Razer Barracuda HP-1 Gaming Headphones

Conclusion

Conclusion

So where does this leave us? Well as a product, the Barracuda's are built to last. They are extremely durable, strong and above all comfortable. The 5.1 surround sound does work well, but is no substitute for proper surround sound speakers. However for headphones, they are the best surround sound units that I've used. When listening to music or watching DVD's they perform well and their in game performance brings depth and a spacial atmosphere that stereo headphones cannot match.

However the lack of bass was the only real thing that I found disappointing and no matter what I tweaked, I could not get that balance right. This certainly seems to be a problem for surround sound headphones as a whole, as it is very hard for their reduced size subwoofer speakers to match the performance of a good set of stereo headphones. Perhaps using the HP-1's along side the Razer AC-1 soundcard would have produced more favorable results, as no doubt the AC-1 card is tweaked to get the most out of the HP-1 headphones. But as it stands, the Barracuda's lack the all-round frequency response that I have become accustomed to with a good quality pair of stereo headphones, and being somewhat of an "old school" gamer, I think I'll be sticking with my stereo headset for the time being.

The Razer Barracuda HP-1 headphones are available from Komplett for a rather eye watering £89 (20/06/07). This is significantly higher than most other 5.1 headsets on the market at present, but then Razer products always do tend to be at the higher end of the price scale due to research and quality that goes into their products.

Komplett


Pros
• Very comfortable
• Good clarity and depth
• Detachable microphone

Cons
• Poor bass.
• Very expensive compared to competitors.
• Too many options to tweak the sound balance.


Recommended Award


Thanks to Komplett for providing the Razer Barracuda's for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2007, 15:21:12

JN
"Today we put Razer's Barracuda HP-1 headphones in the hands of our very own professional gamer - Chris "Ins" Buer. Read on to find out if they improved his game or just left him open to attacks from the rear!"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...192104169s.jpg

Linkage

21-06-2007, 15:37:12

Ham
Oww @ the price...

If they were cheaper perhaps.

Good job Insy

21-06-2007, 16:03:47

FarFarAway
Agreed if they were cheaper I would plump for a pair

21-06-2007, 17:08:52

PinGu^
Ive used these before, Really impressed with them. Look flimsy.. but are perfect for lans

My speedlink medusa does me fine tho

21-06-2007, 17:13:58

mrapoc
Who had them dan?

21-06-2007, 17:59:29

PinGu^
The ginger troll (deathwishes brother)

21-06-2007, 18:09:52

mrapoc
ahhh lol

21-06-2007, 23:20:16

PV5150
I have a pair and they are an awesome addition, although they are extremely dear.

22-06-2007, 06:05:52

prosser13
Look nice

I don't see how he hasn't heard of Rocketboy though, seeing as theres an Abit Rocketboy motherboard

22-06-2007, 06:06:10

!TIMMY!
good review ins, they do look good, and the xtreme gamer can give them that extra bass; but the price U can get medusa's for 35 these days.

23-06-2007, 15:38:54

Thanh55
Look at the price, dear me. I need one for my i31 coming up but too expensive. Any similar but do not get to high price. I think 50 max.

24-06-2007, 09:38:21

PinGu^
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Thanh55'
Look at the price, dear me. I need one for my i31 coming up but too expensive. Any similar but do not get to high price. I think 50 max.
Get a speedlink Medusa. I know alot of people in this forum has one. Very good for gaming, music + dvds

24-06-2007, 09:39:36

Ham
Or the Zalman Theater 6. Theyre good.

25-06-2007, 03:50:07

old.gregg
My son's stopped using his Barracudas 'cos too many people were saying that they couldn't hear him very well - the mic does seem to be positioned too far away from your mouth.

Personally, using them for Skype, I got very good results.

For the price, the build quality is shockingly poor.

And a bit tight for my fat head.

He bought some Steelsound phones to replace them. They don't impress me too much - you can hear everything going on around you, no audio encapsulation at all.

25-06-2007, 11:49:03

[Ins]
I still maintain that for competitive gaming and overall clarity in sound, you can't beat a decent pair of Sennheisers!

The PC166's that I purchased recently are extremely good indeed!

25-06-2007, 13:21:13

AmBush
I Got Sennheiser PC150 & PC160 i've been happy with Both apart from the inline On/Off switch which on my PC150 i have had to tape in the on position,

The PC 160 is going now The Barracuda inline switch looks very robust.

16-02-2010, 02:39:40

stupidregistration
Very poor quality construction.

Wiring is subject to faults due to very bad soldering.

Padding degrades and falls apart in first week of use.

16-02-2010, 04:50:25

Youngie1337
Who is this professional gamer?.

Anything from Razer is a God send.

18-01-2013, 23:53:37

Stoogie
i baught these on the first day they came out, with the soundcard, i used them for about 30 mins, the screw snapped in half out of 1 of the cup hinges and the entire cup fell off, threw it in the bin directly afterwards cause it was unusable
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.