Powercolor 7990 Devil 13 Preview

Powercolor's Demonic GPU lands at OC3D

Powercolor 7990 Devil 13 Preview

The new arrival....

Every once in a while it really is worth us posting previews of products that have just landed in the office. This would have been live much sooner but we had some hard core Olympic level rock, paper, scissors, lizard, Spock to see who would get to do the preview and the main review. In true Sheldon style I manipulated the rules and won (that's good right?)

Anyways lets take a look at the cards specification's before moving onto the preview video.



Graphics EngineRADEON HD7990
Video Memory6GB GDDR5
Engine Clock925MHz / 1000MHz
Memory Clock1375MHz x 4 (5.5Gbps)
Memory Interface384bit X2
DirectX® Support11.1
Bus StandardPCIE 3.0
Standard Display ConnecorsDL DVI-I / SL DVI-D / HDMI / 2 X mini DisplayPort
Feature Support
CrossFireX™ TechnologySupport
ATI Stream TechnologySupport
ATI Eyefinity TechnologySupport
ATI Hypermemory Technology 
Display Support
VGA OutputYes, By DVI to VGA converter
DisplayPortOn Board(mini DP) x2
HDMIOn Board
TV Output 
HDTV Output 
HDCP SupportSupport
Maximum Resolution
Power Specs + Board Dimensions
Board Dimensions315mmx140mmx60mm
Minimum System Power requirement (W)850W
Extention Power Connectorthree 8-pin PCI Express Power connectors

Video Preview


It seems strange that the custom cards are available before AMD release their own 7990... Does this mean there will not be one? Only time will tell, for the moment all we care about is how well the Devil 13 7990 performs in the OC3D barrage of tests. Be sure to check back soon for the full review, until then you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums. 

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-09-2012, 09:22:05


We couldn't wait for the full review, we just had to share what has just landed in the office.

Continue ReadingQuote

24-09-2012, 09:42:10


24-09-2012, 11:09:32

| raVen |
This card is a beast And looks really nice too.
I think that this middle fan is smaller than the other two on the sides, so little mistake Tom.
I wondering how loud and hot that card would be???, but we have to wait for that.Quote

24-09-2012, 13:36:47

That card is huge and looks awesome too

Can't wait for full review Quote

25-09-2012, 08:28:28

It's certainly a feat of engineering.

Get them watts ready !Quote

25-09-2012, 08:58:44

Be interesting to see if it kicks the GTX 690's ass whilst being quite..... won't that set a cat amongst the pigeons!!!Quote

25-09-2012, 09:01:43

Name is awewsome! to be honest ,
i really hate stanford for not getting these cards the PPD they deserve !!!

Thanks Tom for the revieuw, work well done again......Quote

25-09-2012, 20:21:03

Question for TTL - Triple screen 1080P versus single 2560x1600. Why haven't you requested a 30" monitor from one of your contacts to do benchmarks on?Quote

26-09-2012, 01:35:28

There's a review up for it on Hardwarecanucks for those who would like a taste while waiting for Tom's vid.

Seems to be a tad overpriced considering the performance vs the NVidia cards, but I suppose they won't have trouble selling out the 200 that they'll be releasing.Quote

26-09-2012, 03:03:06

I was wondering if anyone knows what drivers one would use for a card like this as amd hasnt released a 7990?
Sorry if this is a noob question.Quote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.