Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review

Packaging and First Look

Roccat Kave 5.1    Headset Review

Roccat Kave First Look

Despite this not being an official part of the SDMS range the box apes the other Roccat boxes by being very sleek and modern. A large transparent panel allows you to get a good look at the Kave prior to purchase, or stare longingly at during the journey home. The back contains everything you expect to see, in all the languages you're likely to speak. As it just repeats the technical specifications we've given on page one let's move on.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

The side of the box gives us a bullet point list of the major elements of the Kave 5.1 headset. This is particularly useful because the design is so good and so smooth that not all of them are easy to spot "at a glance".

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

Taking it out the box we get our first look at the Kave. We will be looking closer at it in a moment, so for now it's just nice to see a very good job done by Roccat of tucking everything out the way. This gives us a very clean view of the headset and 'Tip N Control' remote. 

No we haven't accidentally thrown the headphones away and are going to review the packaging. Often once the hardware is removed the main job of the packaging, i.e keeping it all facing the front of the box, is over. However here Roccat have not only given us a well formed holder but then reinforced that with foam pads to ensure the Kave headset arrives at your desk in the best shape humanely possible. It's the little extra touches that really separate the good from the mind-blowingly great.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review  

It's always difficult to take a picture of a headset as a whole without it looking like a hell of spaghetti. Here we're helped by a Velcro cable tie, and Roccat logo'd splitter near the jacks that ensure we don't have miles of cables. Rather here we have a single cable that splits in a quality fashion as late as it possible can. There definitely is plenty of cable here, enough that you wont struggle with routing unless your main tower is next door.

Finally before we take a good up close look, the documentation. This follows the standard Roccat mantra of having one exceptionally clear user manual that covers everything you could possibly want to know, and one mock report file that makes for interesting, if not slightly surreal, reading.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review     Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-05-2010, 06:00:05

tinytomlogan
We've liked a lot of Roccat stuff recently, how does their surround sound headset, the Kave, fair?

Continue Reading

25-05-2010, 07:11:36

AMDFTW
nive review,they seem nice

25-05-2010, 07:42:58

WelshD1K
Just went to order one but my bank card has expired!!! noooooooooo oh well have to wait a few days

25-05-2010, 17:32:39

suenstar
Excellent review there.

Had my pair for about two months now and can't say I've ever been so happy with a headset. These things are much higher quality than my Sennheiser PC-350 headset. The sound quality is miles apart, even more amazing considering they costed about 70% of the PC-350 cost at the time.

The only draw back for me is that I find the ear cups to feel a little warm on the ear on extended use (7+ hour sessions)... but those sessions aren't a frequent thing for me.

26-05-2010, 12:01:11

AMDFTW
are these the same? these say Kave Solid?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Roccat-Kave-Gaming-Headset

26-05-2010, 14:14:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
are these the same? these say Kave Solid?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Roccat-Kave-Gaming-Headset
Headband is solid fella. Cans are the same, band isnt. look rank if you ask me.

26-05-2010, 15:14:33

VonBlade
Dunno what you're seeing there Tom. Those are the exact ones we had to review.

26-05-2010, 16:06:12

AMDFTW
thats what i thought the band padding looks split on both but one says solid and one does not

26-05-2010, 16:32:43

VonBlade
The Scan pics are just shown with the band in the retracted position. If you're not sure compare the product code to the Roccat code. They're identical.

26-05-2010, 17:20:25

Steve-O-
They look pretty legit. Too bad I bought a headset recently. Not to say I'm not happy with them though.

26-05-2010, 17:55:39

steve30x
I need a good surround headset because I just moved house and my computer is in my bedroom (the only place where I have room for it) which is right next to my neighbours bedroom. Being a considerate neighbour I dont want to be a nuisance so this headset looks like what I am looking for.

Three things I need to know though. (1) How do they compare sound wise to the Logitech G35? (2) How comfortable would they be for glasses wearers (I have to wear glasses) for a few hours? I have Technics headset (Brilliant sound BTW) and after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt because the earpads press against my ears. (3) where can I order this headset from Ireland?

27-05-2010, 06:07:38

suenstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
I need a good surround headset because I just moved house and my computer is in my bedroom (the only place where I have room for it) which is right next to my neighbours bedroom. Being a considerate neighbour I dont want to be a nuisance so this headset looks like what I am looking for.

Three things I need to know though.

(1) How do they compare sound wise to the Logitech G35?
Personally I find the sound quality to be a fair degree higher in the Kave headset. Though I would say that it mainly due to the jacks being plugged into a high quality soundcard, rather than the USB emulated sound that the G35 uses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
(2) How comfortable would they be for glasses wearers (I have to wear glasses) for a few hours? I have Technics headset (Brilliant sound BTW) and after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt because the earpads press against my ears.
Just sat with mine on with some sunglasses for an hour to test this out.

I really couldn't feel any pressure on the glasses from the headset, it sits quite lightly over the ears so you don't really get much of a problem with extra pressure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
(3) where can I order this headset from Ireland?
I'm not sure of any specific shops in Ireland as I live in the UK, but online shops like ebuyer, overclockers and scan ship to Ireland (I believe it costs a bit more than normal though).

27-05-2010, 06:17:31

steve30x
Thank you for the reply. I found the headset on a website that I think delivers to Ireland. I tried looking at ebuyer but I couldnt find the proper website> I will have a look on overclockers though. I forgot about that website. I dont mind the extra charge for delivery.

27-05-2010, 08:45:48

VonBlade
Just to continue the glasses thing. As befits a proper hardware nerd, I wear glasses and have done for years.

So all my comfort tests are done "with glasses on".

29-06-2010, 15:29:42

Junglerog
I just got got this headset and apparently I have difficulties to get volume control and mute button to work with Crosshair IV motherboard and its on board sound card. Any1 with noticed same problem by chance? Any solutions?

Apparently its a problem with windows 7... any1 had same sort of troubles?

Nvm, system reinstall solved everything.

Well I just tested it on my wife's netbook with XP on it and everything seems to work well. I tried to reinstall my X-fi drivers, searched solutions on line and I cannot find anything. I can mute/unmute microphone, the equalizer works, just volume control and mute button doesn't. Any help highly appreciated.

30-06-2010, 03:37:03

steve30x
So you posted four times instead of updating your first post with updates?

01-07-2010, 03:52:31

Junglerog
And what's wrong with that? With this retarded system I need 15 posts to even get access to my personal info even though i 've been registered here for about 6 months. 11 posts in 6 months doesn't really make me a spammer does it? By the way, 4 posts to go.

01-07-2010, 10:15:42

AMDFTW
its not a retarded system fella it just stops spammers,being registerd for however long does not make a difference it is the post count.

you will get there soon

26-01-2011, 12:22:39

INMATE183
Justgot a set of kave's. AWSOME so happy with them

26-01-2011, 14:09:19

Brooksie
Please don't bump threads that are over 3 months old.

Thanks.

Although, I have a pair of Kaves myself and they are indeed lovely.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.