Qpad QH-90 Headset Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Qpad QH-90 Headset Review

Introduction

The Swedish company Qpad are probably a new name to most of us here. As their company name would attest they began producing mousepads at first. Now, twenty years later, they have a good range of peripherals all designed for the pro-gaming community.

Today we're going to be taking a look at their premium headset model, the QH-90. Available in both white and black it's actually taking a different slant than the majority of headsets we've come across. Rather than being all about thumping bass, the tagline for the QH-90 is "Brings HiFi to the game". This should give you a nice indication of what we can expect from the Qpad QH-90.

With a very tight marketplace dominated by the SteelSeries Siberia at the mid-range and the Corsair Vengeance Wireless at the higher-end, is the quality of the QH-90 sufficient to challenge the well established brands in the market?

Technical Specifications

The first thing that strikes you when looking at the specifications for the Qpad QH-90 is the size of the drivers. Most headsets run 40mm drivers, so to see 53mm ones definitely shows the determination to have good audio quality across the whole of the audio spectrum. Utilising 3.5mm jacks means that the QH-90 should be compatible with almost anything you care to plug it into.

Headphone
Transducer type: Dynamic 53mm
Operating principle: Closed
Frequency response: 15Hz-25KHz
Nominal impedance: 60 Ω per system
Nominal SPL: 98±3dB
T.H.D: < 2%
Power handling capacity: 150mW
Sound coupling to the ear: Circumaural
Ambient noise attenuation: approx.20 dBA
Headband pressure: 5 N
Weight with microphone and cable: 350g
Cable length and type:  1m + 2m extension + 10cm iphone
Connection: Mini stereo jack plug(3.5mm)

Microphone
Transducer type: Condenser (back electret)
Operating principle: Pressure gradient
Polar Pattern: Cardioid
Power supply: AB powering
Supply voltage: 2V
Current consumption: Max 0.5 mA
Nominal impedance: ≤2.2 kΩ ± 30%
Open circuit voltage at f = 1 kHz 20 mV / Pa
Frequency response: 100 - 12,000 Hz
T.H.D: 2% at f = 1 kHz
Max. SPL: 105dB SPL (THD ≤ 1.0% at 1KHz)
Microphone output: -39±3dB
Dimensions: 6*5mm
Length mic boom: 150mm(include gooseneck)
Capsule diameter: Ø6mm

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-04-2013, 07:21:35

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest premium headset from Qpad, designed for the discerning audiophile.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...103354859l.JPG

Continue Reading

18-04-2013, 08:47:26

Excalabur50
I think they look really lush, I wonder do they sit over the ears or on them as I can't wear headphones that sit on my ears.

18-04-2013, 09:20:07

F-alienware
Yeah I have to agree the quality looks top notch.

Nice product and thanks for the review chaps

18-04-2013, 13:39:54

Sendo
Excalabur, i have a pair of these and for me they sit over my ears not on them. So unless you have big ears i don't think it should be a problem.

18-04-2013, 19:17:28

Excalabur50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sendo View Post
Excalabur, i have a pair of these and for me they sit over my ears not on them. So unless you have big ears i don't think it should be a problem.
Awesome thanks for that it seems so hard to get ones that go over rather than on, now to see if I can get them here in Aus.

22-04-2013, 10:58:13

ISAWELVIS
Those really look like Beyerdynamics

08-06-2013, 12:37:47

JibletJames
If cost wasn't an issue then given the choice of these or the Corsair Vengeance 2000 7.1 wireless which one would you choose?

Kinda torn between both and I'm in the market now....wireless is a bonus but I've always been wired until now and it's the sound quality that I'm most interested in.

Would be great if Bryan could comment as he's reviewed both

08-06-2013, 12:42:23

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by JibletJames View Post
If cost wasn't an issue then given the choice of these or the Corsair Vengeance 2000 7.1 wireless which one would you choose?

Kinda torn between both and I'm in the market now....wireless is a bonus but I've always been wired until now and it's the sound quality that I'm most interested in.

Would be great if Bryan could comment as he's reviewed both
If cost wasn't an issue - get proper headphones and a soundcard.

09-06-2013, 05:21:31

JibletJames
Apologies - what I was referring to is that the Corsair review commented heavily on the high price and I wanted to get an idea of how they compare if you ignore the price (wish I had an unlimited budget, but unfortunately not).

Having said that, if there's something better around this price point that is worth considering then I'm all ears

09-06-2013, 06:33:11

jamesriley94
For 70, not really.

I'd probably recommend looking into a soundcard anyway if you were to get these.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.