ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Sound Card

A Closer Look

A Closer Look
 
The first thing that jumps out at you with the Xonar DX is the size. It’s a half-height sized card measuring 170mm long. This would make the DX a perfect solution for those who don’t wish to make sacrifices while building a small media pc. With gold plated connections and a sleek black PCB along with in-line capacitors it is certainly a very striking piece of hardware. Even the back plate (including the optional low profile bracket) are anodised in gun metal grey which only adds to the impressive visuals of the card.

Asus Xonar DX PCB Front Asus Xonar DX PCB Back

Through Asus cropping the size of the card in half it comes as no surprise that the majority of the connectivity is on the back of the card. A personal frustration of mine is that high end soundcards tend to have the actual fitting instructions engraved on the socket. While this is fine in a good lighting environment or the actual sockets are coloured it can be a little pain staking swapping out cables in dim light with gold plated connectors giving no clue as to what goes where. While I don’t expect the led lights of its forbear an optional coloured template/sticker would be a welcome addition for those of us who don’t possess night vision!

For those out there who prefer digital over analogue connections, the DX’s S/PDIF output is shared with its analogue mic and line input ports. You may also notice that the card is left wanting a digital S/PDIF input port although a 4pin auxiliary connector is provided should you wish to use it.

Asus Xonar DX Sockets Asus Xonar DX Mount

Upon closer inspection you will notice that the card is PCIex1 which will restrict itself to owners of later motherboards, it does however offer future proofing in return as motherboard manufacturers appear to be slowly phasing out the PCI standard in favour of the smaller standards available today. It’s also nice to actually make use of PCI-e x1 slots for change! Whether an express port’s bandwidth is actually utilised is doubtful however it is welcome and certainly adds to the appeal of the card. The card also requires the use of a floppy power connector which despite its small size just goes to show how powerful this card actually is. With the extra power going through the card, I was initially worried as to the heat that would inevitably be produced but my worries were unfounded as the card is no warmer than a regular card twice its size and certainly does not require the use of additional heat sinks or cooling despite its numerous solid capacitors and Vrms.
 
Asus Xonar DX Floppy Plug Asus Xonar DX VRM's

A notable difference between the DX and the more expensive DX2 is the addition of front panel audio headers which is a real bonus considering it is omitted in the more expensive version, the DX2.

Asus Xonar DX PCI-E Asus Xonar DX Audio Headers

Here we see the heart of the DX, the AV100 processing unit. Don’t be fooled into thinking this is anything other than C-media’s Oxygen HD audio chip though, not that it’s to its detriment. The AV100 is rumoured to be a ‘speed-binned’ AV200 processor which is also used in the DX2. As the Oxygen – sorry – AV100 was not designed to use PCIe there is also another chip onboard from PLX which Asus have utilised as a bridging chip enabling the card to use the PCIe as standard rather than the bandwidth limiting PCI interface.
 
Asus Xonar DX AV100 Chip Asus Xonar DX Audio Chip

Now here is something worth mentioning so listen up: Users of Nvidia’s latest 790i based motherboards have experienced difficulty in getting this card to work in Vista due to this bridging chip which seems to confuse the Nvidia chipset. I didn’t have an Nvidia based motherboard on which to neither confirm nor deny this but there are simply too many reports to ignore and not include this info in the review. The good news however is that NVidia are aware of this issue and are working on a new BIOS which will hopefully solve the PCI-PCIe bridging problem.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-05-2008, 06:44:51

w3bbo
With the Xonar DX 7.1 soundcard, have Asus managed to trim the excess fat from it's bigger brother without sacrificing perofrmance? Or have they put the DX on a diet so harsh it can't hold it's own weight with the new influx of audio solutions...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...175110203l.jpg

Asus Xonar DX Review

06-05-2008, 07:03:23

!TIMMY!
Nice review webbo.

Good move by Asus tbh, but they need to be on top of the driver support!

Creative could slip further down the pan.

06-05-2008, 07:23:26

Rastalovich
Nice review, good to see some soundcard action.

Manufs need to make these cards with; front panel support; connection for internal HMDI support; low profile; solid drivers for XP/Vista 32/64bit - as almost a standard.

Asus are not particularly some1 I`m wanting to either look for support or driver upd8s. They`re are exactly Creative in that department, but they don`t personally fill me with enthusiasm either. That`s just me, I don`t buy their products when there`s a viable alternative for just that reason.

60 is an ~ok~ price for me. I`d be happier if it settled around 40-50, but that`ll take some time.

Like to have a comparison playoff with ASUS, Auzen, Creative - and let`s say an Abit IP35 Pro onboard, as a look into the qualities, drivers, performance and price.

For the +/- using Vista 64bit and these choices, I`m edging towards taking the soundcards out of the systems tbh.

06-05-2008, 08:32:30

w3bbo
I was a little hesitant about the price too but when you consider you are virtually getting a D2X (minus the frills) for half the price then it works out at a half decent price point. What most should consider I guess is the need for high performing audio over 'adequate' onboard solutions. IF all you do is surf the net then I guess onboard is fine but if your PC is a multimedia gateway then a dedicated solution is much better imo.

I am also concerned about driver support but we can only hope Asus keep on the ball with this one, either way it surely can't be as bad as Creative.

07-05-2008, 15:26:15

Kerotan
Excellent Review, much respect webbo: Wu-Tang Clan FTW!! I have a cheapo soundcard right now but if I'm looking to upgrade I'll definatley consider this, but tbh I don't know how much benefit I'd get running through the Aux on my 2.1 system, I wish 2.1 was listed as an option on my sound control panel but sadly I'm stuck with 2.0 or virtual 5.1

07-05-2008, 17:11:01

ionicle
good review

looks like a niceish card actually

and as for the comment about all the connectors being gold, you make a good point, but on the alternative side, green, pink and blue looks rather tacky ...

gold looks profesional, even if you dont know where to plug your wire

08-05-2008, 04:30:48

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kerotan'
Excellent Review, much respect webbo: Wu-Tang Clan FTW!! I have a cheapo soundcard right now but if I'm looking to upgrade I'll definatley consider this, but tbh I don't know how much benefit I'd get running through the Aux on my 2.1 system, I wish 2.1 was listed as an option on my sound control panel but sadly I'm stuck with 2.0 or virtual 5.1
Do you use headphones at all m8? If so then I'd says it's worth it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
good review

looks like a niceish card actually

and as for the comment about all the connectors being gold, you make a good point, but on the alternative side, green, pink and blue looks rather tacky ...

gold looks profesional, even if you dont know where to plug your wire
Yeah I agree gold looks better(and results in a better connection) and I didn't actually have any trouble connecting the audio up but I could forsee that in the average Joe setup with his case sat in the shade below a desk it would be nigh on impossible to get the right connector in the right hole (!) ahem. It would have been nice of Asus to include the led port lights its bigger brother has. Asus arn't the only ones guilty of this and although it's only a minor point, I thought it was a point worth making nonetheless.

Thx for your kind comments guys - my first review (of many hopefully) on OC3D

08-05-2008, 06:26:58

cybermaniac
ne1 recommend any DTS enabled cards?

08-05-2008, 06:47:42

w3bbo
Xonar D2X?

16-05-2008, 21:42:56

TamaDrumz76
Cool review, interested in the newest model. Always nice to have alternatives from the Creative crap... Well, not crap. Hardware is ok, but software/drivers suck. I think Auzentech has a great card which is based on the Creative chip, but costs just as much as the most expensive one too.

03-01-2009, 16:37:40

escort97
I know this is reviving an old review/thread but i have been wondering for a while now if yall had to do anything special to get the certain sound settings in BF2 while using this card I've never been able to get them with out an error.Its never let me choose x-fi and ultra.

Reading this review when it came out helped persude me to choose this card instead of a xtreme gamer, I've just never been able to get the Bf2 settings right with any option config.

04-01-2009, 11:33:11

w3bbo
Change the settings in BF2 config. It's the only way you get Ultra settings to work but I have my doubts whether it actually does anything anyhow as I couldn't tell the difference between ultra and high

05-01-2009, 14:48:16

escort97
Do you mean in the config files themselves or in the BF2 menu, because when I try the xfi option it just tells me I don't have one. Ty for replying.

05-01-2009, 17:32:27

w3bbo
You wont get ultra settings on any card as it can only be enabled via the config files.

Your soundcard however should be recognised as an XFI, the review sample was.

05-01-2009, 18:17:19

escort97
Yeah, that's the problem mine dosent get recognized as an xfi with or with out the gx enabled on the asus control panel, I don't know if its the card itself or what its currently set at hardware and high in the BF2 menu, is there a big change between that and xfi mode with the EAX enabled? Thanks again

06-01-2009, 05:36:48

w3bbo
What operating system are you using?

EAX can only be emulated in vista thorugh Alchemy software and the Asus exquivelant. The sounds are pretty much the same. Perhaps the easiest place to test it is in two areas.

Kubra dam - go into one of the tunnels and everything should echo/reverb.

Karkhand - Iirc you can here the occassional dog barking and a bell occassionally ringing.

The main effects though are the echo's that I could discern and a clearer more 'atmospheric' sound. There is little to choose between the XFI EAX and Xonar GX though so I wouldn;t lose sleep over it, especially as BF2 is now an aging game by todays standards anyway.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.