Razer Tiamat 7.1 Gaming Headset Review

Conclusion

Razer Tiamat 7.1 Gaming Headset Review

Conclusion

Getting the surround effect right in the small amount of real estate available in a pair of headphones is a difficult task. After all, surround relies heavily on the space between the speakers to be at its best. When the speakers are almost overlapped in an ear-piece then that space is compressed dramatically.

Even with this potential limitations, the Razer Tiamat has the best sound quality of any genuine surround headset we've reviewed here at OC3D. We will start with the Bass, which is tight and thumping. Whether you have the general low frequencies of your MP3 of choice, or the chest pounding thud of a .50 cal gun, the Tiamat delivers taut bass at all times. However, bass is easy to do, although not always with this clarity. The important thing the Tiamat gets right is that the bass isn't overwhelming the rest of the audio spectrum. Both the midrange and the highs are excellent too. There is a real sense of definition throughout the range.

So the general sound is great, what about the surround effect?

It's fantastic. There is a superb sense of space and, most importantly, it's very easy to pinpoint the direction the sound is coming from, which helps you kill your foes, avoid your friends and enjoy the full-spectrum of sound in your favourite film. Of course when all hell is kicking off around you then the clarity of the audio is just as important as when things are quieter, but you really notice the directional audio in those quiet moments. Sneaking around is made much easier when you can hear a pin drop and define where it is.

Finally, it's extremely comfortable to wear for long periods. The heavily padded cups and headband distribute the weight very nicely, with no part of the Tiamat pressing upon your head.

As with all things there are a couple of elements that detract slightly. As one effects the other we'll start with price. It's a whopping £160. That's a lot of money in anyone's book, and given the excellent sound available from headsets costing comprehensively more, then it's very difficult to recommend the Tiamat from a value for money standpoint. This is emphasised by the sheer amount of plastic. We know that most headsets are plastic, it's sturdy, cheap and light. But with the big audio mixer, dual headbands and sheer size of the Tiamat in general you find plastic everywhere and never feel, sound quality aside, that you're in possession of something at such a premium price.

So if you can look past the price, forget that it's heavy on the plastic, the Tiamat provides the finest surround experience you can currently buy, and for that reason we're happy to award it our OC3D Performance Award, such is the quality of the audio.

      

Thanks to Razer for supplying the Tiamat 7.1 for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-01-2013, 08:41:22

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the latest headset from Razer, a genuine 7.1 model, the Tiamat.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...093713723l.JPG


Continue Reading

04-01-2013, 08:48:17

dragoonk
Hello!
7.1 as in surround headsets. I'm curious to see what you think about this knowing you don't like surround... ( neither do i ).

04-01-2013, 08:51:45

tinytomlogan
VB has done this review fella, hes a much bigger gamer than I am.

04-01-2013, 08:55:09

dragoonk
Ahh, ofcourse.
The link wasn't there before...
Thanks!

04-01-2013, 09:11:31

PingPangBV
Would like to add that the quality of the microphone wasn't really looked upon. In the first "Up close" VB mentioned that the microphone seemed incredibly cheap for the pirce of the headset, but really no testing and opinions on the sound quality the microphone delivers.

Just want to say that I own one of these and I'd just like to add that the microphone not only looks cheap, it performs like a cheap microphone too as the sound revieved is unclear and it sounds like I'm standing far away from it.

I also noticed when I plug in the USB-power cable in one of the USB ports in my computer that there can be heard a little buzzing sound even though I'm not playing any audio. To get rid of the buzzing sound I had to buy a wallsocket-USB thingy (hopefully you know what I mean) which was slightly annoying.

But everything regaring audio quality and esthetics I couldn't agree more. The audio clarity the headset delivers is stunning, the surround is perfect as I can pinpoint everything around me and the headset really looks amazing.

04-01-2013, 09:38:34

dragoonk
I don't think I would pay that much money for a gaming headset. With that money I can get a decent surround sound system or two speakers, oor... I can build my own sound system ( which will make it more interesting, fun and satisfying ).
At the same time I do think a headset like this will be beneficial in gaming where sound plays an important strategical role.
I don't understand why they didn't use a decent mike on that thing. It looks horrible.
I don't dispute the quality of the audio or the sweat that the engineers that racked their brains to make this as good as possible have put into this project, it's
still a crapload of money ( for me atleast ).

04-01-2013, 10:50:20

Pleiades
Maybe at half the price...

05-01-2013, 03:53:51

PsyTech
Good review. Had them in my hands, but that's pretty much it. Still prefer good ol' stereo (my GameCom 380 rocks).

05-01-2013, 12:25:27

TerrorBytes
Tom, I have to say I always like the critical thinking you put into your reviews. This would seem to be an awesome product for the audiophile. I would like to have a listen myself, before going out and spending that much on a set. The 7.1 feature might make it all worth it in the end.

06-01-2013, 15:06:08

Gameaholic
I'm interested in this headset but can't decide on a 7.1 soundcard to go with them. Thinking of the HT | OMEGA Claro Halo w/XT or the Asus Xonar Pheobus.

08-01-2013, 06:36:53

XANADV
When I built my rig last summer I considered getting these to complement my sound card, but was unsure of how the smaller drivers in this headset would impact sound quality and clarity. I used Turtle Beach headsets before and while the surround was nice the sound lacked that umph; it sounded weak next to stereo (at least to me). I ultimately ended up getting Astro A40 because the quality of the drivers and the mic were tried and proven and they ended up being more comfortable to use for long periods of time than my PX5. Not as good sounding as audiophile headphones granted but acceptable for gaming. I would like to see how the Tiamat compares to other popular gaming headsets (both surround and stereo) in terms of mic quality, driver quality and comfort

08-01-2013, 07:11:03

Noz_God
Gameaholic i use the tiamat's with a Xonar D2X and they sound awsome

08-01-2013, 09:54:05

PingPangBV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gameaholic View Post
I'm interested in this headset but can't decide on a 7.1 soundcard to go with them. Thinking of the HT | OMEGA Claro Halo w/XT or the Asus Xonar Pheobus.
I use the Tiamat 7.1 with an Asus Xonar Phoebus and it's awesome for gaming (by that I mean BF3 and CS:GO).

09-01-2013, 12:59:35

garih
for headphones what is wrong with stereo. this video is a very good example.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUDTlvagjJA

02-02-2013, 15:24:10

Deadtroopers
PingPangBV, dragoonk. My stereo Sennheisers were a similar price and similrly plastc. Good quality plastic but plasticall the same. The microphone, can people hear what you are saying?. That is all I would want from a mike. They get the important thing right, there ain't nought wrong with the listening! Sure you you can get three of that and half a dozen of the other for the price, but I live in a flat. I have had to force out two douches wtth no regard for their neighbours and I like my music loud. I have to pay good money for a decent headphone exsperience. The buzzing being picked up is a probably a ground/shielding problem, and as likely down to the sockets in your case as anything else. Once it has been superimposed on the waveform the drivers are getting, there might not be a lot to be done about it. You could include a notch filter in the headphones, but that would equally take out audio at those frequencies as well. Is it all the ports? Is it intermittent? If you are using a front port for convenience, I wouldn't be surprised if the cable isn't shielded at all. As I said my stereo Sennheisers were a similar price and you agree this very good kit where it counts. How much would ironing out the little niggles bump up the price? This isn't negative criticism for either of you. I have an eliectrical engineering background and have suffered a lot from noise pollution.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.