Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview

Power and Software

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview

Power and Software

Finally, having the ability to have so many tools at your disposal is pointless if the quality of the power delivery isn't clean and consistent, and the Z97X SOC certainly has all of the high end CAPs and MOSFETs you could hope to find thanks to the PowIRstage and black 10K CAPs.

Other features, as if what we've seen so far isn't enough to whet your appetite, are the customisable UEFI BIOS we first saw on the 8 series motherboards and a ton of additional software to allow you as much control from the desktop as you have in the BIOS. They've even brought back the start menu to Windows 8.1.

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

We can't wait to bring you a full review of the Gigabyte Z97X SOC. Let us know your thoughts in our Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-04-2014, 08:07:39

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...093334544l.JPG

The next generation of Intel Motherboards are starting to appear, and we preview the Gigabyte Z97X SOC.


Continue ReadingQuote

28-04-2014, 08:38:30

MadShadow
Orange? Just why?Quote

28-04-2014, 08:42:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
Orange? Just why?
The OC boards always have beenQuote

28-04-2014, 08:51:24

MadShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
The OC boards always have been
Alright then, but I still don't really like it Quote

28-04-2014, 12:49:52

SieB
I like the orange on the Giga OC boards

This is the best looking Z97 mobo I have seen so far, the Asus boards might be rich feature wise but I don't like the look of them especially the gold ones. And the MSI look ok but I think the heatsinks on the Z87 ones were better.Quote

28-04-2014, 15:43:42

RizeAllard
I think there will be also a high end OC board from Gigabyte. If the new Devil's Canyon processors will be out we will see.. I mostly use Gigabyte boards and i'am really pleased with them in fact of oc too. (but i'm not a Hicookie) ?)Quote

28-04-2014, 23:30:51

xparty
Legacy PCI!

Freaking yes! It was my plan to build a 4770k build based on the Z87X OC, but this board might just happen to be the one-step-beyond in most features, but of course, we'll have to wait and see the finer details later.

The power delivery seems to be improved, which in all fairness wasn't something to shake a sponge at to begin with; a massive pre-emptive plus from me in that regard.

Can't wait to see how the connectivity is hubbed together: I'm assuming the PCIe slots are wired to run at x16, x8/x8 or x8/x4/x4 configurations, but it'd be unwise to assume anything at this stage. And hopefully the USB 3.0 isn't split across a silly hub chip configuration like we had on the Z87X OC and the UD7 previously (like... seriously, Gigabyte... srsly).

An updated audio codec is nice, I suppose. No real point in it being on this type board, but it can't hurt for a daily driver featureset.

Stoked, intrigued to see what's actually soldered to he board component wise, and prepared to eat crow just in case. =DQuote

11-05-2014, 09:32:14

RDTKiller
Hello everyone,

I'm just curious does anyone else own this board? As I have one and been testing for about 4days now and the only problem is SLI is not working. I have checked everything. The cards are identical and in slot 1 and slot 3 both are connted via SLI bridge(tested with six others) the bios has been updated and have tested with both windows 8.1 and windows 7? This is the the 4th gigabyte board out of 10 that I've had an issue with the rest have been RMA'd and this on I'm about to unless someone had some ideas?

Quality of gigabyte boards seems to have been pretty poor over the past 6 months and its affecting my customers.Quote

11-05-2014, 09:40:01

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDTKiller View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm just curious does anyone else own this board? As I have one and been testing for about 4days now and the only problem is SLI is not working. I have checked everything. The cards are identical and in slot 1 and slot 3 both are connted via SLI bridge(tested with six others) the bios has been updated and have tested with both windows 8.1 and windows 7? This is the the 4th gigabyte board out of 10 that I've had an issue with the rest have been RMA'd and this on I'm about to unless someone had some ideas?

Quality of gigabyte boards seems to have been pretty poor over the past 6 months and its affecting my customers.
It might be a driver or BIOS issue, seen as Z97 has only been released today you may need to wait for a driver or BIOS update.

EDIT: last BIOS for the board was 28/4/14

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...?pid=4967#biosQuote

11-05-2014, 10:06:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDTKiller View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm just curious does anyone else own this board? As I have one and been testing for about 4days now and the only problem is SLI is not working. I have checked everything. The cards are identical and in slot 1 and slot 3 both are connted via SLI bridge(tested with six others) the bios has been updated and have tested with both windows 8.1 and windows 7? This is the the 4th gigabyte board out of 10 that I've had an issue with the rest have been RMA'd and this on I'm about to unless someone had some ideas?

Quality of gigabyte boards seems to have been pretty poor over the past 6 months and its affecting my customers.
Try a different SLI bridgeQuote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.