Roccat Kave 5.1 Headset Review

Introduction

Roccat Kave 5.1   Headset Review

Introduction

Headsets are a very difficult thing to buy. Unlike many other items of hardware they live in that special place reserved for those things that you really have to try to appreciate. Keyboards, Mice and monitors also really need to be used to get a true feel for them.

Unfortunately try-before-you-buy doesn't really apply to computer hardware. There certainly isn't a test drive option where you can sit in your local hardware emporium and play until you're bored before buying.

That's where Overclock3D comes in. Thanks to our policy of testing everything long and hard and only being honest, we're here to take that brow-furrowing away from you.

Recently we reviewed all four parts of the Roccat SDMS, and found them to be high quality products, well designed and well priced. This was after we'd reviewed their Kone mouse and found it also to be fantastic.

Roccat seem to be on something of a roll lately when it comes to high quality peripherals. Taking a look around their website you can see that they have a very holistic design principle with everything nicely matching. The Kave 5.1 Headset is no exception, following the charcoal grey/electric blue theme we're used to seeing.

Roccat Kave 5.1 Surround Headset

Popping along to the Roccat website and grabbing the technical specifications :

CENTER/FRONT/REAR DRIVER UNITS

Frequency response: 20~20,000Hz
Max. SPL at 1KHz: 114±3dB
Max. input power: 100mW (30mW)
Drive diameter front: 40mm
Drive diameter rear:
40mm


VIBRATION DRIVER UNITS

Frequency response: 20~100Hz ()
Max. input power: 1000mW
Drive diameter: 30mm


MICROPHONE

Frequency response: 20~18,000Hz
Sensitivity at 1KHz: -36dB
Impedance:
2.2KOhm +15%
Directivity: omni-directional
Diameter: 4x1.5mm


SYSTEM

Connection: 4 X 3.5mm jack plug
Input impedance: 10KOhm  
Cable length: 3,4m total (2,0m Remote > PC)
Between ear cups and remote 140cm
Between remote and splitter 180cm
Between splitter and PC 20cm


Time to get a closer look at the Roccat Kave. Follow us to page two dear readers.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-05-2010, 06:00:05

tinytomlogan
We've liked a lot of Roccat stuff recently, how does their surround sound headset, the Kave, fair?

Continue Reading

25-05-2010, 07:11:36

AMDFTW
nive review,they seem nice

25-05-2010, 07:42:58

WelshD1K
Just went to order one but my bank card has expired!!! noooooooooo oh well have to wait a few days

25-05-2010, 17:32:39

suenstar
Excellent review there.

Had my pair for about two months now and can't say I've ever been so happy with a headset. These things are much higher quality than my Sennheiser PC-350 headset. The sound quality is miles apart, even more amazing considering they costed about 70% of the PC-350 cost at the time.

The only draw back for me is that I find the ear cups to feel a little warm on the ear on extended use (7+ hour sessions)... but those sessions aren't a frequent thing for me.

26-05-2010, 12:01:11

AMDFTW
are these the same? these say Kave Solid?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Roccat-Kave-Gaming-Headset

26-05-2010, 14:14:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
are these the same? these say Kave Solid?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Roccat-Kave-Gaming-Headset
Headband is solid fella. Cans are the same, band isnt. look rank if you ask me.

26-05-2010, 15:14:33

VonBlade
Dunno what you're seeing there Tom. Those are the exact ones we had to review.

26-05-2010, 16:06:12

AMDFTW
thats what i thought the band padding looks split on both but one says solid and one does not

26-05-2010, 16:32:43

VonBlade
The Scan pics are just shown with the band in the retracted position. If you're not sure compare the product code to the Roccat code. They're identical.

26-05-2010, 17:20:25

Steve-O-
They look pretty legit. Too bad I bought a headset recently. Not to say I'm not happy with them though.

26-05-2010, 17:55:39

steve30x
I need a good surround headset because I just moved house and my computer is in my bedroom (the only place where I have room for it) which is right next to my neighbours bedroom. Being a considerate neighbour I dont want to be a nuisance so this headset looks like what I am looking for.

Three things I need to know though. (1) How do they compare sound wise to the Logitech G35? (2) How comfortable would they be for glasses wearers (I have to wear glasses) for a few hours? I have Technics headset (Brilliant sound BTW) and after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt because the earpads press against my ears. (3) where can I order this headset from Ireland?

27-05-2010, 06:07:38

suenstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
I need a good surround headset because I just moved house and my computer is in my bedroom (the only place where I have room for it) which is right next to my neighbours bedroom. Being a considerate neighbour I dont want to be a nuisance so this headset looks like what I am looking for.

Three things I need to know though.

(1) How do they compare sound wise to the Logitech G35?
Personally I find the sound quality to be a fair degree higher in the Kave headset. Though I would say that it mainly due to the jacks being plugged into a high quality soundcard, rather than the USB emulated sound that the G35 uses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
(2) How comfortable would they be for glasses wearers (I have to wear glasses) for a few hours? I have Technics headset (Brilliant sound BTW) and after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt because the earpads press against my ears.
Just sat with mine on with some sunglasses for an hour to test this out.

I really couldn't feel any pressure on the glasses from the headset, it sits quite lightly over the ears so you don't really get much of a problem with extra pressure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steve30x'
(3) where can I order this headset from Ireland?
I'm not sure of any specific shops in Ireland as I live in the UK, but online shops like ebuyer, overclockers and scan ship to Ireland (I believe it costs a bit more than normal though).

27-05-2010, 06:17:31

steve30x
Thank you for the reply. I found the headset on a website that I think delivers to Ireland. I tried looking at ebuyer but I couldnt find the proper website> I will have a look on overclockers though. I forgot about that website. I dont mind the extra charge for delivery.

27-05-2010, 08:45:48

VonBlade
Just to continue the glasses thing. As befits a proper hardware nerd, I wear glasses and have done for years.

So all my comfort tests are done "with glasses on".

29-06-2010, 15:29:42

Junglerog
I just got got this headset and apparently I have difficulties to get volume control and mute button to work with Crosshair IV motherboard and its on board sound card. Any1 with noticed same problem by chance? Any solutions?

Apparently its a problem with windows 7... any1 had same sort of troubles?

Nvm, system reinstall solved everything.

Well I just tested it on my wife's netbook with XP on it and everything seems to work well. I tried to reinstall my X-fi drivers, searched solutions on line and I cannot find anything. I can mute/unmute microphone, the equalizer works, just volume control and mute button doesn't. Any help highly appreciated.

30-06-2010, 03:37:03

steve30x
So you posted four times instead of updating your first post with updates?

01-07-2010, 03:52:31

Junglerog
And what's wrong with that? With this retarded system I need 15 posts to even get access to my personal info even though i 've been registered here for about 6 months. 11 posts in 6 months doesn't really make me a spammer does it? By the way, 4 posts to go.

01-07-2010, 10:15:42

AMDFTW
its not a retarded system fella it just stops spammers,being registerd for however long does not make a difference it is the post count.

you will get there soon

26-01-2011, 12:22:39

INMATE183
Justgot a set of kave's. AWSOME so happy with them

26-01-2011, 14:09:19

Brooksie
Please don't bump threads that are over 3 months old.

Thanks.

Although, I have a pair of Kaves myself and they are indeed lovely.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.