Corsair H100i Review

Corsair H100i Review

Corsair H100i Review  

Introduction

The famous H100 finally gets a revamp, the thing is can that little 'i' really mean a lot when we start talking intensive testing? The original H100 did perform really well even though it was noisy compared with the big brand heat sinks, as we found out though with Noctua NF-F12's or more recently SP120 Quiet Editions it was a completely different animal and could be tuned to be a great performing plus a very quiet unit. So with everything changed apart from the radiator how does the H100i really fare when put through the torture of the OC3D heat sink tests, lets take a look at the specifications before moving on to the testing.

 

Corsair H100i Review  

Package contents

  • Corsair Hydro Series H100i High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
  • Magnetic Multi-platform mounting kit for all modern CPU sockets
  • Dual SP120L High Performance Fans
  • USB Cable for Corsair Link™ Compatibility
  • Fan and radiator mounting screws
  • Thermal compound (pre-applied)
  • Quick Start Guide


Technical Specifications


  • Radiator dimensions: 120mm x 275mm x 27mm
  • Fan dimensions: 120mm x 120mm x 25mm
  • Fan speed: 2700 RPM
  • Fan airflow: 77 CFM
  • Fan dBA: 37.68 dBA
  • Fan static pressure: 4mm/H20


Compatibility


  • Intel™ LGA 1155, 1156, 1366, and 2011
  • AMD™ sockets FM1, FM2, AM2, and AM3
  • Hydro Series H100i requires a case with dual 120mm fan mounts with 15mm spacing for a 240mm radiator



Normally this would be where we would start showing your graphs but shockingly even though this has a full video review we have had to break the pages up! 

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-11-2012, 05:42:22

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...033002976l.png

Everyone has been shouting about the new Corsair H100i review for a little while, so finally we give it a full OC3D style going over.


Continue Reading

24-11-2012, 05:55:36

rossi94
Very well done, thank you for taking the time to test so thoroughly.

24-11-2012, 08:20:08

JMMP
I take the words of rossi94! A very well made and precise test!

24-11-2012, 09:49:04

MacLeod
Yeah I knew if I went ahead and bought a H100 that the 100i's would be great. Oh well I got it for a good price.

I don't understand why it worked that way on the 1366 system. Maybe that proc is just so wore out that doesn't spread the best out evenly or something.

24-11-2012, 10:12:20

Ru5ty_t00l
great review , I believe u've covered everything thoroughly

better looks , wider tubing , controlled by software, better performance and no rattling => much of improvement.
gj corsair

24-11-2012, 10:44:27

hmmblah
I love that Specialtech has a TTL bundle.

The H100/H100i are literally the only AIO coolers I would consider recommending or using myself.

24-11-2012, 12:04:27

Bang
Most excellent review Guv. The longer they are the better they are. This reduces the chance you might leave out a minor, but potentially important, detail. I just wish I could find a shop in Australia that has these babies in stock I now wish to skip the H100 and go straight to the H100i. I might have to order it from Corsair and pay the extra $40 for shipping. Oh well, Ive got about a month to decide.

24-11-2012, 12:21:52

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bang View Post
Most excellent review Guv. The longer they are the better they are. This reduces the chance you might leave out a minor, but potentially important, detail. I just wish I could find a shop in Australia that has these babies in stock I now wish to skip the H100 and go straight to the H100i. I might have to order it from Corsair and pay the extra $40 for shipping. Oh well, Ive got about a month to decide.
Well if you ask your fav PC e-tailer they might be able to get one for you.

24-11-2012, 14:40:03

SPS
Great review Tom. The effort gone into all that testing was exceptional.

Epic screen cap:

http://i.imgur.com/z0abD.png

24-11-2012, 14:58:27

CPMFW
thats a proper review... thanks for your effort tom
very informative... im gonna get one for my new build
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Great review Tom. The effort gone into all that testing was exceptional.

Epic screen cap:

http://i.imgur.com/z0abD.png
lovely picture

24-11-2012, 15:16:32

Dagrem
Thank you very much for the review. Loved the gamers impression you did Feel lucky that I have not bought my H100 that I was playing to buy next month, but will be getting the H100i. Cheers

24-11-2012, 16:36:14

Rolokid
Can you talk a little about the usability without the software? For example, if I was using this in a hackintosh rig, is there any way to control fan speed? What is the default speed if not?

24-11-2012, 18:31:43

CPMFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolokid View Post
Can you talk a little about the usability without the software? For example, if I was using this in a hackintosh rig, is there any way to control fan speed? What is the default speed if not?
just use fan speed reducers or a fan controller

24-11-2012, 21:31:34

Excalabur50
Another great review as always and once again no questions need to be asked as you have covered everything.

26-11-2012, 06:59:52

Ulijin
Hi TTL, another great review.

I'm a little concerned though, I have a H100 and had to use the diode fix to rid myself of the rattling pump. Does this mean that my Corsair AX850 is pumping our more than 12.3 Volts for sure?

26-11-2012, 07:01:11

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulijin View Post
Hi TTL, another great review.

I'm a little concerned though, I have a H100 and had to use the diode fix to rid myself of the rattling pump. Does this mean that my Corsair AX850 is pumping our more than 12.3 Volts for sure?
Yes, I had the same problem. Ironic how the H100 isn't even compatible with their own PSU's.

26-11-2012, 14:34:48

weirdGuy
Really interesting review!

Had my H100i for a week now, running it pushpull with 2 of the Corsair Performance fans. Set the stock fans to 0 RPM in Corsair Link but they run at a quiet 500RPM, can't hear any audible difference between 4 fans & 2 like this.

27-11-2012, 18:34:48

evilmunky
are the fans in the specialtech link able to be controlled by the h100i controller?

27-11-2012, 21:04:53

CPMFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmunky View Post
are the fans in the specialtech link able to be controlled by the h100i controller?
yes they can be controlled by the link software

28-11-2012, 05:36:41

evilmunky
Thanks - I will take your word for it - and as I am very close to colchester, I will come see you if I can't get it to work

28-11-2012, 06:46:52

Ross_Kirkbright
Great review tom thanks made my mind up for me keep up the great vids too

28-11-2012, 13:33:59

Bang
I just did a search for H100i images on Google because I wanted to see if anyone had one in the Dokker case.

This is what it came up with. http://www.google.com.au/imgres?star...,r:42,s:0,i:93

sorry about the incredibly long link... but that shot is too bloody lol

11-12-2012, 14:52:58

Cody_h4x
Looking to buy this unit, great review!

11-12-2012, 16:54:07

Shffl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bang View Post
I just did a search for H100i images on Google because I wanted to see if anyone had one in the Dokker case.

This is what it came up with. http://www.google.com.au/imgres?star...,r:42,s:0,i:93

sorry about the incredibly long link... but that shot is too bloody lol
Sold!

12-12-2012, 08:05:36

Anthrax27
Is it worth buying this over a Noctua NH-U12P SE2 ?

12-12-2012, 08:18:50

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthrax27 View Post
Is it worth buying this over a Noctua NH-U12P SE2 ?
Its much better than that but also twice the price....

12-12-2012, 10:13:02

Anthrax27
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Its much better than that but also twice the price....
Ohh thats cool thanks
But I just realised it wont fit in my Nzxt tempest evo grr.

13-12-2012, 12:00:28

rmetro
Excellent review, was on the fence about buying one or not for my rig. But that very thorough review sold me over.

14-12-2012, 17:11:54

loonie
Again a nice complete revieuw, but I prefer costum wc over this

15-12-2012, 19:29:35

HackAttackx10
Is it possible that the 1366 did not cool better due to the surface area on the 1366 vs the 2011? I mean we would need to know what the block inside the h100i looks like, but if the cooling fins aren't directly over the center of the block, that may be what makes the 2011 socket cooler in this account.

19-12-2012, 07:14:30

mchief190
I love that new fan design.

28-12-2012, 15:23:19

TAWN
Really don't know if i should play it safe and get one or try a proper water cooling sys...

30-12-2012, 18:32:40

MacLeod
A "real" water cooling loop will perform a little better but itll be a lot more work. If you think youd enjoy that though then it would be a lot of fun. I personally dont think I would enjoy the work and maintenance that comes with one so these closed loop coolers are right up my ally.

31-12-2012, 08:28:15

Writer's Block
Great review.

After watching a number of them over the last month or so, I must say you guys are the best.

Informative, accurate, detailed and honest.

15-01-2013, 14:13:52

x18z
I have a cougar evolution case, with a CM hyper 212 plus cooling my 3570k.... i feel i am being bottle-necked by said air cooler, and the H100i seems like my best choice as far as a stand alone water cooler goes.

ONE PROBLEM: i cannot for the life of me seem to find any reviews of the cougar evolution case that verifies it will fit a top-mounted 240mm radiator, so my question is simple....

Will it??
thanks

15-01-2013, 14:31:19

airdeano
from all the pix ive seen, i doubt it. the fans look to be "centered" creating an
issue with most motherboards MOSFET/RAM heatsinks. also, couldn't tell it the
bolt-centers of the fans are 15mm apart.
measure from the roof, to the first top motherboard standoff. if it 55mm+ your
half-way there. if you have tall RAM heatsinks or a top mounted MOSFET heatsink
would be the only other issue to look into.

http://img802.imageshack.us/img802/6...diwasusmax.jpg

this works out because the radiator/fan mounts closer to the right panel than the
motherboard side. and this is also using push/pull SP120PE fans which shows
monster room.
if you dont have 55mm measure or better from the top of motherboard stand off
and the roof.. it wont fit with rad and two fans..
hope this helps.

17-01-2013, 20:00:15

Dorkstar
I really like the look the H100i, but the numbers the thermaltake 2.0 extreme have been putting up, tells me not to.

29-01-2013, 10:39:27

leejc73
I've just got my H100i.
I wouldn't quite give it the same award as Tom for the following reasons.
Firstly the Radiator arrived unscathed in the packing with bent cooling fins. Ah well I thought speak to corsair RMA and get it sorted out.
Thought I would assemble it anyway just to get a feel for the unit and.............the fan screws are too long, it's not a gnats chuff too long it's like 2 or 3mm too long, the only saving grace is that it only crushes the fins it appears rather than cutting into the core, but come on...................how hard is it to get stuff like this correct?

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...ps4cf06104.jpg
http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...ps753d2962.jpg
http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...ps9cc57668.jpg

I've not over torqued the screws, I've not even nipped them up against the fan body and as you can see the screw is already cutting into the fins of the rad. This is following the published instructions as well.

Is this acceptable?

29-01-2013, 10:43:04

Recon-UK
My H100 came the same way, with a few dents in the fan array, but doubtful of it making any different to performance, plus fans will cover it up.


I like my H100, but performance could be better.

29-01-2013, 10:48:00

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by leejc73 View Post
I've just got my H100i.
I wouldn't quite give it the same award as Tom for the following reasons.
Firstly the Radiator arrived unscathed in the packing with bent cooling fins. Ah well I thought speak to corsair RMA and get it sorted out.
Thought I would assemble it anyway just to get a feel for the unit and.............the fan screws are too long, it's not a gnats chuff too long it's like 2 or 3mm too long, the only saving grace is that it only crushes the fins it appears rather than cutting into the core, but come on...................how hard is it to get stuff like this correct?

I've not over torqued the screws, I've not even nipped them up against the fan body and as you can see the screw is already cutting into the fins of the rad. This is following the published instructions as well.

Is this acceptable?
Not really...
You could always stick a couple of washers on the screws.
The bent rad fins are pretty common really. You see a lot of new rads like that.

They're made to account for having a case in-between the fans and the rad I think, hence why they're a little longer.

29-01-2013, 10:55:59

leejc73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Not really...
You could always stick a couple of washers on the screws.
The bent rad fins are pretty common really. You see a lot of new rads like that.

They're made to account for having a case in-between the fans and the rad I think, hence why they're a little longer.
Think you've missed the point. The instructions are really clear on the suggested system of mounting, using the 8 washers provided with the short screws through the chassis and into the rad, while directly mounting the fans with these screws.

Why would I be required to purchase additional washers to mount an AIO system?? It doesn't say AIO (providing you buy your own spacing washers, or accept drilling the screws into the rad) Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler.

29-01-2013, 10:56:23

Recon-UK
Here is how my H100 arrived on day 1 (minus the dust)



http://i.imgur.com/esCl6zl.jpg

29-01-2013, 11:02:39

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by leejc73 View Post
Think you've missed the point. The instructions are really clear on the suggested system of mounting, using the 8 washers provided with the short screws through the chassis and into the rad, while directly mounting the fans with these screws.

Why would I be required to purchase additional washers to mount an AIO system?? It doesn't say AIO (providing you buy your own spacing washers, or accept drilling the screws into the rad) Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler.
No, I understand what you're saying - and I do agree with you. The screws should be the exact right length.

But, I do also think it's a little bit of a trivial issue to be angry at.
You could get the exact screws at any hardware store for like 50p...and even less for washers.

Corsair are at fault in not giving you the exact stuff for fitting to start with, but I can think of many worse thinks to be complaining about than a few screws that are a couple of millimetres too long.

10-11-2013, 15:02:14

Ricco
Are there any options for connecting 3-pin connector, which comes from the pump block of H100i, somewhere except cpu-fan header for the cleaner look of the build? Thing is that most motherboards have cpu-fan header under the cpu (closer to the middle of the mobo), which may spoil some aesthetic part of the build. Have you got any ideas for other options?

BTW I've never seen Tom using fan-header in his reviews.

10-11-2013, 16:36:38

d3rrial
You don't have to use the header at all, actually. It's just so your Mainboard detects a CPU fan and doesn't throw an error / doesn't post, because no CPU fan was detected. (Some safety-measure, to prevent overheating because of a nonexisting fan)

10-11-2013, 17:18:30

Ricco
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rrial View Post
You don't have to use the header at all, actually. It's just so your Mainboard detects a CPU fan and doesn't throw an error / doesn't post, because no CPU fan was detected. (Some safety-measure, to prevent overheating because of a nonexisting fan)
So it means that basically, if I don't use the cpu-fan header (don't plug it in), it will throw me an error in bios/windows or it doesn't show up anywhere (do not interfere the everyday PC usage)? If it does then how this is being avoided (bios settings?)?

10-11-2013, 17:26:01

d3rrial
I don't know... It's different with each mainboard, I guess. I tried leaving it unplugged and my PC wouldn't let me boot until I plugged it in.

10-11-2013, 17:34:16

Ricco
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rrial View Post
I don't know... It's different with each mainboard, I guess. I tried leaving it unplugged and my PC wouldn't let me boot until I plugged it in.
Yeah, it would be interesting to hear Toms opinion, cause, as I've mentioned before, that he has never used the cpu fan header wire (at least as far as I have seen). How then its possible to get around this error thing...

10-11-2013, 18:29:57

NeverBackDown
Why not just try it?

10-11-2013, 20:15:17

Surfie
In almost every bios that I've seen there is a setting which enables the ignoring of the cpu fan header.

Most have the option to automatically disable if unplugged but not all (certainly not yours from the sounds of it).

11-11-2013, 02:40:28

JackThatNerd
I thinking about this cooler for my new rig and this has sold me. Another great Job Tom

11-11-2013, 03:19:55

Ricco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfie View Post
In almost every bios that I've seen there is a setting which enables the ignoring of the cpu fan header.

Most have the option to automatically disable if unplugged but not all (certainly not yours from the sounds of it).
Actually I am not sure about mine yet. I am only getting it in the end of this week - Z87X-UD4H. I was just willing to find out everything before doing a build, so I don't have any or at least have only few issues during a build process. Anyway, will see.. Thank for the answers.

15-11-2013, 06:12:41

Surfie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricco View Post
Actually I am not sure about mine yet. I am only getting it in the end of this week - Z87X-UD4H. I was just willing to find out everything before doing a build, so I don't have any or at least have only few issues during a build process. Anyway, will see.. Thank for the answers.
Unfortunately every bios is different, so without knowing your particular bios (which changes from board to board, even within the same manufacturer), I can't guide you to it. I can say that it should be near any power management features or boot option....

Hope this helps!

15-11-2013, 06:15:33

Ricco
Thanks for the answer. Next tuesday I will finally lay my hands on to the BIOS and then we'll see how it goes.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.