Auzentech X-FI Prelude 7.1 Sound Card

Installation, Drivers and Included Software

Installation, Drivers.

To be honest, one of the things that really irks me most with Creative software is that it has a tendency to be either very buggy, and/or it is bloated to the max. Considering that the Auzen X-Fi Prelude uses Creative's X-Fi drivers, it will be very interesting to see what Auzentech has decided to run with in the way of included software.

Installation was a typical affair; simply pop the card in and wait for Windows to recognise it, and then install the drivers. The drivers that I was supplied with for the review are currently in closed Beta, and are therefore not available for official release. I'm extremely happy to report that the software installation was the most painless process I have ever encountered...Especially under Windows Vista. In under 2 minutes and 1 reboot later I was up and running with the new Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1.

For those with alternative Operating Systems, particularly Linux, the news is not as good unfortunately. According to the Auzentech website a Linux driver will be made available around the 1st Quarter of 2008, but it will be limited. The first version of the X-Fi Prelude Linux-compatible driver will be very preliminary, and you can expect high-quality output without the full X-Fi Prelude feature set. Although I can understand the logic behind the decision, I still feel that it is high-time that all manufacturers acknowledged Linux as a viable enough Operating System to code a fully fledged driver and feature set for.

One thing that you will notice with the Auzen X-Fi Prelude card (if you have a windowed case) is that the card has a green LED on the side that glows static when booting up. But as soon as you get into Windows it starts to flash, and continues to do so. Some may not have a problem with it, but initially I found it a little distracting. I have included a short video illustrating the effect below:

Auzen X-Fi Prelude LED

Included Software

Quite honestly, this is the best inclusion of software that I have seen in a long time. No longer do you have to wade through the myriad of 'Start Menu' options that traditional Creative installations force upon you; instead there are just 4 - the Auzentech Audio Console, the Console Launcher, the Volume panel and Creative's ALchemy (X-Fi Edition).

Creative Alchemy

Creative ALchemy is included to provide support for an ever expanding number of games under Windows Vista. With the advent of Windows Vista, Creative ALchemy is needed to play advanced audio effects. I'll let Auzentech explain it better:

It is necessary because prior to Windows Vista, the Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) enabled DirectSound and DirectSound3D technologies to play advanced audio effects. Many games have used these technologies for dynamic audio, but those same games sound flat when played in Vista. For newer releases, OpenAL has become the favorite technology. But what about the old games? That's where ALchemy comes in: ALchemy translates the legacy DirectSound calls into OpenAL, and then passes control over to your soundcard driver. The result is full hardware accelerated 3D Audio and EAX support, just as the developers intended.


Auzentech Audio Console

The Audio Console allows for initial setup options and setting whatever mode that you want the Console to run in.

Auzentech Mode Switcher

The Mode Switcher screen also allows for changing audio modes depending on whether you're going to game, listen to some tunes or create something special yourself.

By now many of you will already be familiar with the different modes, particularly for those of you already with X-Fi cards, so I'm going to be very brief and just include screenshots.

Game Mode EQ Game Mode CMSS-3D
Game Mode Mixer Game Mode EQ

Under the Gaming mode, performance is enhanced with 3D soundscape, allowing you to hear bullets whiz past your head while explosions shake your room. EAX Advanced HD sound is also included to add 'voices' to your game. X-Fi CMSS-3D essentially emulates realistic surround sound with only a pair of headphones. You can boost game performance even further with games that take advantage of X-RAM, freeing up system memory and improving audio quality. The X-Fi Crystalizer automatically upgrades existing games with more dynamic and realistic sound.

Entertainment Mode Speaker setup

X-Fi CMSS-3D expands your MP3s and digital movies into surround sound over multichannel speakers, stereo speakers, or even headphones. The X-Fi Crystalizer is supposed to restore the detail and vibrance to your compressed music and movies. Apparently all the highs and lows are enhanced so you'll hear everything in crystal clarity.

CMSS-3D Crystalizer

The X-Fi Crystalizer certainly should make a noticeable difference when listening to your choice of music. There's nothing quite like ability to play 'liquid gold' that is DTS 96KHz/24-bit, especially if you're decked out with a decent 5.1/7.1 setup. It'll wreck both home and hearing with equal impunity.

SVM Mixer

The Smart Volume Management function is an interesting one, I still prefered to have it turned off.

Equalizer EAX

Dolby Digital Live

The X-Fi Prelude supports up to eight different 24-bit hardware effects, hardware synthesis capabilities, 24-bit SoundFont sampling and 3D MIDI recording. The X-Fi Prelude provides the lowest latency ASIO recording, allowing for the most precise audio recording capabilities in any class with latency as low as one millisecond with no CPU load.

Audio Creation Mode Effects Editor

Now that we're a little more familiar with the software side of Auzentech's X-Fi Prelude sound card, let's get down to the nitty gritty and see how we're going to test it...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-10-2007, 06:59:18

PV5150
Can Auzentech build a better X-Fi?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105134771s.jpg

Will the Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 sound card make the grade?

If you'd like to find out the answers to these and many of life's other mysteries...check out the review.

Linkage

28-10-2007, 07:25:26

Toxcity
Wow, Nice review PV!

Looks to be a solid card.

28-10-2007, 07:51:15

FarFarAway
Looks like a decent card, if only they didn't have to use Creative drivers tbh

28-10-2007, 07:57:49

SuB
i can certainly vouch for it i have one and i love it everything about it just 'feels' better than the other x-fi i had

would love a THX console for calibrating my speakers though but that aside i absolutely love it

28-10-2007, 08:52:17

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'
i can certainly vouch for it i have one and i love it everything about it just 'feels' better than the other x-fi i had

would love a THX console for calibrating my speakers though but that aside i absolutely love it
Seeing as it`s software is creative hybrid, I wonder if u can use the THX console that creative have on their cds ?

For me, these cards are equivilant to how an nVidia reference card gets adopted by other manufs.

Talking about the population of a creative card in comparison to this one, it`s also fair to bare in mind that out of the 5 or 6 creative x-fi cards that have been/are available, ranging from the cheapest to the professional studio ones, the density of the surface mounting goes from sparce to crazy-mad-caps-per-inch.

I would have liked to have seen a "crackle-test" on this card too, creative cards get easily bogged down fighting for internal bus usage (so it would appear but not confirmed) which makes them crackle. It`s a mad test to emulate, and it`s conditions are not 100% duplicate-able. But if u have a pc thrash at something like fah on all cores, do some rar`ing, do some massive file transfers..... and play some music - u get crackle on a creative x-fi. Maybe this is more a blame of the mobo design, or windows design, but it would be interesting.

Also - I want pci-e in this crazy lacking pci slot world !

28-10-2007, 08:55:55

FarFarAway
Creative just dont support THX in Vista, they suck

Crackle test - would have been interesting you're right

And yep, lets hope some PCI-e versions get out real soon

28-10-2007, 09:00:04

PV5150
Thanks all for your feedback

@ Rast: For what it's worth mate this machine folds 24/7 (SMP units); music is on all the time that I'm at the machine, and I do transfer quite a bit on my network....not massive, but perhaps on the larger side than normal and I have yet to hear crackle from this card.

A lot of the crackle/pop issues came from Nvidia based motherboards from the reading I have done. My X-Fi Xtreme Audio did it from time to time though, giving out a considerable pop.

I'll throw a little more at it if you like to see if I can replicate the issue

28-10-2007, 09:04:20

Brooksie
Nice review PV

28-10-2007, 09:10:50

Rastalovich
There are so many threads and theories on how the crackle comes about. It`s been the baine of creative cards going all the way back to audigy2.1.

I`ve heard the nVidia chipset thing, but in the same instance, whilst I`ve read about them I`ve been using via chipset mobos, never had an nVidia tbh.

All I know for sure is that I can duplicate it on one of my setups 100% of the time. In fact I can use any of the 3 x-fis to get it, and swapping out for any of the old sblive cards I got too, which leans me more to thinking it`s how windows handles the tasks or the mobo shares the bus bandwidth. Different drivers can ~seem~ to help, but this `apparently` is down to where they establish themselves in memory. Switch out a card, and back it`ll come.

The only thing I personally think minimizes it, is to stick it in a slot that is either not paired with anything, or if u`r board relys on pairing, turn the other things off. I turn off parallel ports, serial, raid, anything that`s not required.

Bah, only creative labs could come out with a definative answer, but as we`re all aware - if it aint a brandspanking card for the latest os - they don`t want to know. To be fair, even then they show little interest.

28-10-2007, 10:04:55

Ham
Fantastic job there Pvs, very hard thing to review well, but you've pulled it off

28-10-2007, 11:40:33

!TIMMY!
Good review PV, its nice to see Creative allowing other manufacturers to use their technology.

28-10-2007, 16:22:18

Yeungster
Wow! I've heard about Auzen making a significant introduction into the x-fi market, but never really looked into it, as I'm still on onboard sound!!!

Reading this review has made me really want one of these! What a great review!

28-10-2007, 17:43:11

PV5150
Thanks all, I'm glad you found the review worthwhile as it is quite a hard thing to do.

29-10-2007, 06:50:23

maraschino
nice review,

i just recently purchased one and it is a very nice card

30-10-2007, 05:27:43

PV5150
Thank you mate

06-01-2008, 10:09:51

Yeungster
You have made me spend more money!!!!

Just ordered one of these, which should be here on Wednesday. Really hoping it makes the sound through my home theatre system come alive. Onboard sound via s/pdif to my home theatre system just sounded flat.

I have no doubt that this will have significant improvements on my computers overall sound!

06-01-2008, 15:53:25

PP Mguire
Yea if i dont recieve and X-Fi ill just go and buy one of these. Seems pretty promising.

06-01-2008, 16:46:37

Yeungster
PV - Do you still have this card to hand? If so, and you have some spare time, it'll be good to hear your views with the latest driver release which enables Dolby Digital Live

06-01-2008, 16:53:49

Pyr0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Yeungster'
PV - Do you still have this card to hand? If so, and you have some spare time, it'll be good to hear your views with the latest driver release which enables Dolby Digital Live
it's DDL and the new upcoming features that are making me think about getting rid of my xtrememusic and getting a prelude instead

08-01-2008, 07:56:02

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Yeungster'
PV - Do you still have this card to hand? If so, and you have some spare time, it'll be good to hear your views with the latest driver release which enables Dolby Digital Live
I'm downloading the latest driver as I type and in the next few days I'll let you know mate for sure

08-01-2008, 13:50:37

SuB
new drivers

/me goes to get!!

10-01-2008, 16:37:53

Yeungster
I hope I have set it up wrong or something, because when I enabled DDL and ran an optical feed to my home theatre system the sound coming out was really poor quality.

When I turn DDL off, the volume decreases dramatically, but the quality is much improved.

Any comments/pointers for me?

10-01-2008, 17:05:32

Rastalovich
Try playing about with the settings in... I think it`s Sound.. then the input/outputs are listed and in the optical thingy there`s a tab about what rates and quality the feed is.

One thing I don`t like about the newer driversets for creative/auzen is the way the settings aren`t all in one place.

EDIT: Actually it probably not the Sound menu, it`s more like Playback or Recording devices (right click on the speaker icon in the tray for a shortcut)

10-01-2008, 17:24:21

Yeungster
I'm not sure I'm following you 100%. Here's what I'm provided with within the menu you pointed me towards:

10-01-2008, 17:44:44

Rastalovich
Wow that`s weird, mine looks like this:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/10.../soundpref.jpg

I know it says X-fi, but my Auzen one is 100% the same. That`s from right clicking on the speaker in the tray.

11-01-2008, 17:26:40

Yeungster
I've been playing with the card a little bit more tonight. I'm far from an audiophile so was lost in the technical speak on some of the av forum threads.

I'm now beginning to wonder what the chances are that I have either:

a) a faulty card

b) a faulty home theatre amp/receiver

Is there any way to test either of these components?

14-07-2009, 15:19:42

Rastalovich
Verbatim...

X-Fi Prelude Driver for Windows 7

New X-Fi Prelude Driver Supports DTS Connect on Windows 7 and Vista

Santa Clara, CA: Auzentech, Inc.(www.auzentech.com) has announced today the release of a new "Multi-Driver" for the X-Fi Prelude sound card. The new driver is compatible with Microsoft Windows® 7, Windows® Vista, and Windows® XP.

For X-Fi Prelude owners, the new driver brings DTS Connect™ to Windows® 7 in addition to the previously supported Windows® Vista. Dolby™ Digital Live is available on all three platforms.

The driver must be a fresh install on a 32-bit or 64-bit edition of Windows® 7, Vista, or XP. For details and downloads, visit the Auzentech sound card drivers page:

http://www.auzentech.com/site/download/updates.php

The Auzen X-FI™ Prelude 7.1 soundcard marked the first time Creative had permitted a third-party soundcard vendor to use the Creative X-FI™ chipset in its own soundcard design. The X-Fi Prelude fully supports EAX 5.0, the premier technology for 3-D audio effects diring game play, Dolby® Digital Live and DTS™ Connect. For more information, visit the X-Fi Prelude product page online:

http://www.auzentech.com/site/products/x-fi_prelude.php

About Auzentech, Inc.

AUZENTECH, Inc. is a provider of quality consumer electronics products, which is headquartered in Santa Clara, CA. AUZENTECH developed the World's first Dolby Digital Live Sound card (X-Mystique 7.1 Gold) and the World's first DTS Connect Sound Card (X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect) and continues to bring the most innovative audio products to the market.

http://www.auzentech.com/

Contact:

pr@auzentech.com
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.