Auzentech X-FI Prelude 7.1 Sound Card

Conclusion

Conclusion

Well after toying around with the Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 sound card I really have to say that I am impressed by the experience, but at the same time left wanting a little more. The Prelude certainly has has a lot of pluses, but I felt that it has been released as a slightly unfinished product.

The gaming phase of our testing illustrated that the Auzen X-Fi can boost performance via the inclusion of X-RAM, where it off-loads DSP and EAX rendering from the CPU. During bouts of QUAKE 4 and UT3, weapons fire sounded so life-like that I felt like I was in the game. Gaming was incredibly immersive and surreal. However, quite a few times I found myself heading off into a game and remembering that I was still stuck in 'Entertainment Mode' which can be quite annoying to say the least. Especially when the card barks back!

The movie phase of testing was thoroughly enjoyable. I especially liked the added ambiance afforded by the EAX effects, and for those who enjoy the big-screen, the theatre soundfield makes movie listening exceptionally realistic.

I really enjoyed listening to music through the Auzen X-Fi Prelude, and considering that I played such a broad range of styles, it is testament to the homework that the Auzentech engineers have put into this card. The music just sounds great.

The price of the Auzen X-Fi is where I really think that an improvement can be made. Only when all of the cards key features are working and driver support has been improved, will it be worth the considerable outlay of cash.

So how does the Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 sound card stack up? Let's have a look at the summary I have made below:

The Good
• Excellent sound overall
• Replaceable OPAMP adds flexibility
• Hardware DSP, no extra load on the CPU.
• Solid capacitors ensures longevity and reliability.
• Support for Digital In (SPDIF In) and external device can be connected through the Optical/Coaxial combo port

The Mediocre
• Creative drivers, and lack of Linux drivers until next year.
• Price, especially considering that key features are still not yet available.

The Bad
• The Auzen X-Fi Prelude was released late and still feels a little unfinished.
• No DTS for analog outputs.

Gamers Choice Award Recommended Award

Overclock3D would like to thank Auzentech for making this review possible

Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-10-2007, 06:59:18

PV5150
Can Auzentech build a better X-Fi?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105134771s.jpg

Will the Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 sound card make the grade?

If you'd like to find out the answers to these and many of life's other mysteries...check out the review.

Linkage

28-10-2007, 07:25:26

Toxcity
Wow, Nice review PV!

Looks to be a solid card.

28-10-2007, 07:51:15

FarFarAway
Looks like a decent card, if only they didn't have to use Creative drivers tbh

28-10-2007, 07:57:49

SuB
i can certainly vouch for it i have one and i love it everything about it just 'feels' better than the other x-fi i had

would love a THX console for calibrating my speakers though but that aside i absolutely love it

28-10-2007, 08:52:17

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'
i can certainly vouch for it i have one and i love it everything about it just 'feels' better than the other x-fi i had

would love a THX console for calibrating my speakers though but that aside i absolutely love it
Seeing as it`s software is creative hybrid, I wonder if u can use the THX console that creative have on their cds ?

For me, these cards are equivilant to how an nVidia reference card gets adopted by other manufs.

Talking about the population of a creative card in comparison to this one, it`s also fair to bare in mind that out of the 5 or 6 creative x-fi cards that have been/are available, ranging from the cheapest to the professional studio ones, the density of the surface mounting goes from sparce to crazy-mad-caps-per-inch.

I would have liked to have seen a "crackle-test" on this card too, creative cards get easily bogged down fighting for internal bus usage (so it would appear but not confirmed) which makes them crackle. It`s a mad test to emulate, and it`s conditions are not 100% duplicate-able. But if u have a pc thrash at something like fah on all cores, do some rar`ing, do some massive file transfers..... and play some music - u get crackle on a creative x-fi. Maybe this is more a blame of the mobo design, or windows design, but it would be interesting.

Also - I want pci-e in this crazy lacking pci slot world !

28-10-2007, 08:55:55

FarFarAway
Creative just dont support THX in Vista, they suck

Crackle test - would have been interesting you're right

And yep, lets hope some PCI-e versions get out real soon

28-10-2007, 09:00:04

PV5150
Thanks all for your feedback

@ Rast: For what it's worth mate this machine folds 24/7 (SMP units); music is on all the time that I'm at the machine, and I do transfer quite a bit on my network....not massive, but perhaps on the larger side than normal and I have yet to hear crackle from this card.

A lot of the crackle/pop issues came from Nvidia based motherboards from the reading I have done. My X-Fi Xtreme Audio did it from time to time though, giving out a considerable pop.

I'll throw a little more at it if you like to see if I can replicate the issue

28-10-2007, 09:04:20

Brooksie
Nice review PV

28-10-2007, 09:10:50

Rastalovich
There are so many threads and theories on how the crackle comes about. It`s been the baine of creative cards going all the way back to audigy2.1.

I`ve heard the nVidia chipset thing, but in the same instance, whilst I`ve read about them I`ve been using via chipset mobos, never had an nVidia tbh.

All I know for sure is that I can duplicate it on one of my setups 100% of the time. In fact I can use any of the 3 x-fis to get it, and swapping out for any of the old sblive cards I got too, which leans me more to thinking it`s how windows handles the tasks or the mobo shares the bus bandwidth. Different drivers can ~seem~ to help, but this `apparently` is down to where they establish themselves in memory. Switch out a card, and back it`ll come.

The only thing I personally think minimizes it, is to stick it in a slot that is either not paired with anything, or if u`r board relys on pairing, turn the other things off. I turn off parallel ports, serial, raid, anything that`s not required.

Bah, only creative labs could come out with a definative answer, but as we`re all aware - if it aint a brandspanking card for the latest os - they don`t want to know. To be fair, even then they show little interest.

28-10-2007, 10:04:55

Ham
Fantastic job there Pvs, very hard thing to review well, but you've pulled it off

28-10-2007, 11:40:33

!TIMMY!
Good review PV, its nice to see Creative allowing other manufacturers to use their technology.

28-10-2007, 16:22:18

Yeungster
Wow! I've heard about Auzen making a significant introduction into the x-fi market, but never really looked into it, as I'm still on onboard sound!!!

Reading this review has made me really want one of these! What a great review!

28-10-2007, 17:43:11

PV5150
Thanks all, I'm glad you found the review worthwhile as it is quite a hard thing to do.

29-10-2007, 06:50:23

maraschino
nice review,

i just recently purchased one and it is a very nice card

30-10-2007, 05:27:43

PV5150
Thank you mate

06-01-2008, 10:09:51

Yeungster
You have made me spend more money!!!!

Just ordered one of these, which should be here on Wednesday. Really hoping it makes the sound through my home theatre system come alive. Onboard sound via s/pdif to my home theatre system just sounded flat.

I have no doubt that this will have significant improvements on my computers overall sound!

06-01-2008, 15:53:25

PP Mguire
Yea if i dont recieve and X-Fi ill just go and buy one of these. Seems pretty promising.

06-01-2008, 16:46:37

Yeungster
PV - Do you still have this card to hand? If so, and you have some spare time, it'll be good to hear your views with the latest driver release which enables Dolby Digital Live

06-01-2008, 16:53:49

Pyr0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Yeungster'
PV - Do you still have this card to hand? If so, and you have some spare time, it'll be good to hear your views with the latest driver release which enables Dolby Digital Live
it's DDL and the new upcoming features that are making me think about getting rid of my xtrememusic and getting a prelude instead

08-01-2008, 07:56:02

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Yeungster'
PV - Do you still have this card to hand? If so, and you have some spare time, it'll be good to hear your views with the latest driver release which enables Dolby Digital Live
I'm downloading the latest driver as I type and in the next few days I'll let you know mate for sure

08-01-2008, 13:50:37

SuB
new drivers

/me goes to get!!

10-01-2008, 16:37:53

Yeungster
I hope I have set it up wrong or something, because when I enabled DDL and ran an optical feed to my home theatre system the sound coming out was really poor quality.

When I turn DDL off, the volume decreases dramatically, but the quality is much improved.

Any comments/pointers for me?

10-01-2008, 17:05:32

Rastalovich
Try playing about with the settings in... I think it`s Sound.. then the input/outputs are listed and in the optical thingy there`s a tab about what rates and quality the feed is.

One thing I don`t like about the newer driversets for creative/auzen is the way the settings aren`t all in one place.

EDIT: Actually it probably not the Sound menu, it`s more like Playback or Recording devices (right click on the speaker icon in the tray for a shortcut)

10-01-2008, 17:24:21

Yeungster
I'm not sure I'm following you 100%. Here's what I'm provided with within the menu you pointed me towards:

10-01-2008, 17:44:44

Rastalovich
Wow that`s weird, mine looks like this:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/10.../soundpref.jpg

I know it says X-fi, but my Auzen one is 100% the same. That`s from right clicking on the speaker in the tray.

11-01-2008, 17:26:40

Yeungster
I've been playing with the card a little bit more tonight. I'm far from an audiophile so was lost in the technical speak on some of the av forum threads.

I'm now beginning to wonder what the chances are that I have either:

a) a faulty card

b) a faulty home theatre amp/receiver

Is there any way to test either of these components?

14-07-2009, 15:19:42

Rastalovich
Verbatim...

X-Fi Prelude Driver for Windows 7

New X-Fi Prelude Driver Supports DTS Connect on Windows 7 and Vista

Santa Clara, CA: Auzentech, Inc.(www.auzentech.com) has announced today the release of a new "Multi-Driver" for the X-Fi Prelude sound card. The new driver is compatible with Microsoft Windows® 7, Windows® Vista, and Windows® XP.

For X-Fi Prelude owners, the new driver brings DTS Connect™ to Windows® 7 in addition to the previously supported Windows® Vista. Dolby™ Digital Live is available on all three platforms.

The driver must be a fresh install on a 32-bit or 64-bit edition of Windows® 7, Vista, or XP. For details and downloads, visit the Auzentech sound card drivers page:

http://www.auzentech.com/site/download/updates.php

The Auzen X-FI™ Prelude 7.1 soundcard marked the first time Creative had permitted a third-party soundcard vendor to use the Creative X-FI™ chipset in its own soundcard design. The X-Fi Prelude fully supports EAX 5.0, the premier technology for 3-D audio effects diring game play, Dolby® Digital Live and DTS™ Connect. For more information, visit the X-Fi Prelude product page online:

http://www.auzentech.com/site/products/x-fi_prelude.php

About Auzentech, Inc.

AUZENTECH, Inc. is a provider of quality consumer electronics products, which is headquartered in Santa Clara, CA. AUZENTECH developed the World's first Dolby Digital Live Sound card (X-Mystique 7.1 Gold) and the World's first DTS Connect Sound Card (X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect) and continues to bring the most innovative audio products to the market.

http://www.auzentech.com/

Contact:

pr@auzentech.com
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.