Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review

Up Close and Software

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review

Up Close

The packaging on the other Vengeance products is crisp and clean, and the 2000 Headset keeps up this trend. All the information you can desire, with no frippery or extraneous details. Excellent. The Headset itself is well protected, with non-tacky plastic strips covering the areas likely to rub against the packaging in transit, ensuring it arrives in mint condition. 

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review     Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review  

Despite being a headset and therefore simple enough to use, the documentation is detailed and easy to follow. The Wireless auto-syncs, without any bizarre order needing to be followed. Just plug in, turn on, play. We have three cables in the box, a lengthy USB extension for the wireless receiver, should you have your tower below the desk or similar, a mini-USB charging cable, and the wireless receiver itself. This comes complete with a delicate blue LED to let you know all is working as it should be.

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review     Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review  

The first thing you notice is the lightness. Despite being a fullsize setup, heavy use of plastics has kept the weight to a minimum. But don't think that plastic means a creaky build-quality. Everything feels very solidly put together, with nice soft ear cups and a lot of adjustability, helping the Vengeance 2000 sit nicely on your head without pushing into the sides and making long usage uncomfortable.

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review     Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review  

All the controls you need are on the left earpiece. A simple power button dominates, with a blue LED to let you know it's on, or off. Below that is a very high quality volume roller, which reminds us exactly of the excellent volume control on the Vengeance keyboards.

The software is a small download, and whilst not vital has a few nice features. The one we like a lot is the bypass button. So often companies apply spatial effects which work perfectly in gaming but make it sound like Joey Ramone is singing in a cathedral when you move to your music. Otherwise there are the standard selection of volume and EQ options, as well as three options for how spacious you like your echo to be.

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review     Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2012, 06:37:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...165907254l.JPG

Following their successful move into the peripheral marketplace with their Vengeance keyboards and mice, we take a look at the Vengeance 2000 headset.


Continue Reading

02-07-2012, 06:51:10

Josh Weston
Looks like this have been added to my list of things to buy in the future.
Good work, Mr Waters

02-07-2012, 07:12:41

madness777
Want want want want!

02-07-2012, 07:50:11

DwarfAdigginAhole
Does Corsair make anything less than absolute Gold? Gotta love that Company!

02-07-2012, 09:32:57

Murphyslaw
Sounds like a good piece of kit.
Might need to look at getting a set.

02-07-2012, 14:39:38

alicarve
good review

02-07-2012, 14:43:05

Lollipop
I have a pair, and they got some decent sound. They're too expensive for the sound quality they offer, but the battery time is long and the reception is very good. I only bought them because i could get a 70% discount.

02-07-2012, 16:20:39

arnzzz
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhozt View Post
I have a pair, and they got some decent sound. They're too expensive for the sound quality they offer, but the battery time is long and the reception is very good. I only bought them because i could get a 70% discount.
70% discount is awesome, i dont think anyone could turn down any new corsair product with such a discount

I love wireless but have always noticed better sound quality through wired products. But wireless defo has its place.

02-07-2012, 16:45:49

Lollipop
Honestly i think i am becoming a Corsair Fanboi....

04-07-2012, 05:04:14

Damien c
While these look nice and the review would suggest they are very good, I still can't get the bad taste out of my mouth that the Corsair HS1's left.

I will stick to my Creative Fatality headset's.

05-07-2012, 18:10:11

Brutos
I never seem to be able to buy into the gaming headset gimmick i usually by proper headphones and use secondary mic if needed..

05-07-2012, 18:21:24

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brutos View Post
I never seem to be able to buy into the gaming headset gimmick i usually by proper headphones and use secondary mic if needed..

It's easier for somebody who doesn't know jack about sound/brands etc. to just buy a gaming headset with good reviews.

05-07-2012, 19:43:46

CPMFW
nice review bryan

06-07-2012, 02:28:35

Saltire35
Bit too expensive for me but knowing Corsair they'll be worth every penny.

Will need to stick with my SteelSeries Siberia v2's for now

06-07-2012, 07:19:48

Brutos
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhozt View Post
It's easier for somebody who doesn't know jack about sound/brands etc. to just buy a gaming headset with good reviews.
I didnt know much about headphone just read up on them ...just like reading this review anyone can read up on quality headphones..a lot of good resource out there

06-07-2012, 07:30:38

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
Bit too expensive for me but knowing Corsair they'll be worth every penny.

Will need to stick with my SteelSeries Siberia v2's for now

They are MUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCH better than the Siberia V2.

07-07-2012, 14:38:32

Eru
I have a pair as well but there is problem I have experienced that isn't mentioned here. So long as you remain in the same room with them the reception is fine. Put a wall between the receiver and the headset and you might as well have left them in your desk chair.

These are my first pair of wireless headphones so maybe that is standard but when they are advertised as having a 40 yard range I expected to be able to walk around my house listening to a podcast playing on my computer cause I know of no mansion that has a 40 yard long room XP

Despite that it's nothing I can't live with. Corsair is on a roll with their products. Keep up the great work and I'm gonna keep buying.

07-07-2012, 15:08:00

Josh Weston
It's 40 yards of unrestricted range. Put a good ol'wall in the way, and the reception shall of course degrade.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.