Arctic Sound S361 2.1 Speaker Set Review

Up Close

Arctic Sound S361

The Speakers

This certainly isn't the kind of package you could slip into the house under your jacket. It's a beast. Once the seal is broken we can see everything is packed very well indeed.

Sturdy corrugated cardboard encloses three layers of polystyrene keeping everything tightly packed and well protected.

Arctic Sound S361     Arctic Sound S361

Once out of the box your initial impression is how hefty the bass box is. It must take up three-quarters of the total weight of the package. Of course some of that will be the power circuitry but still there are obviously some quality sub-woofers in here.

The satellites are gorgeous to look at being finished in high gloss black with very silver speakers. Although the layout might be similar to other tall PC speaker setups, clearly as these are a foot tall and 6 inches wide you know the quality of the speakers will surpass that you might be used to.

Arctic Sound S361     Arctic Sound S361  

Connectivity is thankfully simple. As these are a 2.1 set you have either twin-phono to 3.5mm jack or phono to phono options. This greatly enhances the usability as you're not limited to just plugging them into your sound-card but could use them in the television or your MP3 player if desired. We'll take a look at the line controller in a moment.

Arctic Sound S361     Arctic Sound S361  

Even the satellites have a port on them, should you desire even more bass than you get from the sub-woofer alone. There is plenty of cable supplied too giving you lots of positional options for both the speakers and the sub-woofer.

Arctic Sound S361     Arctic Sound S361

The line controller is the main control for the speakers. All of the buttons do exactly what you'd expect them to do. It's nice to have a very obvious mute button. Anyone who has spent a frantic few seconds groping for a tiny button will appreciate something so easy to find.

Volume control is dealt with by an endlessly turning dial. The quality of this is exceptional. It's up there with some of the most expensive hi-fi systems I have ever handled. It's got great weight, a soft notchy feel to it and all around is just an extremely high-end bit of kit. Below the volume is a LED which glows blue when the system is on and, irritatingly, pulses blue when it's in standby.

Arctic Sound S361     Arctic Sound S361  

One small thing we have to mention is you may have noticed in the photo of the sub-woofer above a small gap in the top of the case. Sure enough whoever packed this must have clonked it on the side of the table and just stuck it in anyway as their is no way it could have been damaged in the packaging, which showed no sign of damage. It did mean that the whole bass unit rattled quite a bit and taking the front off we discovered that the glue hadn't taken too kindly and broken off into small bits.

In no way does this affect the performance of the unit. It's entirely cosmetic, albeit slightly disappointing. And yes the smiley face on that bit of glue is exactly how it is and un-edited.

Arctic Sound S361     Arctic Sound S361

Seems like the perfect moment to plug them in and see what we have.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-02-2011, 06:38:27

tinytomlogan
Tired of tiny speakers? Sick of the family crowding round the monitor or sharing headphones? Arctic have your problem solved.



Continue Reading

16-02-2011, 07:13:39

Zeals
Arctic Cooling make speakers? And they are good??!!!

16-02-2011, 07:37:40

dugdiamond
40Watts should be enough for anyone. But being quite chunky, i can imagine that they would have to be placed a distance from the PC, so are the cables long enough?

I personally have my rig (7.1 X-Fi) jacked into the AUX on my 200W stereo system with surround (i like overkill on everything )

BTW: sack the packer!

16-02-2011, 08:17:20

Fodr Kreatr
Do they make the floor rumble much?

16-02-2011, 11:42:14

Socks
Hmmmmz...never have been a fan of anything computer sized and making noise. Will always sound terrible to me. If i cant have my system then i wont use any other.

ATC SCM7's and a nice TEAC 8 ohm amp to drive the bad boys, awesome way to spend 700

But by the by, these looks nice, nicer than most. but still I couldnt comprehend spending this money on "toys"

16-02-2011, 12:05:34

jaw2floor
I have a AS P531 and I say for 38 (inc postage) they are EXCELLENT in all aspects.

16-02-2011, 15:04:11

AMDFTW
me like them

just in my price range aswell

16-02-2011, 15:23:44

adamjamesroe
Still prefere my logitech X-530's

16-02-2011, 15:53:58

WelshD1K
ummm make the foor shake.... get u some z5500's

16-02-2011, 16:16:05

adamjamesroe
Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshD1K View Post

ummm make the foor shake.... get u some z5500's
Very nice; im to tight to splash out so much for speakers, extra GTX 570, yes speakers, no.

Welsh, you still running that rig Tom made for you ages ago, becasue its epic. saw the vid the other day.

17-02-2011, 07:00:06

ionicle
these look rather nice actually, but id sugest wait until the company refines the idea before actually purchasing them...

17-02-2011, 14:43:01

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamjamesroe View Post

Very nice; im to tight to splash out so much for speakers, extra GTX 570, yes speakers, no.

Welsh, you still running that rig Tom made for you ages ago, becasue its epic. saw the vid the other day.
yep stills ame rig just new ram ,,,, nothing has changed , still 2x22" same z5500's i bought brand new for 50 yes five zero

20-02-2011, 01:16:00

Filekutter
They do sound darn nice for gaming, but I do ask my 'puter to double-up as media center as well, and yes, even Movies, so.... I'll pass. I need those darn mids to be at least slightly audible, if not adjustable. Tx for the nice review and insight T.

20-02-2011, 14:19:09

AMDFTW
when are these out

20-02-2011, 17:33:22

MichaelH
These look lovely and from what your review says sound good too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

when are these out
+1...when ARE these out ? I see you can buy them directly from the Arctic site for $106 but no other options ???

21-02-2011, 05:03:04

Zeals
I wonder if you can buy a empty case for the bass, than mod it to fit your computer, and disguise the fan intakes where the subwoofers would be. Than have the computer (in the bass case) and bass flanked by the two speakers. That would look so awesome >.<
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.