ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review

Up Close - The Headset

ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review

Up Close Continued

As you would expect to find from a ROG product the Vulcan ANC is red and black. We think it's very attractive though, the wider stance to encompass the Active Noise Cancellation giving it a very different vibe to a regular headset. With the large ROG logo on each ear-piece you wont find anyone confused as to the brand that you've chosen. 

ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review     ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review  

The foam around the ear pieces is extremely bounteous with plenty to keep the headset comfortable and also provide passive noise reduction to assist in the active type. Speaking of which behind the right ear-piece is the space for the single AAA battery needed to power the active noise cancellation. 

ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review     ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review  

The noise cancellation is able to be turned off with a switch on the left hand side. It has a handy LED to ensure you don't flatten the battery by leaving it on when not in use. Just below the ANC switch is the jack to insert the removable cable, and below that the socket for the microphone.

ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review     ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review  

The microphone stands much straighter than it appears in this photograph. The hinges are very high quality as we would expect considering how often you are likely to be collapsing the Vulcan ANC to take it with you. 

ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review     ASUS ROG Vulcan ANC Headset Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-09-2013, 07:13:22

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113452231l.JPG

Today we're looking at an active noise cancelling headset from ASUS, the ROG Vulcan ANC.


Continue Reading

25-09-2013, 07:38:17

ShaunB-91
Interesting read, deffinelty one to consider when I buy one for my rig. 80 seems reasonable too.

25-09-2013, 07:38:37

Michaeljcox24
Interesting review, I had a pair of Vulcan ANC's and I took them back to the shop. Presentation wise they are the mutts nuts, but I didn't think much of the sound quality at all.

25-09-2013, 07:40:51

ShaunB-91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaeljcox24 View Post
Interesting review, I had a pair of Vulcan ANC's and I took them back to the shop. Presentation wise they are the mutts nuts, but I didn't think much of the sound quality at all.
Did you use them for gaming? Could you comment on the quality in-game such as BF3? I'm looking for something that gives a punch behind the guns, and vehicles.

25-09-2013, 07:49:34

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaeljcox24 View Post
Interesting review, I had a pair of Vulcan ANC's and I took them back to the shop. Presentation wise they are the mutts nuts, but I didn't think much of the sound quality at all.

Bry did say turn off the noise cancelling......

25-09-2013, 08:03:45

SPS
I could have sworn these had already been reviewed when they came out..?

Also these are extremely heavy to wear over a long period of time.

25-09-2013, 08:12:35

SuB
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
I'm looking for something that gives a punch behind the guns, and vehicles.
You mean your beats aren't doing it for you?

25-09-2013, 08:14:04

ShaunB-91
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
You mean your beats aren't doing it for you?
Lol I doubt they'd be suitable for gaming. They are a bit irritating today actually, compressing my head!

25-09-2013, 08:15:59

SuB
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Lol I doubt they'd be suitable for gaming. They are a bit irritating today actually, compressing my head!
Hate to say I told you so :P

Tbh, headsets are all well and good, but not much touches proper headphones. I'm sure james will say DT770 but I still maintain BF3 (and in a week BF4) sounds utterly superb on AKG's

25-09-2013, 08:20:47

ShaunB-91
The Mixrs are quite uncomfortable, it only takes 15 minutes before your ears are in need of a break. Super super tight fit. They work for running, I've tried it once but not something I'd like to use them for. They also block out all noise so if I run after work through the woods it's quiet and not very safe, but at the weekend when there are runners, cyclists and dog walkers it's okay.

But looking for some that are good for BF before I buy some in-ears for running. My pockets just aren't deep enough. BF4 is so close as well. :|

Edit: What's the price tag on these AKG's?

25-09-2013, 08:23:48

B0GiE
I have the Vulcans and a pair of AKG K451's.

Clarity is much better on the AKG's. ASUS Vulcan's are distincly average imo.

25-09-2013, 08:44:23

SuB
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Edit: What's the price tag on these AKG's?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...rds=AKG%20K702

I have the K702's, I'd advise a Xonar Essence to go with them for best results

25-09-2013, 08:46:00

ShaunB-91
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...rds=AKG%20K702

I have the K702's, I'd advise a Xonar Essence to go with them for best results
Oh shizzle, they aren't cheap!

25-09-2013, 08:53:17

Michaeljcox24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Bry did say turn off the noise cancelling......
Yeah even with the noise cancelling off I didn't rate them. It was probably more a case of I wanted some high end head phones, and not a headset - mic combo.

In the end I went to one of those hi fi shops and spent 150 on a pair of quality Gredo's.

For the average joe though (assuming you have fairly small ears) these would be fine.

25-09-2013, 08:55:52

SuB
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Oh shizzle, they aren't cheap!
You get what you pay for

The other option is DT770's which are cheaper but are closed back. My research/preference led me to the AKG's. BUT we're totally derailing in here now. This could be discussed elsewhere if necessary.

25-09-2013, 17:22:49

critical
v-moda do a mad cable that integrates a boom mic called the BoomPro. Turns your headphones into a headset. No more sub par gaming experiences.


http://v-moda.com/boompro-microphone/

26-09-2013, 04:01:28

SuB
Or y'know Antlion modmic...

26-09-2013, 14:09:29

critical
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Or y'know Antlion modmic...
That would work but it also gives you another cable to deal with..

28-09-2013, 02:58:56

Xploited Titan
No fan of noise cancelling technology.

And I have heard enough complaints from people using such headphones, bout the tiring white noise and the feeling their ears are always "under pressure".

They should find something else imho.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.