QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

QPAD QH-1339 Pro Gaming Headset Review

Introduction

We've reviewed some QPAD headsets before but today is something special. 

Rather than replicate the endless parade of identikit headsets that are designed for gamers, at a certain price point, and all fairly hard to distinguish from one another, QPAD have teamed up with beyerdynamics to produce the most high-end headset we've encountered.

beyerdynamic, for those unfamiliar with them, are a company that specialises in audio solutions for a range of professional applications. Their expertise is in fidelity and so the QPAD QH-1339 has the potential to redefine what we can expect in a headset. Indeed it's probably fairer to say that this is a pair of headphones with a microphone attached rather than a pure headset, but before we get down to the nitty gritty, let's give the two companies from this partnership a moment to share their views  :

"We at QPAD feel privileged and excited that we have been given the opportunity of teaming up with one of the world’s absolute leading developers of professional headphones as beyerdynamic truly is,” says Thomas Gallus Jensen, Sales Director of QPAD. And he adds: "We are confident that the QH-1339 headset will be at the top of every gamers’ wish list, as it is nothing but first class in every aspect. This is also why we dare to give out a 5-year warranty on it”.

“We at beyerdynamic are looking forward to this long-term strategic partnership with QPAD” says Bastian Ziebart, Product Manager at beyerdynamic, adding: “QPAD possesses a vast knowledge in gaming just as we do in electro acoustics. This combination makes this an ideal partnership, which we are all very happy about, and there no doubt will be more exciting gaming products coming out of our partnership in the future.”

Technical Specifications

Regular readers will be familiar with the 20/20 system that nearly all headsets employ. From the first to the last, nearly every PC Gaming headset has a response of 20Hz to 20kHz. The influence of beyerdynamics is instantly felt in the 5Hz to 30kHz response of the QH-1339. A vastly superior offering that should give plenty of headroom for the audio to 'breathe'.

Headphone

 Transducer type Dynamic
 Operating principle Closed
 Frequency response 5 - 30,000 Hz
 Nominal impedance 32 Ω per system
 Nominal SPL 96 dB
 T.H.D < 0.2%
 Power handling capacity 100 mW
 Sound coupling to the ear Circumaural
 Ambient noise attenuation approx. 18 dBA
 Headband pressure 3.5 N
 Weight 380 g
 Cable length 2.5 m
 Connection Mini stereo jack plug (3.5 mm)

 

Microphone

 Transducer type Condenser
 Operating principle Pressure gradient
 Polar Pattern Cardioid
 Power supply AB powering
 Supply voltage 1.5 - 9 V
 Nominal impedance approx. 1.5 kΩ
 Open circuit voltage at f = 1 kHz 20 mV / Pa
 Frequency response 30 - 18,000 Hz
 Max. SPL 120 dB
 T.H.D 0.2% at f = 1 kHz
 Length mic boom approx. 150 mm
 Capsule diameter 13 mm
 Connection Mini stereo jack plug (3.5 mm)
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-01-2014, 07:41:49

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...114508682l.JPG

QPAD have teamed up with the professional audio specialists beyerdynamic to bring studio quality audio to the gaming world.


Continue Reading

16-01-2014, 07:59:53

barnsley
hnnng I can taste the quality from here.
Not too keen on the price but it really is the cream of the crop.

16-01-2014, 08:35:01

SuB
Oh wow, someone finally did it. Didn't think it'd be QPad in all honesty, but that's pretty awesome.

Personally I'd say the price isn't bad if these actually sound half decent.

16-01-2014, 08:48:31

SieB
I wonder how they compare against the beyerdynamic 880s though, price wise they are around the same but you do get the mic with the QH-1339.

16-01-2014, 10:49:01

Coolant
I have the MMX 300 which is effectively the same product. I got it from a sale quite a while ago.

What I can say is that currently the microphone connection has started wearing out a bit. Also, once when I opened it, the plastic side broke into two halves. I could manage to get it back there, it's in two pieces alright but they fit together when the screws are there.

The plastic used in the MMX 300 at least isn't exactly the best. I've seen the same kind of plastic on cheaper lightning accessories; by the time you're going to change the bulb, the plastic has hardened so much that you can't really get it out without breaking it. The clips on the side are plastic, and very_frail. If you need to temporarily remove the headband and the cups, be careful with the screws.

The sound quality decent, the microphone quality isn't amazing but it is far better than some Zalman clip-on or other such alternatives.

When it's all said and done, I'd probably go for some Sennheiser alternative or get DT770 / DT990 from Beyerdynamics themselves and combine it with an Antlion Modmic. The headphones which the MMX300 and QH-1339 effective are, are a pair of DT770 32Ohm limited edition headphones. They're very easy to drive.

16-01-2014, 11:13:38

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolant View Post
The headphones which the MMX300 and QH-1339 effective are, are a pair of DT770 32Ohm limited edition headphones. They're very easy to drive.
Might as well get the DT880s if these are only the DT770s. You can get the DT880s and a mod mic for the same price as these. Or get the DT770s and a mod mic for 150, same thing but 80 cheaper :\

16-01-2014, 11:58:11

Coolant
The limited edition isn't available for such pennies. It usually adds something like 50€ to the standard edition of DT770 Pro to get them.

I'd probably get a DT770 or DT990 instead, especially considering what happened with the MMX300's in the long run. I'd need to open it up somehow and get it resoldered, it's just the connection on the microphone that's on the loose.

The plastic clip broke when I had to open the headset, as well as taking all the hair out etc. after ~3 years of use, and the plastic broke. I opened both of the screws holding the thing, but I went all the way with the other one after they were a bit loose. I wisened up for the other one (evenly loosening both screws) but such things aren't really expected to be found on a premium product.

Wonder why they can't use any kind of rubberized design or whatnot on it. The new MMX300 version has a bit different headband design to it but the clips are still made out of plastic if I see it right.

The standard price on this and the MMX300 is not worth even remotely what they're asking for. The headset is great, the mic is okay for what it is, but even at the sale prices you're paying extra for convenience. With a modmic you're nearly there as far as comfort goes, and the issue with this thing that the mic cannot be detached, and all fancy things such as volume control are on the USB "sound card" instead.

The main issue with Zalman Clip-on mics (aside from the fact that the quality is carbage) was that it loosely clipped on the headphone wire, modmic with it's magnets will stay there. the fact that you'd use two wires is a matter off a little bit of tape, a wire mod or just letting them stay there like that.

I just couldn't get a modmic at the time, only had a halfway-decent soundcard with an amplifier so these things being easy to drive was a good bonus.

They're good headsets don't get me wrong, but I cannot point them out as "flawless". I've been accused for using a WH for quite a few times when it comes to CS:GO.

Usually when you pay for convenience features, you can think of muting the microphone with PC360's or the options in Logitech headsets coming with the USB connection. These headphones are plain and simple; they don't have any kind of muting system on them. They expect you to use the USB soundcard (which has nothing but volume and mic mute) instead of offering features like the mic mute that the PC360 has.

16-01-2014, 13:06:52

Lystfiskern
Thanks for the review but may I ask why these are reviewed now?
Arent these and the collaboration with Beyerdynamic datet all the way back to spring 2009?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.