Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview

Up Close

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview

Up Close

The box art for the Z97X SOC offers two of my favourite things, orange colour schemes and motor racing. So it's no surprise that whilst we were all drawing lots to preview it, I just ran off with it. 

There is no question that the SOC is aimed squarely at the high-end overclockers, as all the Gigabyte orange motherboards are. If you're in any doubt of its intentions then opening the front flap dispels them all, with a shot of the Z97X completely frost-covered. We want that as a wallpaper, it looks so cool.

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview 

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

The top half of the motherboard is understandably dominated by the LGA1150 socket. As well as being gold-plated to 15 microns, there is a huge amount of space around it to cope with the more exotic cooling solutions that the board almost demands. At the top left is a 8+4 pin CPU power input to ensure the maximum amps to your CPU. The area to the right of the DIMMs is so complicated we'll look at it below, and on a subsequent page. 

The SOC supports 4 way CrossFire and 2 way SLI. There is plenty of space between the main PCI Express slots to ensure your graphics cards keep cool. Below the CMOS battery are the Gigabyte DualBIOS chips and LED indicators to remind you which you're using at a glance.

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

This collection of buttons, switches and monitoring points is the 'OC Touch', and it's the heart of the Gigabyte Z97X SOC. Starting at the bank of dip switches and working to the right we have, in order : DIMM switch buttons. It's becoming more common for high-end motherboards to allow you to turn the PCI lanes on and off with a dipswitch, but we think the SOC is the first to allow you to diagnose RAM problems without having to remove the sticks. A boon to serious overclockers. Next to that is the PCI lane switches, then OC Ignition, OC Tag, OC Turbo, OC Gear, BCLK adjustments, CPU Ratio +/-, power button and finally the 7 segment error display.

Below those are the buttons to toggle which BIOS you're using, jump straight to it after a OC failure and a range of other buttons that ensure your overclocking experience is as hassle free as you could imagine.

Next to the SATA 3 connections is the SATA Express which allows for transfer rates up to an eye-popping 10Gb/s. Just stop and think about that for a moment. 1GB a second from a non-RAID device. We can't wait. Finally we have two internal USB headers for BIOS updates and settings backup/restore when the reverse of your system isn't readily to hand.

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

Overclocking is all about power and as well as the 8+4 CPU arrangement there is, just below the main heatsink, a 'OC PEG' which allows for further power in multi-card setups.

In comparison to the main motherboard the IO area is relatively standard with plenty of USB ports (although the left hand ones are sadly still USB 2.0), display outputs which include 4K support, the Realtek ALC1150 audio and the KillerNIC E2200 LAN controller.

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview     Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-04-2014, 08:07:39

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...093334544l.JPG

The next generation of Intel Motherboards are starting to appear, and we preview the Gigabyte Z97X SOC.


Continue ReadingQuote

28-04-2014, 08:38:30

MadShadow
Orange? Just why?Quote

28-04-2014, 08:42:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
Orange? Just why?
The OC boards always have beenQuote

28-04-2014, 08:51:24

MadShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
The OC boards always have been
Alright then, but I still don't really like it Quote

28-04-2014, 12:49:52

SieB
I like the orange on the Giga OC boards

This is the best looking Z97 mobo I have seen so far, the Asus boards might be rich feature wise but I don't like the look of them especially the gold ones. And the MSI look ok but I think the heatsinks on the Z87 ones were better.Quote

28-04-2014, 15:43:42

RizeAllard
I think there will be also a high end OC board from Gigabyte. If the new Devil's Canyon processors will be out we will see.. I mostly use Gigabyte boards and i'am really pleased with them in fact of oc too. (but i'm not a Hicookie) ?)Quote

28-04-2014, 23:30:51

xparty
Legacy PCI!

Freaking yes! It was my plan to build a 4770k build based on the Z87X OC, but this board might just happen to be the one-step-beyond in most features, but of course, we'll have to wait and see the finer details later.

The power delivery seems to be improved, which in all fairness wasn't something to shake a sponge at to begin with; a massive pre-emptive plus from me in that regard.

Can't wait to see how the connectivity is hubbed together: I'm assuming the PCIe slots are wired to run at x16, x8/x8 or x8/x4/x4 configurations, but it'd be unwise to assume anything at this stage. And hopefully the USB 3.0 isn't split across a silly hub chip configuration like we had on the Z87X OC and the UD7 previously (like... seriously, Gigabyte... srsly).

An updated audio codec is nice, I suppose. No real point in it being on this type board, but it can't hurt for a daily driver featureset.

Stoked, intrigued to see what's actually soldered to he board component wise, and prepared to eat crow just in case. =DQuote

11-05-2014, 09:32:14

RDTKiller
Hello everyone,

I'm just curious does anyone else own this board? As I have one and been testing for about 4days now and the only problem is SLI is not working. I have checked everything. The cards are identical and in slot 1 and slot 3 both are connted via SLI bridge(tested with six others) the bios has been updated and have tested with both windows 8.1 and windows 7? This is the the 4th gigabyte board out of 10 that I've had an issue with the rest have been RMA'd and this on I'm about to unless someone had some ideas?

Quality of gigabyte boards seems to have been pretty poor over the past 6 months and its affecting my customers.Quote

11-05-2014, 09:40:01

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDTKiller View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm just curious does anyone else own this board? As I have one and been testing for about 4days now and the only problem is SLI is not working. I have checked everything. The cards are identical and in slot 1 and slot 3 both are connted via SLI bridge(tested with six others) the bios has been updated and have tested with both windows 8.1 and windows 7? This is the the 4th gigabyte board out of 10 that I've had an issue with the rest have been RMA'd and this on I'm about to unless someone had some ideas?

Quality of gigabyte boards seems to have been pretty poor over the past 6 months and its affecting my customers.
It might be a driver or BIOS issue, seen as Z97 has only been released today you may need to wait for a driver or BIOS update.

EDIT: last BIOS for the board was 28/4/14

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...?pid=4967#biosQuote

11-05-2014, 10:06:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDTKiller View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm just curious does anyone else own this board? As I have one and been testing for about 4days now and the only problem is SLI is not working. I have checked everything. The cards are identical and in slot 1 and slot 3 both are connted via SLI bridge(tested with six others) the bios has been updated and have tested with both windows 8.1 and windows 7? This is the the 4th gigabyte board out of 10 that I've had an issue with the rest have been RMA'd and this on I'm about to unless someone had some ideas?

Quality of gigabyte boards seems to have been pretty poor over the past 6 months and its affecting my customers.
Try a different SLI bridgeQuote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.