Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review

Up Close

Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review

Up Close

The SP2200 come packed in a very sturdy box that will keep your purchase in prime condition. The Sub box has the speaker facing into the middle, to help ensure that even the most ham-fisted delivery attempt wont damage them. It's the little thing that we always love. Documentation is fairly sparse, but speakers don't require a huge amount of information and the connectivity guide on the front of the manual is clear and handily placed.

Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review     Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review  

As well as the 3.5mm jack and DIN cable hard-wired to the right hand satellite, there are a few other cables to assist in connecting the SP2200 to a variety of sources. Hopefully your version will come with a UK plug or at least an adaptor, something ours didn't. 

As is often the case the subwoofer has the cable attachments and the SP2200, whilst not replete with them, at least has enough for the majority of cases.

Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review     Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review  

The subwoofer itself absolute dominates the box. There is no doubt that this will be able to rattle your fillings. The piano black port is a nice touch too.

Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review     Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review  

The satellites come in a separate box within the main package, and the right hand one has the main controls. On/off, volume and bass, as well as an AUX port and a headphone one should you require them.

Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review     Corsair SP2200 2.1 Speaker Review

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-09-2011, 04:03:20

tinytomlogan
We take a look at the Corsair SP2200's are they as good as their big brother?



Continue Reading

12-09-2011, 05:04:06

SieB
I could do with some new speakers and was half tempted by these until I read about the bass, I like to have the perfect balance between mids and bass but too much of either does my ears in.

12-09-2011, 06:56:14

Ya93sin
They look good, but personally I reckon it would be worth spending the extra for the 2500 edition.

For now, I'm still rocking some Cambridge Audio SBS52's

12-09-2011, 07:02:17

Solidarity
I'll just stick with my headphones for now. They have a good mix of bass and the rest of the sound.

12-09-2011, 09:39:25

AMDFTW
i thought these were quite good i was gna get a set

12-09-2011, 21:20:24

CocaCola
I have a set of these, and I totally agree with Bryan on this. Anything above 10 - 11 o'clock is too much bass. I think the best is probably within the 8 - 10 o'clock depending on the audio source you're listening to. The sound quality is still really good, although the midrange is being produced by the bass. If you turn up the bass too much it will get overpowered and the sound becomes really muddy.

I tested it without a sound card, connected to a PC, and then directly to a media player. It will definitely be enough for a small room, and especially enough if you're going to use it for general home theatre use. Turning the dial over 12 o'clock max would definitely be a big NO. While watching movies and music, I couldn't hear any distortion at max volumes; if there is, it's really minimal.

For the price, I think it's actually a good purchase for those who want to replace existing 2.1 systems or upgrade from an inexpensive 2.0 speaker set.

13-09-2011, 16:02:18

cerbrus2
4 years ago a brought a set of JBL spots from pc world ex-display ones. cost me 22. and they still sell them now for 80. I was going to get the phillips AMBX setup. But i heard most games arnt compatible with them anyway. I am just to scared to pay out for a set of speakers if they are not going to provide me with anysound better than the JBL spots. without spending an absolute fortune. I guess if they arnt broke dont replace them lol.

24-09-2011, 03:53:48

Ravious
Nice review and nice speakers

24-09-2011, 07:35:48

V1Viper
Nice review mate
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.