Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review

Conclusion

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review

Conclusion

Rather than tease you with some hints towards which way we're leaning here, let's cut to the chase. The Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset is, barring two small things, fantastic. We've tested a lot of headsets, and without fail we always returned to the Roccat Kave as our 'daily driver'. The Vengeance 2000 blows them away.

Despite being an all plastic build, they're surprisingly robust. In the same way that the plastics you get with an Aston Martin are a league ahead of those in a Hyundai, so the Vengeance 2000 oozes quality. The biggest benefit is how this also keeps the weight down which allows you to wear them until the battery runs out without feeling like you've got an anvil strapped to your head. The headband is soft, the ear pieces are even softer, and it sits perfectly on your ears. Not so tight than you feel like you have accidentally brought a vice, but not so loose that your audio spills out and loses definition.

Speaking of the audio it's really good. If you like heavy bass, you'll be delighted. If you like sheer 'but these go up to eleven' volume then Corsair have you covered. But if you just want crystal clear sound throughout the audio spectrum then you'll be in heaven. Even with a flat EQ selected the Vengeance 2000 replicates everything we could throw at it with alarming clarity. The presets are well selected too, veering away from the tendency towards only having a Metallica-esque scooped style that is so popular with some other presets. The microphone is clear too, neatly focussing upon your voice rather than the hums and whirs surrounding you, without having the Peter Piper Sells Seashells problem that can occur with other mics.

It's not only the audio quality that is a delight, but the actual wireless part works phenomenally well. Corsair make a big play about how the Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset doesn't just randomly cycle between wireless frequencies, but instead takes a note of those currently in use and avoids them entirely, so you never have to put up with even minor breaks in your signal. We can't verify that this will work flawlessly in every possible scenario, but even with dozens of wireless devices near to our testing area, we never once lost signal or heard something we weren't meant to. Astounding.

Of course there are a couple of tiny gripes. The first is the battery life which, at a robust 10 hours, is good enough to allow for overnight charging similar to our smartphones. It still went flat on us a couple of times, but you get a warning that it will do so allowing you to plug the charging cable in and carry on playing. The other little niggle is the price, at around £110 these are at the higher end of the spectrum, but the quality of the whole item makes it a worthy price to pay, so it's only a tiny problem for those a bit tighter in the financial department.

In all the Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset is excellent and we really cannot rate it highly enough. The audio reproduction is first rate, and the wireless element is done as well as we've ever seen it. A Gold Award winner.

     

Thanks to Corsair for the Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2012, 06:37:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...165907254l.JPG

Following their successful move into the peripheral marketplace with their Vengeance keyboards and mice, we take a look at the Vengeance 2000 headset.


Continue Reading

02-07-2012, 06:51:10

Josh Weston
Looks like this have been added to my list of things to buy in the future.
Good work, Mr Waters

02-07-2012, 07:12:41

madness777
Want want want want!

02-07-2012, 07:50:11

DwarfAdigginAhole
Does Corsair make anything less than absolute Gold? Gotta love that Company!

02-07-2012, 09:32:57

Murphyslaw
Sounds like a good piece of kit.
Might need to look at getting a set.

02-07-2012, 14:39:38

alicarve
good review

02-07-2012, 14:43:05

Lollipop
I have a pair, and they got some decent sound. They're too expensive for the sound quality they offer, but the battery time is long and the reception is very good. I only bought them because i could get a 70% discount.

02-07-2012, 16:20:39

arnzzz
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhozt View Post
I have a pair, and they got some decent sound. They're too expensive for the sound quality they offer, but the battery time is long and the reception is very good. I only bought them because i could get a 70% discount.
70% discount is awesome, i dont think anyone could turn down any new corsair product with such a discount

I love wireless but have always noticed better sound quality through wired products. But wireless defo has its place.

02-07-2012, 16:45:49

Lollipop
Honestly i think i am becoming a Corsair Fanboi....

04-07-2012, 05:04:14

Damien c
While these look nice and the review would suggest they are very good, I still can't get the bad taste out of my mouth that the Corsair HS1's left.

I will stick to my Creative Fatality headset's.

05-07-2012, 18:10:11

Brutos
I never seem to be able to buy into the gaming headset gimmick i usually by proper headphones and use secondary mic if needed..

05-07-2012, 18:21:24

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brutos View Post
I never seem to be able to buy into the gaming headset gimmick i usually by proper headphones and use secondary mic if needed..

It's easier for somebody who doesn't know jack about sound/brands etc. to just buy a gaming headset with good reviews.

05-07-2012, 19:43:46

CPMFW
nice review bryan

06-07-2012, 02:28:35

Saltire35
Bit too expensive for me but knowing Corsair they'll be worth every penny.

Will need to stick with my SteelSeries Siberia v2's for now

06-07-2012, 07:19:48

Brutos
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhozt View Post
It's easier for somebody who doesn't know jack about sound/brands etc. to just buy a gaming headset with good reviews.
I didnt know much about headphone just read up on them ...just like reading this review anyone can read up on quality headphones..a lot of good resource out there

06-07-2012, 07:30:38

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
Bit too expensive for me but knowing Corsair they'll be worth every penny.

Will need to stick with my SteelSeries Siberia v2's for now

They are MUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCH better than the Siberia V2.

07-07-2012, 14:38:32

Eru
I have a pair as well but there is problem I have experienced that isn't mentioned here. So long as you remain in the same room with them the reception is fine. Put a wall between the receiver and the headset and you might as well have left them in your desk chair.

These are my first pair of wireless headphones so maybe that is standard but when they are advertised as having a 40 yard range I expected to be able to walk around my house listening to a podcast playing on my computer cause I know of no mansion that has a 40 yard long room XP

Despite that it's nothing I can't live with. Corsair is on a roll with their products. Keep up the great work and I'm gonna keep buying.

07-07-2012, 15:08:00

Josh Weston
It's 40 yards of unrestricted range. Put a good ol'wall in the way, and the reception shall of course degrade.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.