesn't really make me a spammer does it? By the way, 4 posts to go.

01-07-2010, 10:15:42

AMDFTW
its not a retarded system fella it just stops spammers,being registerd for however long does not make a difference it is the post count.

you will get there soon

26-01-2011, 12:22:39

INMATE183
Justgot a set of kave's. AWSOME so happy with them

26-01-2011, 14:09:19

Brooksie
Please don't bump threads that are over 3 months old.

Thanks.

Although, I have a pair of Kaves myself and they are indeed lovely.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.