Altec Lansing ADA885

Appearance Cont.

Appearance Cont.



The rear satellites are pretty much the same as the two front ones, minus the larger bases and the Altec Lansing logo's. These speakers have very long cables too, which is one of the most complained about things from users, about speaker manufacturers.  They're at least 10 feet long, if not longer.



The included remote is a nice feature too, especially if you're going to be using this speaker system with a HTPC or something similar. It works very well at the desk, or across the room.



Just to get an idea of how big the subwoofer really is, it barely fits under my desk with my garbage can next to it. I always use my subwoofers as foot rests, and this one works very well for that, with the nice large top... just if you wanted to know ;).


«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-06-2006, 21:26:59

NickS
Read the review here guys

Leave some constructive critisizm while you're at it.*

*If you ***** at me, I'll castrate you.



Nick




REVIEW HAS BEEN REVISED, PLEASE RE-READ.

02-06-2006, 21:40:25

Ham
* *****s at nick*

Bring it on

Lol, good job m8

02-06-2006, 22:25:00

FragTek
Glad to see you found yourself an awesome set of speakers at a great price! Altec used to make some quality products back in the day, they seem to have taken a massive plunge in the last 3 years though...

Enjoy em!

03-06-2006, 02:52:29

JN
Nice review Nick.

Is it just me, or does the speaker with the volume controls on it look like a set of scales?

03-06-2006, 04:50:13

PV5150
Nice review Nick and well presented. Admittedly, the speakers probably won't be everyone's cup of tea, but they appear to give be of reasonable quality for their price

03-06-2006, 06:48:43

FarFarAway
Those speakers are some of the ugliest speakers I have ever seen. Altec are good but DAMN those are FUGLY

03-06-2006, 11:33:19

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Those speakers are some of the ugliest speakers I have ever seen. Altec are good but DAMN those are FUGLY
Mate, they're models from 1999... (but new.)

What do you expect lol, I bet ppl thought they were the **** next to their new Dell Dimension XPS PIII 933 w/17" CRT back then...

Nick

03-06-2006, 11:38:43

dave87
heh, still like my Panasonic 5.1 system tho - 600w including a 220w sub

Glad you like em, and they cost a lot less than mine

03-06-2006, 12:12:16

NickS
If you'd like to purchase them, you can do so at directron.com

http://directron.com/ada885.html

The price fluctuates though, but regardless they're still an amazing deal.

Nick

03-06-2006, 12:18:43

NickS
Whoa, I'm a retard. I was on Directron's site linking you guys and I took a quick look @ the specs and noticed it said the 2x front satellites have 1" tweeters. Upon further inspection, I noticed they do! So, appropriate pictures & specs have been added to the review. Sorry for being a 'tard.

Nick

03-06-2006, 12:24:54

|3ourne
Yea those were my first ever 5.1 speaker system. Really nice and bloody powerful sound. Now I play with the bigshots , the Z680s from Logitech. :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.