Microlab Solo 7C Review

2.0 > 2.1? Microlab Solo 7C Review

Microlab Solo 7C Review  


Introduction

So Microlab, not a name that makes you instantly think of a speaker manufacturer is it... Don't worry we didn't think so either, and we would have to admit that they were not even on our radar for asking for review samples either. That was until we heard them at Gadget Show Live... We had stopped by a stand to say hi to some 'industry friends' and they 7C's were on display but also at that moment hammering out some tunes too. It took us all of 60 seconds to decide we had to have a set to test and the rest as they say is history! So lets crack on and take a look at the specifications so you know the basics before we start the Video Review.

Specifications

Amplifier specs
Output power100, Watt RMS
Power distribution50х2, Watt
Harmonic distortion0,3, % (1Watt, 1kHz)
Frequency response55-20 000, Hz
Signal/Noise ratio85, dB
Separation55, dB
Speakers specs
Tweeter driver type1,
Bass driver type6,5,
MaterialMDF
Colordark wood
Remote control1
Interfaces
Outputterminals
Input2RCA
Auxilliary2RCA
Dimensions
Satellites210 x 270 x 361, mm
Product Net weight13,70, kg




Video Review




Conclusion

So much is the trend to add increasingly more speakers or crazy software to imitate having a room full of speakers that it has started to ruin what speakers should really be about. Music. Good clear, quality unmessed with music. Any music aficionado knows there is only one real way to enjoy it and that's in Stereo, start adding any effects and surround to it and you just ruin it. With an old set of Z5500's we used to have in the office they were set to stereo X2 and all the Gucci effects were just set to off.

Enough of the stories but that's why we like the 7C's, its back to basics, 2 simple units one with the amplifier built in, 110w RMS total and both units have 2 massive 6.5" drivers for the mid and bass tones and a 1" cone tweeter to take care of the highs. You may think without a dedicated sub they would seem underpowered but you couldn't be more wrong. The bass is immense, like so crazy we even dialed the bass DOWN when testing them watching films because they were shaking the whole room!

Having 2 speakers that take care of everything keeps everything simple, makes cabling easy and also making them look right in your room easy too. The one thing we can get used to is quite how much these things pummel you with audio, the size of the drivers really does make a HUGE difference. Compared to the SP2500's we are used to there just seems to be so much more sound be thrown at you even if the volume levels are the same. Its a difficult thing to try and explain but take our word for it size does make a huge difference!

Something we have noticed is that you really don't want to be too close to these speakers, you either need to be sat back from them or have the set up away from you. So if you have them set up beside your TV you wont be sat right on top of them so it should be fine, but for PC use having them at the edge of your monitor really wont work. You'd need to get them moved a good 8' to 10' away preferably at the edge of your room. Might sound like a PITA but once set up correctly oh boy will you hear the difference, the bass will become deeper and the highs so much more balanced. Try it out... You'll soon see!

So to recap, for anyone with a HTPC set up in their front room or someone that see's music and films as the main use for their PC these speakers are perfect for you. Couple them up with a decent sound card and you are on to a winner. Looking around the shops these are ONLY £110 too so almost half the price of other quality PC audio set ups which makes them an absolute bargain in our eyes and easily worth the OC3D Gold Award, but also a complimentary "you cant have them back they now live in our front room" Award!!! That last bit should tell you everything you really needed to know. Yes they are that good!

   

We would like to thank Microlab for the speakers on test here today, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-05-2012, 06:21:50

tinytomlogan


Time to go back to basics to show why you dont always need a 7.1 THX Dolby this super that speaker set up to enjoy some quality audio!

Continue Reading

18-05-2012, 06:42:08

MerryMustu
Review was tops mate!

18-05-2012, 07:01:32

seumasbeathan
Nice review

18-05-2012, 07:03:02

Excalabur50
Great review as always and they seem like some epic speakers

18-05-2012, 08:49:34

doubleton
Very nice!

18-05-2012, 09:57:14

SieB
These seem like good speakers but I love my surround sound too much and I would never go back to using a two speaker set up.

Surround sound adds even more depth, especially for gaming where the sound is dynamic, anyone who has had a decent surround sound set up would never say you aren't missing out with two speakers. Trust me, you are

18-05-2012, 10:02:26

Josh Weston
7.2 is where it's at.

For annoying the neighbours, at least.

18-05-2012, 10:22:15

HighlanderHD
Links to Jpeg for me

18-05-2012, 10:29:31

Fez
Link is now fixed guys I just spotted it

18-05-2012, 10:53:59

marsey99
slight mistake in intro, "...and they 7C's ..." taking the context into account i think it should be their or these.

i have always said that you want pc manuf to make the pc bits and once its out the pc case you want audio manuf to make your sound system.

these are pretty basic looking speakers which make sound, what more do you want/need?

only issue i have with them is size, they are too big for a desk imo but not enough to fill the living room where 5.1 is wanted.

18-05-2012, 11:35:36

tinytomlogan
They fill a room fine mate LOL

They are pride of place beside my white Samsung

18-05-2012, 13:25:05

gs941
now you have me seriously concidering these... -.-

all i can say is thank god you arent a salesman who come knocking on my door!!

18-05-2012, 13:41:48

mwilson603
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

i have always said that you want pc manuf to make the pc bits and once its out the pc case you want audio manuf to make your sound system.
And as these were designed and developed by Peter Larsen, the world famous Danish acoustics engineer, I guess that these qualify as a real sound system

regards

Mark

18-05-2012, 16:28:48

Brother
Hi,

Just wanted to say, I have the smaller brother to the 7C, the 6C and I can tell that this are the best speakers for that little money. You can buy the Corsair, they are nice PC speakers but if you want real sound you need something like these.

18-05-2012, 20:02:44

Ghosthud1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

These seem like good speakers but I love my surround sound too much and I would never go back to using a two speaker set up.

Surround sound adds even more depth, especially for gaming where the sound is dynamic, anyone who has had a decent surround sound set up would never say you aren't missing out with two speakers. Trust me, you are
The only difference is direction. sound dynamics and quality are still strong with stereo set-ups.

Gaming sound has always been provided by my headset whilst my music/video is provided by my Alesis M1 Mk2's which will never be replaced as they cost an arm and a leg.

Nice little review though tom, seems you don't have to spend all that much for great audio

18-05-2012, 20:38:32

deadchris
This reminds me of QVC,for some reason...

19-05-2012, 01:27:57

Big WigglyStyle
TTL you know what would look nicer beside your white samsung, a pair of white Audio Engine A5+'s

19-05-2012, 05:40:47

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

They fill a room fine mate LOL

They are pride of place beside my white Samsung
Pics or it didn't happen...

19-05-2012, 05:42:52

Big WigglyStyle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Pics or it didn't happen...
get on facebook he has a pic

19-05-2012, 05:57:34

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthud1 View Post

The only difference is direction. sound dynamics and quality are still strong with stereo set-ups.
Yeah, sound quality is still there but the dynamics aren't quite right as the sound travels left to right or right to left with a two speaker set up.

With surround sound you hear things how you would hear them in real life, like if a car drives past you, you hear it from behind and then from the front as it passes you. With two speakers that's done as going from the left speaker to the right, with surround it's from the rear speakers to the front ones. It's also good for FPS games where you can hear all the explosions and gun fire coming from all around you instead of just in front of you.

Two speaker set ups are good and if that is what you are after something like these speakers would be great, but a surround sound set up is much better than any two speaker set up, in my opinion anyway. Having the sound coming from all directions is much more Immersive.

19-05-2012, 06:37:15

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lys0l View Post

get on facebook he has a pic
Can't find it...

19-05-2012, 08:10:17

jamdox
Yeah, 2.0 systems are awesome. I actually grabbed a pair of old Sansui speakers for $40, and a receiver with SPDIF for $60, and the end result is really nice. These speakers have a very flat response and a full range. The woofers are about 12", but because they aren't ported the sound is not overpowering at all. The only downside is that by the time Sansui was producing these they had started to skimp on the cabinet materials, so I can pick up some annoying harmonics sometimes. But overall they're great. Plus SPDIF means my digital streams go straight into the DAC in the reciever and out to the speakers.

23-06-2012, 10:37:29

yannakm
Would like to get a set to go with my TV. Where can I order it from Canada?

10-07-2012, 23:02:51

robthaknob
I've just ordered a set in Australia for $220 I have the solo 5c units i can tell you at full volume on these they turn around the opposite way with the 7cs in my bedroom the seller recommends I put masking tape on my window as they may blow it out. Well see when I get them tomorrow I'll let you know how it goes.

12-07-2012, 23:32:30

robthaknob
Yeh got mine all good they do sound nice to me as far to say almost as good as my marantz system in loung room so far I'm a happy chappy.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.