Razer Barracuda HP-1 Gaming Headphones

Appearance

Appearance

My first impressions were how big the headphones looked. I currently use a set of Sennheiser PC150 stereo headphones and in comparison, the Barracuda's dwarfed them. However this is to be expected as the Barracuda's are packing four speakers per earpiece!

Razer Barracuda HP-1 Razer Barracuda HP-1 Side

Upon holding the Barracuda's, you realise how study and solid they feel, excellent for transporting around if you're into LAN gaming! My feelings were that the headphones were very robust and would withstand a lot of punishment if required. The foam ear pieces were exceptionally comfortable and the covering over the earpiece felt quite thin, hopefully aiding clarity.

Razer Barracuda HP-1 Warning Razer Barracuda HP-1 DVI

Razer Barracuda HP-1 DVI Adapter Razer Barracuda HP-1 Connector

Connecting to the Barracuda's is a fairly large plastic block that contains a three way button to turn the amplifier on or off (with or without the glow light), a master volume control and separate volume controls for bass, centre, front and rear speakers. Personally, I found this a little "clunky" and although it is great to be able to tweak the sound balance, I would have prefered to have a pre-set option enabled so that I did not have to "fiddle" around with the sound levels. Additionally, the volume wheels did not click into place, but instead slid into position. This I found a little difficult to get on with purely because it was easy to knock the one of the volume settings after spending too much time getting the balance just right. However I appreciate that gamers might want to change these settings in game and therefore this is in-line with Razers "On The Fly" approach to their gaming hardware.

You're also greeted by a number of wires and a DVI looking connector, which is in fact Razers own HD-DAI connector. Thankfully a bright orange label warns you not to connect it to your "video graphics card". The HD-DAI connector plugs straight into Razer's own soundcard which I've no doubt would give impressive sound quality when combined together. However, do not fear, you can connect the Barracuda's into a normal 5.1 soundcard by using the supplied adaptor.

Razer Barracuda HP-1 Ear Razer Barracuda HP-1 Headband

Not only did the Barracuda's feel good to hold, but the comfort in wearing them was also impressive. They fashion a very effective elastic headband which moulds to your head removing the need for constant adjustment! Even when moving my head about quickly I could not get them to fall off or slip, something you don't want to happen if you're in the middle of a gun fight!!

Razer Barracuda HP-1 Microphone Razer Barracuda HP-1 Microphone

I particularly liked the detatchable microphone and the fact that it was fairly small and un-obtrusive. However, being detachable and small does beg the question of how easy would it be to lose?

Overall, the fit and finish of the Barracuda's was very impressive proving them to be a quality product!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2007, 15:21:12

JN
"Today we put Razer's Barracuda HP-1 headphones in the hands of our very own professional gamer - Chris "Ins" Buer. Read on to find out if they improved his game or just left him open to attacks from the rear!"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...192104169s.jpg

Linkage

21-06-2007, 15:37:12

Ham
Oww @ the price...

If they were cheaper perhaps.

Good job Insy

21-06-2007, 16:03:47

FarFarAway
Agreed if they were cheaper I would plump for a pair

21-06-2007, 17:08:52

PinGu^
Ive used these before, Really impressed with them. Look flimsy.. but are perfect for lans

My speedlink medusa does me fine tho

21-06-2007, 17:13:58

mrapoc
Who had them dan?

21-06-2007, 17:59:29

PinGu^
The ginger troll (deathwishes brother)

21-06-2007, 18:09:52

mrapoc
ahhh lol

21-06-2007, 23:20:16

PV5150
I have a pair and they are an awesome addition, although they are extremely dear.

22-06-2007, 06:05:52

prosser13
Look nice

I don't see how he hasn't heard of Rocketboy though, seeing as theres an Abit Rocketboy motherboard

22-06-2007, 06:06:10

!TIMMY!
good review ins, they do look good, and the xtreme gamer can give them that extra bass; but the price U can get medusa's for 35 these days.

23-06-2007, 15:38:54

Thanh55
Look at the price, dear me. I need one for my i31 coming up but too expensive. Any similar but do not get to high price. I think 50 max.

24-06-2007, 09:38:21

PinGu^
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Thanh55'
Look at the price, dear me. I need one for my i31 coming up but too expensive. Any similar but do not get to high price. I think 50 max.
Get a speedlink Medusa. I know alot of people in this forum has one. Very good for gaming, music + dvds

24-06-2007, 09:39:36

Ham
Or the Zalman Theater 6. Theyre good.

25-06-2007, 03:50:07

old.gregg
My son's stopped using his Barracudas 'cos too many people were saying that they couldn't hear him very well - the mic does seem to be positioned too far away from your mouth.

Personally, using them for Skype, I got very good results.

For the price, the build quality is shockingly poor.

And a bit tight for my fat head.

He bought some Steelsound phones to replace them. They don't impress me too much - you can hear everything going on around you, no audio encapsulation at all.

25-06-2007, 11:49:03

[Ins]
I still maintain that for competitive gaming and overall clarity in sound, you can't beat a decent pair of Sennheisers!

The PC166's that I purchased recently are extremely good indeed!

25-06-2007, 13:21:13

AmBush
I Got Sennheiser PC150 & PC160 i've been happy with Both apart from the inline On/Off switch which on my PC150 i have had to tape in the on position,

The PC 160 is going now The Barracuda inline switch looks very robust.

16-02-2010, 02:39:40

stupidregistration
Very poor quality construction.

Wiring is subject to faults due to very bad soldering.

Padding degrades and falls apart in first week of use.

16-02-2010, 04:50:25

Youngie1337
Who is this professional gamer?.

Anything from Razer is a God send.

18-01-2013, 23:53:37

Stoogie
i baught these on the first day they came out, with the soundcard, i used them for about 30 mins, the screw snapped in half out of 1 of the cup hinges and the entire cup fell off, threw it in the bin directly afterwards cause it was unusable
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.