Altec Lansing ADA885

Introduction

Introduction

If you have hundreds upon hundreds of songs on your hard drive, or live for FPS games, you obviously have the need for a serious speaker setup. When 2.1 isn't enough and 5.1 is too much, 4.1 meets your needs perfectly. That's where Altec Lansing comes in with their ADA885 speakers. Featuring THX Lucasfilm certification, and Dolby Digital & Pro Logic support, these speakers fit everyones needs. If music, movies and gaming are your thing, these speakers are a must.

Packaging



Shipped in the Altec Lansing box, the ADA885's weigh slightly over 35 lbs. You'll see why in a bit. When you open the box, you're greeted with a bundle of cables. These cables are the ones that connect from the subwoofer to your PC.



Once you remove the cables & styrofoam, you're now facing a huge subwoofer and the rear satellites. Great packaging job, Altec, it looks like nothing moved an inch during shipping.


Specifications
Taken from the Altec-Lansing Manual

Specifications
System Resonse: 27Hz-20kHz
Total Audio Output: 120 Watts (103 dB SPL @ Listening Position)
Input Impendance: >10k Ohms
Analog Input Sensitivity: 300 mV for full output
Digital Input: S/PDIF

Satellite Speakers
Drivers: Four 3" full Range, Two 1" Tweeters
Power: 60 Watts (15 watts per driver)
Signal-to-Noise Ratio: >70dB
Distortion: <.8% All modes, -3dB, full power

Subwoofer
Driver: One 8" dual voice coil
Power: 60 Watts
Crossover Frequency: 150Hz
Signal-to-Noise Ratio: >70dB
Distortion: <1% All modes, -3dB, full power

Power Requirements

USA/Canada: 120v/360W/60Hz

Dimensions
Subwoofer: 365mm (W) 260mm (D) 290mm (H)
Main Sats: 137mm (W) 110mm (D) 162mm (H)
Surrounds: 110mm (W) 104mm (D) 117mm (H)



The speakers also include a nice quick start guide, and a full manual. You can use these speakers two ways. In a 2.1 configuration or a 4.1 configuration. The rear speakers can actually mount on top of the front sattelites, making a very powerful 2.1 configuration. The quick start guide (left picture), is on the Multi-Channel side. Flip it over, and it tells you how to set it up for 2.1 mode.


«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-06-2006, 21:26:59

NickS
Read the review here guys

Leave some constructive critisizm while you're at it.*

*If you ***** at me, I'll castrate you.



Nick




REVIEW HAS BEEN REVISED, PLEASE RE-READ.

02-06-2006, 21:40:25

Ham
* *****s at nick*

Bring it on

Lol, good job m8

02-06-2006, 22:25:00

FragTek
Glad to see you found yourself an awesome set of speakers at a great price! Altec used to make some quality products back in the day, they seem to have taken a massive plunge in the last 3 years though...

Enjoy em!

03-06-2006, 02:52:29

JN
Nice review Nick.

Is it just me, or does the speaker with the volume controls on it look like a set of scales?

03-06-2006, 04:50:13

PV5150
Nice review Nick and well presented. Admittedly, the speakers probably won't be everyone's cup of tea, but they appear to give be of reasonable quality for their price

03-06-2006, 06:48:43

FarFarAway
Those speakers are some of the ugliest speakers I have ever seen. Altec are good but DAMN those are FUGLY

03-06-2006, 11:33:19

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Those speakers are some of the ugliest speakers I have ever seen. Altec are good but DAMN those are FUGLY
Mate, they're models from 1999... (but new.)

What do you expect lol, I bet ppl thought they were the **** next to their new Dell Dimension XPS PIII 933 w/17" CRT back then...

Nick

03-06-2006, 11:38:43

dave87
heh, still like my Panasonic 5.1 system tho - 600w including a 220w sub

Glad you like em, and they cost a lot less than mine

03-06-2006, 12:12:16

NickS
If you'd like to purchase them, you can do so at directron.com

http://directron.com/ada885.html

The price fluctuates though, but regardless they're still an amazing deal.

Nick

03-06-2006, 12:18:43

NickS
Whoa, I'm a retard. I was on Directron's site linking you guys and I took a quick look @ the specs and noticed it said the 2x front satellites have 1" tweeters. Upon further inspection, I noticed they do! So, appropriate pictures & specs have been added to the review. Sorry for being a 'tard.

Nick

03-06-2006, 12:24:54

|3ourne
Yea those were my first ever 5.1 speaker system. Really nice and bloody powerful sound. Now I play with the bigshots , the Z680s from Logitech. :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.