Altec Lansing ADA885

Appearance

Appearance



Lifting the humongous subwoofer from the packaging was a task in itself, but after getting it free, it's pretty easy to handle. If you havn't noticed already, this subwoofer is huge! On the back of it, you'll see a lot of connectors including the digital input, and an interesting diagnostic button.



Wow, 360w, that's some serious power draw! The subwoofer, which also houses the amp, has its own dedicated fuse. That obviously tells you, that this thing is a power hungry monster. If you look closely at the power cord, near the subwoofer, you'll spot the spare fuse Altec Lansing included for you. Good idea Altec!



The satellites are pretty large too. The right satellite has the LCD on it, which shows the mode you're in, and displays volume, bass & trebel level, etc. It's also backlit, a nice touch if you have the lights off. The small black thing on the right satellite is the IR reciever for the remote control. The left satellite is just a mirror image of the right. On the left side of the left satellite, there is a headphone jack if you wish to use them, but why would you?



Taking the speaker grille off my left front satellite revealed the 3" speaker & 1" tweeter.  Looks nice in there, and should be good for providing awesome midrange performance, along with ear piercing highs.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-06-2006, 21:26:59

NickS
Read the review here guys

Leave some constructive critisizm while you're at it.*

*If you ***** at me, I'll castrate you.



Nick




REVIEW HAS BEEN REVISED, PLEASE RE-READ.

02-06-2006, 21:40:25

Ham
* *****s at nick*

Bring it on

Lol, good job m8

02-06-2006, 22:25:00

FragTek
Glad to see you found yourself an awesome set of speakers at a great price! Altec used to make some quality products back in the day, they seem to have taken a massive plunge in the last 3 years though...

Enjoy em!

03-06-2006, 02:52:29

JN
Nice review Nick.

Is it just me, or does the speaker with the volume controls on it look like a set of scales?

03-06-2006, 04:50:13

PV5150
Nice review Nick and well presented. Admittedly, the speakers probably won't be everyone's cup of tea, but they appear to give be of reasonable quality for their price

03-06-2006, 06:48:43

FarFarAway
Those speakers are some of the ugliest speakers I have ever seen. Altec are good but DAMN those are FUGLY

03-06-2006, 11:33:19

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Those speakers are some of the ugliest speakers I have ever seen. Altec are good but DAMN those are FUGLY
Mate, they're models from 1999... (but new.)

What do you expect lol, I bet ppl thought they were the **** next to their new Dell Dimension XPS PIII 933 w/17" CRT back then...

Nick

03-06-2006, 11:38:43

dave87
heh, still like my Panasonic 5.1 system tho - 600w including a 220w sub

Glad you like em, and they cost a lot less than mine

03-06-2006, 12:12:16

NickS
If you'd like to purchase them, you can do so at directron.com

http://directron.com/ada885.html

The price fluctuates though, but regardless they're still an amazing deal.

Nick

03-06-2006, 12:18:43

NickS
Whoa, I'm a retard. I was on Directron's site linking you guys and I took a quick look @ the specs and noticed it said the 2x front satellites have 1" tweeters. Upon further inspection, I noticed they do! So, appropriate pictures & specs have been added to the review. Sorry for being a 'tard.

Nick

03-06-2006, 12:24:54

|3ourne
Yea those were my first ever 5.1 speaker system. Really nice and bloody powerful sound. Now I play with the bigshots , the Z680s from Logitech. :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.