QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review

Up Close continued

QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review

Up Close

The combination of a closed back design and large, softly padded ear pieces ensure little audio leakage to the outside world but, much more importantly, it ensures the outside world doesn't intrude into ours.

QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review     QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review  

The ear cups are removable should you need to clean them, and give us an look at the level of detail in the design. The holes not only allow for easy drying but also allow some sound to come through, rather than risk blocking it and muffling it.

Connectivity is amply catered for. As well as the regular two 3.5mm connections for soundcards and portable devices, the QH-1339 come complete with a 1/4 adaptor for home stereo equipment, once again showing the beyerdynamic design input. 

QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review     QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review  

As well as the analogue jacks, the QH-1339 comes with a USB adaptor for those without a suitable sound card in their system. Despite being plastic it's extremely well built, with the mute and volume buttons giving a reassuring click when used.

QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review     QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-01-2014, 07:41:49

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...114508682l.JPG

QPAD have teamed up with the professional audio specialists beyerdynamic to bring studio quality audio to the gaming world.


Continue Reading

16-01-2014, 07:59:53

barnsley
hnnng I can taste the quality from here.
Not too keen on the price but it really is the cream of the crop.

16-01-2014, 08:35:01

SuB
Oh wow, someone finally did it. Didn't think it'd be QPad in all honesty, but that's pretty awesome.

Personally I'd say the price isn't bad if these actually sound half decent.

16-01-2014, 08:48:31

SieB
I wonder how they compare against the beyerdynamic 880s though, price wise they are around the same but you do get the mic with the QH-1339.

16-01-2014, 10:49:01

Coolant
I have the MMX 300 which is effectively the same product. I got it from a sale quite a while ago.

What I can say is that currently the microphone connection has started wearing out a bit. Also, once when I opened it, the plastic side broke into two halves. I could manage to get it back there, it's in two pieces alright but they fit together when the screws are there.

The plastic used in the MMX 300 at least isn't exactly the best. I've seen the same kind of plastic on cheaper lightning accessories; by the time you're going to change the bulb, the plastic has hardened so much that you can't really get it out without breaking it. The clips on the side are plastic, and very_frail. If you need to temporarily remove the headband and the cups, be careful with the screws.

The sound quality decent, the microphone quality isn't amazing but it is far better than some Zalman clip-on or other such alternatives.

When it's all said and done, I'd probably go for some Sennheiser alternative or get DT770 / DT990 from Beyerdynamics themselves and combine it with an Antlion Modmic. The headphones which the MMX300 and QH-1339 effective are, are a pair of DT770 32Ohm limited edition headphones. They're very easy to drive.

16-01-2014, 11:13:38

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolant View Post
The headphones which the MMX300 and QH-1339 effective are, are a pair of DT770 32Ohm limited edition headphones. They're very easy to drive.
Might as well get the DT880s if these are only the DT770s. You can get the DT880s and a mod mic for the same price as these. Or get the DT770s and a mod mic for 150, same thing but 80 cheaper :\

16-01-2014, 11:58:11

Coolant
The limited edition isn't available for such pennies. It usually adds something like 50€ to the standard edition of DT770 Pro to get them.

I'd probably get a DT770 or DT990 instead, especially considering what happened with the MMX300's in the long run. I'd need to open it up somehow and get it resoldered, it's just the connection on the microphone that's on the loose.

The plastic clip broke when I had to open the headset, as well as taking all the hair out etc. after ~3 years of use, and the plastic broke. I opened both of the screws holding the thing, but I went all the way with the other one after they were a bit loose. I wisened up for the other one (evenly loosening both screws) but such things aren't really expected to be found on a premium product.

Wonder why they can't use any kind of rubberized design or whatnot on it. The new MMX300 version has a bit different headband design to it but the clips are still made out of plastic if I see it right.

The standard price on this and the MMX300 is not worth even remotely what they're asking for. The headset is great, the mic is okay for what it is, but even at the sale prices you're paying extra for convenience. With a modmic you're nearly there as far as comfort goes, and the issue with this thing that the mic cannot be detached, and all fancy things such as volume control are on the USB "sound card" instead.

The main issue with Zalman Clip-on mics (aside from the fact that the quality is carbage) was that it loosely clipped on the headphone wire, modmic with it's magnets will stay there. the fact that you'd use two wires is a matter off a little bit of tape, a wire mod or just letting them stay there like that.

I just couldn't get a modmic at the time, only had a halfway-decent soundcard with an amplifier so these things being easy to drive was a good bonus.

They're good headsets don't get me wrong, but I cannot point them out as "flawless". I've been accused for using a WH for quite a few times when it comes to CS:GO.

Usually when you pay for convenience features, you can think of muting the microphone with PC360's or the options in Logitech headsets coming with the USB connection. These headphones are plain and simple; they don't have any kind of muting system on them. They expect you to use the USB soundcard (which has nothing but volume and mic mute) instead of offering features like the mic mute that the PC360 has.

16-01-2014, 13:06:52

Lystfiskern
Thanks for the review but may I ask why these are reviewed now?
Arent these and the collaboration with Beyerdynamic datet all the way back to spring 2009?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.